Skip to main content

Government Documents

UAH is a congressionally-designated selective federal depository of the U.S. Government. As such, the Salmon Library receives that portion of all GPO publications which have been determined to most closely suit the needs of the University and community.

NASA & Aerospace

Contact the Government Documents Coordinator to review the FDLP collection of decades of NASA information, Technical reports, and more in print and Microfiche that is not accessible online.

 

The National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) was the predecessor to NASA. Bibliographic citations to all NACA reports from 1921 to 1958, plus full-text access to a growing number of items can be searched at the NTRS. (see next entry)

A service of the Technology Transfer Office, this database will help you find products and services that incorporate NASA technology in such areas as environment, public safety, transportation, computer technology, and industrial productivity. Citations refer to the date of the publication, page number, the center responsible for the technology, and the original NASA program in which the technology was developed.

The NASA Technical Reports Server provides researchers access to the documents in NASA's Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program. These include research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, mission-related operational documents, and preliminary data. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. NTRS's Simple Search searches for NASA information only and its Advanced Search can search for NASA and non-NASA information

Science

U.S. House of Representatives

The Department of the Interior assembled a multi-functional team from across our department to develop Interior’s Open Government Plan.

USGS

Access to several of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's databases for information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States.

NOAA

Provides access to full-text DOE research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.

The Minerals Yearbook is an annual publication that reviews the mineral and material industries of the United States and foreign countries. The Yearbook contains statistical data on materials and minerals and includes information on economic and technical trends and development. The Minerals Yearbook includes chapters on approximately 90 commodities and over 175 countries.

An independent US government agency responsible for promoting science and engineering through research programs and education projects.

 

A searchable database of the Environmental Protection Agency's science activities and science/technology work products.

Seminal government website on science.

Reports and thematic maps database, including USGS numbered series as early as 1880.

 

 

.

 

Technical Reports

 

Formerly known as the Los Alamos (LANL) e-Print archive. E-prints/pre-prints in the fields of Physics, Mathematics, Nonlinear Sciences, and Computer Science. Provides for rapid dissemination of results through direct submission of e-prints by authors.

This collection consists of rare, declassified technical reports that chronicle their work and reference resources that discuss the history of flight.

Environmental Protection Agency's publications online. Current contains scanned images of over 6000 EPA reports.

Grey Literature is a field in library and information science that deals with the production, distribution, and access to multiple document types produced on all levels of government, academics, business, and organizations in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body.

EPA's Gateway to Free Digital & Paper Publications.This site is EPA's premier site for accessing EPA publications, with more than 7,000 in stock and 31,000 digital titles, free of charge.

The NTIS website allows you to search and order technical reports online. Items available include technical reports, CD-ROMs, datafiles, videotapes, and audiocassettes. The National Technical Information Service is the official source for U.S. scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information.

Provides links to technical reports produced by MIT departments and labs.

 

Searches over 40 databases and 2,000 websites, offering millions of pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results. Includes specific databases such as:
 

University of Washington Statistics department's browsable list of technical reports sorted by publication date.

Institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web. This site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.

 

 An e-library of significant, publically-funded, full-text literature, images, data, and software in structural and geotechnical earthquake engineering.

The RiP database contains over 8400 current or recently completed transportation research projects. Most of the RiP records are projects funded by Federal and State Departments of Transportation. University transportation research is also included. The RiP Database now serves as a clearinghouse of University Transportation Centers ongoing research.

This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science. The about 1200 bibliographies are updated monthly from their original locations such that you'll always find the most recent versions here.

NCSTRL (pronounced "ancestral") is an international collection of computer science technical reports from CS departments and industrial and government research laboratories. The NCSTRL collection is distributed among a set of interoperating servers operated by participating institutions. You may search for and access documents from the distributed collection.

Yahoo's collection of technical report sites.

University of Washington Computer Science and Engineering department's browsable list of technical reports sorted by publication date, author or title.

Contains energy and energy?related scientific and technical information collected by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) primarily from 1943 forward.

The Department of Energy database containing full text for Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored scientific and technical reports back to 1995.

 

The mission of the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) is to advance science and sustain technological creativity by making R&D findings available.

The International Nuclear Information System database contains over 3 million bibliographic records and almost 200,000 full-text nonconventional documents, consisting of scientific and technical reports and other non-copyrighted information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. It is a product of the International Atomic Energy Agency 

In 2002, the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) terminated public access to thousands of unclassified reports on nuclear science and technology. Fortunately, almost all of the withdrawn reports were acquired and preserved so that the public has access to them.