Skip to main content

EH-102: Freshman Composition

This library guide can assist you in your literature research paper.

Why Use Scholarly Articles?

Scholarly articles are a major resource used in literary research.  Scholarly journals are periodicals published for and by scholars and experts in a certain field.  In literature, these scholars are mostly academics who research and teach in literature and literary studies.
 
As you conduct your own research and write your papers, you will use scholarly articles to contexualize your argument in a scholarly conversation.   

Why Use a Database?

The library subscribes to databases to provide access to periodical articles.  The content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet.  You have to pay to get access to them.  But with an article database, the library is paying for that access for you.  That's why you have to go through the database to get the articles.

 

Don't ever pay to download an article from the internet--talk to a librarian, and we can more than likely get you a copy of the article at no charge to you.  That's what libraries do! 

Try These First!

Key Databases For Literary Research

Online resources include online journals, websites, periodical indexes and databases (which may contain full-text articles) and electronic books (listed in the library catalog). The online resources may be accessed through the UAH Library Homepage. Click on the
Online Databases link to search the contents of journals or click on the Journals link to find specific journal titles.

Specialty Databases for Literary Research

Below are speciality databases that may help depending on your topic.