Skip to main content

Government Documents

UAH is a congressionally-designated selective federal depository of the U.S. Government. As such, the Salmon Library receives that portion of all GPO publications which have been determined to most closely suit the needs of the University and community.

Executive Branch

Archive of over 77,000 documents related to the study of the American Presidency. Includes     inaugural and state of the union addresses from George Washington to Barack Obama.

 Comprehensive collection of material about the Presidents of the United States and the history  of the presidency from the University of Virginia.

This site from the National Archives is an online version of the out-of-print Codification of  Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders. It covers documents from April 13, 1945 to  January 20, 1989.

Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and   organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

 Data.gov is a portal for accessing data sets generated by agencies of the Executive Branch of the U.S government.

Links to the statistics produced by more than 70 agencies in the United States Federal   Government.

 Provides access to the web sites of Presidential Libraries from Herbert Hoover to George W. Bush.Materials available electronically include selected speeches, diaries, letters, and   memoranda.

From the U.S. Senate Library, Presidential vetoes from 1789 to the present are listed with  accompanying historical context.

The papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary. Electronic access begins in 1991

  Speeches, reports, policy statements coming from the Executive Office of the President.

Official publication of presidential statements, messages and remarks. Electronic access begins in 1993.

 

 

Legislative

Legislative information from the Library of Congress. Includes access to the full-text of Bills, Laws, the Congressional Record, and Committee Reports.

Produces independent, nonpartisan, analysis of economic and budgetary issues to support the Congressional budget process. Does not make policy recommendations.

Contact information and links to official websites from the U.S. House of Representatives.

Government transparency tool which tracks the status of federal legislation and the activities of senators and representatives.

Chartered by Congress to serve federal, state and local governments, the Academy site contains reports, studies, Congressional testimony and other publications relating to the key public management issues and advisory services to government agencies.

Follow legislation in Congress, from bill introduction to floor vote.

The backgrounds and records of thousands of political candidates and elected officials including voting records, campaign contributions, public statements, biographical data and evaluations of them generated by over 100 competing special interest groups.

Official website which contains information about members, committees, and legislative activity.

Official website containing information about members, committees, and legislative activity.

Includes the full-text of Bills, Laws, the Congressional Record, Committee Reports, and much more. Produced by the Library of Congress.

CRS Reports covering foreign policy, international relations and national/international security topics. Coverage from 1999-present.

 

Judicial Branch

Provides access to the full-text decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court through a hypertext publication of the Legal Information Institute (LII) at Cornell Law School.

Official website providing decisions, documents, and court information.
 

This system contains the full text of 7,407 U.S. Supreme Court Decisions issued between 1937 and 1975. Decisions are available as ASCII text files that can be read on your browser's screen or saved to your hard drive and accessed using most word processor programs. To save, use the printer friendly version link at the bottom or top of each decision. Most decisions are very large and may take a while to download if you have a slow internet connection.

Supreme Court of the United States
The Supreme Court's docket system contains information about cases, both pending and decided, that have been filed at the Court. The docket provided here contains complete information regarding the status of cases filed since the beginning of the 2001 Term.

Government Publishing Office
Contains the nomination hearings for Alito, Breyer, Ginsburg, Kennedy, OConnor, Rehniquist, Roberts, Scalia, Sotomayor, Souter, Stevens and Thomas.

Library of Congress
A centralized collection of Supreme Court nomination information.

Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has compiled a variety of materials about the Supreme Court from across its collections - both current and historical. Explore these rich resources and features to learn about the highest court in the land.

Supreme Court of the United States
A central location to find the most recent Supreme Court Opinions.

The Supreme Court consists of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress. The number of Associate Justices is currently fixed at eight (28 U. S. C. §1). Power to nominate the Justices is vested in the President of the United States, and appointments are made with the advice and consent of the Senate.

U.S. Courts: the Federal Judiciary

Information on U.S. federal courts, judges and legislative rulemaking.

Congressional Research Service Reports

 The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. Their reports are authoritative, and nonpartisan, but they are not accessible besides what is released to the public.