Skip to main content

Library Faculty Handbook

Resources

Databases - All of the library's databases are available via the UAH Online Databases page at http://libguides.uah.edu/databases.  They are arranged alphabetically by title and by broad subject groupings.  Most resources linked from that page are available to any user on a computer with an address in the UAH network domain.  Off-campus access is also available for most databases, but will require a login.

Journals - If you would like to search for a specific journal title, from the library's homepage click on "Find a Journal Title".  From this page you can search by title, A-Z, or by subjects.  When the results are pulled, you will see the databases that contain that specific journal, along with the years of coverage.

Books - iLink is the catalog for the Salmon Library collection, and is available through the library's home page under the heading "Books & E-Books."  Periodicals (but not individual articles or contents) are also listed, including volumes and years available at the library. 

E-Books - The library has access to several e-book collections.  To access these, visit the E-Book Libguide.

WorldCat - Provides an index to the books in the US libraries and many other libraries worldwide.  It is available from the library's home page under "Books & E-Books."  WorldCat includes 65 million records for books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, and sound recordings.  WorldCat does not include indexing to individual book chapters or essays, or articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers.  Each record contains a list of libraries that own the item.

Books in Print - Available from the library's home page under Online Databases, this source provides a selection tool to locate materials in English that are currently in print.

Newspapers - The library subscribes to several newspapers in print (available in the coffee shop area), and also has the New York Times on microfilm (back to 1918).  The library also provides online access to nearly 1,000 newspapers, both nationally and internationally, for various date ranges.  For more information about our newspaper collection, visit http://libguides.uah.edu/newspapers

Scopus - From SciVerse, allows for citation analysis searching.