Skip to main content

Ancient Greek Art

The Guide to Ancient Greek Art is intended to help identify sources needed for a research paper in AR301.

Books and E-Books

Books and e-books about Ancient Greek art can be found by using the library catalog (http://librarycatalog.uah.edu).  A search using the "words or phrase" selection from the drop down menu works like a keyword search, and a "subject" search works according to the subject headings assigned by the Library of Congress. You can find helpful subject headings by clicking on the "Catalog Record" tab while looking at the record of a book strongly related to your topic. Click on the subject heading or use it together with keywords and phrases to further narrow your search.

Below are just a few examples of books and e-books you can find in the Salmon Library. Try your own searches through the catalog, or, if you're still not finding what you need, contact the library for assistance.

Scholarly Journal Articles

American Journal of Archaeology: The official journal of the Archaeological Institute of America. Some print and electronic access available.

Antiquity: Articles and more covering all areas of archaeology. Issues available in print and electronically.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science): Several citation indexes, including Arts & Humanities Citation Index. When searching, the "Find at UAH" button will help you to gain access to the cited materials through the Salmon Library.

Classical Antiquity: Articles covering research on Ancient Greek and Roman Civilization. Electronic and some print access.

Classical World: Covering Greek and Roman literature, history and society. Some full-text access available at UAH through JSTOR, ProjectMUSE, and ProQuest SciTech Collection.

DOAJ : Directory of Open Access Journals:Free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific journals, covering all subjects and languages.

Hesperia:The Journal of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens : A journal with a focus in the fields of Greek archaeology, art, epigraphy, history, and literature. Some full-text access available at UAH through JSTOR, ProjectMUSE and the publisher's site.

JSTOR: JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.

Project Muse: A collection of over 400 electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.

 

Print Indexes at the Salmon Library:

Art Index

An Annotated Bibliography of Greek and Roman Art, Architecture, and Archaeology:Located N3 (north wing, third floor of the library). Call number: N5605 .A05 C68

Web Sites

American Journal of Archaeology Online: Website of the The American Journal of Archaeology, the journal of the Archaeological Institute of America.

Antiquity Online: Website of the publication Antiquity, featuring a project gallery.

Beazley Archive: Sir John Beazley, Lincoln Professor of Classical Archaeology and Art, created a personal archive of material relating to the study of classical archeology and art, which is now held in the Ashmolean Musuem.  The photographs of Athenian vases are the largest archive of this class in the world and were the basis of Beazley's life work.

Classical Myth: Ancient texts (images).

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum : A catalog featuring thousands of ancient vases. Browse by country or museum and collection. An advanced search option allows for searching by fabric, shapes, and technique.

Diotima:  Serving as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean, Diotima includes a searchable bibliography and many journal articles.

Maecenas: Searchable site of photographs of Greece and Rome (images).

Perseus: The Perseus Classics collection is an integrated collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world.

Museums

Explore museums housing impressive collections of Greek and Roman art.