Skip to main content

Library Faculty Handbook

Assistance

The library reference staff assists students and faculty in locating information on any subject.  Reference assistance includes helping users learn to search iLink (the library catalog) and selecting and using printed and electronic resources. Librarians also conduct online database searches and teach classes in research methods and use of the internet.  They develop research guides, many of which are available electronically at http://libguides.uah.edu. Reference staff select, acquire, and maintain reference materials in both print and electronic formats.  If the library does not hold the information you need, reference staff can help identify locations where the information is held.

Info Arcade

The Info Arcade provides nearly 50 workstations for various student research/class assignment needs.  The Info Arcade is available on the 1st floor of the south wing of the library, and is open during regular library hours.  A reference librarian is available at the reference desk outside the arcade to assist with class assignments and other research needs.  All PCs in the lab require a login ID.  Non UAH students/faculty/staff can acquire a guest pass (for a fee) at the User Services desk.

Collection Development

Collection development is the responsibility of librarians whose principle duties are collection analysis and the selection and preservation of materials. 

Faculty are encouraged to submit requests through their faculty library liason/subject specialist.  To find out the subject specialist you need to contact, click here.

Additional Information

Reference Collections - Materials designated as reference sources, and noted as such in the catalog, are those that are used for a quick check of facts (dictionaries, encyclopedias, statistical handbooks) or those that refer the user to additional sources (indexes, bibliographies).  Some reference sources are available in print, although an increasing number of indexing, abstracting, and full-text resources are available electronically.

Appointments for Students - If you have a student who needs additional help with research, please refer that person to the subject specialist librarian.  That librarian will make an appointment to meet with the student and conduct more in-depth bibliographic instruction.