Finding Biographical Information

Short entries of essential information about the individual, including birth and death dates, place of birth, accomplishments, etc. A good way to get an idea if this is a person you would like to pursue further.

Revised and updated to contain more than 3,000 new entries. Spanning the centuries before Christ up to the present day, covers a wide range of luminaries and human achievement including the arts, science and technology, popular entertainment, sports, religion, the media, politics and business. The 17,500-plus alphabetically arranged articles describe the nationality, occupation, and achievements of each person, as well as 250 panels which focus on individuals considered particularly important.

"This is a classic reference for biographies of famous Americans. Composed of a number of volumes, the DAB is organized alphabetically by last name. The articles are well researched and sources are cited. On the whole, the book is very accurate and a great tool." - University of Pennsylvania Archives

This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science. The in-depth biographies are comprehensive in their coverage of scientists and provide a wealth of information about the great scientists and their idiosyncrasies. The dictionary covers all of the major scientists and provides readable reviews of each scientist's early life, career, major discoveries and significant publications.

A revision of Webster's New Biographical Dictionary, 1988, which is cited in the Supplement to Sheehy and in ARBA 1990. The present edition (which includes 287 new entries) provides pronunciation of names and essential information (birth and death dates, major accomplishments, influence on history) for some 30,000 eminent or noteworthy men and women of the past from all parts of the world and all periods of history.

Provides 400-600 word articles on U.S. and Canadian women born between 1595 and 1960. Selected portraits included. Arranged alphabetically, and indexed by subject. Also includes appendixes that list entries by area of specialization, decade of birth, place of birth, and tribal affiliation.

"Excellent coverage of the art music (Behague) of Colombia, as well as traditional music (Waxer/List), broken down by region, and popular music (Waxer). Illustrated with maps, photographs, and musical examples"--Handbook of Latin American Studies, v. 58.

Scholarly biographical essays on 1,359 noteworthy women, who died prior to 1951. Articles average one to two pages. The third vol. includes an occupational index for the set. Updated through 1975 by Notable American Women: The Modern Period (E 176 .N571), which adds 442 entries.

816 pages covering the lives of 442 women who died between 1951 and 1975. Impressive amounts of detail given spacial constraints. Covers many of the less famous women often omitted from similar books.

Profiles of people in the news, including politicians, athletes, businessmen, and entertainers. Each yearly edition contains around 220 profiles of 2,000-5,000 words. Profiles are usually accompanied by a black-and-white photo and short bibliography.

Profiles of sixty-one African American playwrights from the last 150 years. Average length of about eight pages for each profile.

Contains some 100 biographical sketches of 20th-century African American scientists, including 20 women, for middle and high school students. Entries of 2-3 pages include scientists' date of birth, education, field of research, and current professional position, and describe their early years, education, and career highlights. Includes b w photos and drawings, plus a chronological list of scientists and a list arranged by research area.

Profiles approximately 250 black Americans who have made contributions to the sciences, including inventors, researchers, award winners, and educators.

An illustrated reference that provides accurate, concise, and accessible biographical and bibliographic information on women artists from Canada, Mexico, and the US. Some 1,500 alphabetical entries cover widely recognized professional artists born before 1960 who work in a broad range of fields: painting, sculpture, printmaking, photography, ceramics, fibers, metals, and performance art. A particularly noteworthy feature is the inclusion of Mexican and Inuit artists.

Includes painters, sculptors, graphic artists, craftsmen, historians, critics, editors, museum personnel, educators, lecturers, librarians, and dealers from the United States, Canada, and Mexico. Geographic index, professional classifications index, and necrology follow biographical description.

This companion volume to World artists 1950-1980 (1984) presents contributed biographies, running from 1,500 to 6,000 words, on the lives and work of 118 artists who have lived and been influenced in the decade of the 1980s. Included are figures from many countries, representing a wide variety of styles and movements, and embracing the graphic media as well as painting and sculpture. Some of the biographies are accompanied by a photograph or self-portrait; each is followed by lists of exhibitions and collections, and a bibliography of critical commentary.

Celebrates the contributions of 166 distinguished Asian Americans. Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Korean, South Asian, and Southeast Asian Americans profiled represent some 75 fields of endeavor.

Two- to three-page signed biographical and critical essays on each writer, as well as bibliographies. Covers both well-known as less-famous authors.

Includes essays, analysis, and biographies of prominent literary figures of various genres and backgrounds in American literature.

Encompasses 100,000 current writers from 1962 to present, with some pre-1960's "greats". Covers all literary genres. Includes Contemporary Author, First Revision, Contemporary Authors, Permanent Series, Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series. See also the online Gale Literary Index.

The Cyclopedia of World Authors considers the lives and the works of more than seven hundred fifty creative individuals who have contributed to world literature as a whole.

Describes 123 people. Emphasis on the period 1880 to World War Two. Articles are several pages long and include references. Some articles have multiple entries. Arranged alphabetically and indexed by subject. Includes appendixes that list leaders by place of birth, place of business and type of business. An appendix of prominent women is also included.

International in scope. Provides brief information on approximately 1,300 living and deceased people. Arranged alphabetically and indexed by field of interest, nationality and place of birth.

U.S. Latinos have made important contributions to American society, and this biographical dictionary is devoted to celebrating those contributions. All 127 men and women profiled in this work have immigrated to or been born in the United States and have made major contributions to American life and culture. Cuban Americans, Puerto Ricans, Mexican Americans, and others of Spanish, South American, Central American and Caribbean heritage--more than one-third of them women--represent 35 fields of endeavor and all 50 states. From historical figures to the newest sports champion, figure-skater Rudy Galindo, this work provides profiles of both prominent and important but less-familiar people who have made significant contributions in their fields. Many of those profiled can be found in no other biographical source. A selection of photos complements the text.

International in scope. Covers living and deceased people (and groups) in all genres of popular music. Articles range from 150-3,000 words and include a list of works. Multi-volume set. Arranged alphabetically. The last volume contains references listed by artist and a subject index to the set.

Articles written in French on outstanding deceased people from earliest times. Articles are, on average, shorter than those in the other national biographies above, and include extensive references. Multi-volume set. Arranged alphabetically from A through Gueroult.

Brief entries with basic info. on 100,000 prominent contemporary people. Entries are predominantly Americans, but other nationals who have a significant impact on the U.S. are included. Addresses included.. Arranged alphabetically, last volume serves as a geographic & occupational index.

Contains some 100 biographical sketches of 20th-century African American scientists, including 20 women, for middle and high school students. Entries of 2-3 pages include scientists' date of birth, education, field of research, and current professional position, and describe their early years, education, and career highlights. Includes b w photos and drawings, plus a chronological list of scientists and a list arranged by research area.

This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science. The in-depth biographies are comprehensive in their coverage of scientists and provide a wealth of information about the great scientists and their idiosyncrasies. The dictionary covers all of the major scientists and provides readable reviews of each scientist's early life, career, major discoveries and significant publications.

International in scope. Scholarly three to five page articles on 200 prominent living and deceased social scientists of the twentieth century born prior to 1908. References included. Fourteen social sciences are represented, including history, which is considered a humanities discipline by some. Arranged alphabetically, with alphabetical and field of study lists preceding the biographies.

Profiles approximately 250 black Americans who have made contributions to the sciences, including inventors, researchers, award winners, and educators.

Notable Mathematicians profiles the achievements, importance and impact of more than 300 of the world's most significant mathematicians throughout history. Narrative biographical entries reveal the person behind the mathematical discovery, as well as the discovery itself. Essays range from 450 to 1,500 words, describing the biographee's accomplishment and why it was notable at the time.

International in scope. Brief entries with basic information on 31,000 living scientists, doctors and engineers. Addresses included. Arranged alphabetically and indexed by country and profession.

Detailed biography on every member in Congress from 1789-present. Searchable online database.

International in scope. Brief entries with basic information on current leaders (through 1990). Arranged alphabetically and indexed by country.

An award winning and highly recommended comprehensive reference set on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War. Includes annotations of important Civil War figures.

Two- to three-page signed biographical and critical essays on each writer, as well as bibliographies. Covers both well-known as less-famous authors.

Provides 400-600 word articles on U.S. and Canadian women born between 1595 and 1960. Selected portraits included. Arranged alphabetically, and indexed by subject. Also includes appendixes that list entries by area of specialization, decade of birth, place of birth, and tribal affiliation.

Scholarly biographical essays on 1,359 noteworthy women, who died prior to 1951. Articles average one to two pages. The third vol. includes an occupational index for the set. Updated through 1975 by Notable American Women: The Modern Period (E 176 .N571), which adds 442 entries.

Scholarly biographical essays on additional 442 noteworthy women, who died during the period 1951-1975.

An illustrated reference that provides accurate, concise, and accessible biographical and bibliographic information on women artists from Canada, Mexico, and the US. Some 1,500 alphabetical entries cover widely recognized professional artists born before 1960 who work in a broad range of fields: painting, sculpture, printmaking, photography, ceramics, fibers, metals, and performance art. A particularly noteworthy feature is the inclusion of Mexican and Inuit artists.