Skip to main content

The UAH Archives and Special Collections

Finding Aids for Archival Collections

UAH Public History Offers Study Abroad Program in the United Kingdom

UAH Public History Offers Study Abroad Program in the United Kingdom

If you have ever wanted to walk in the footsteps of Oxford’s Inklings, such as J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, or Charles Williams, get a behind-the-scenes view of the National Archives of the United Kingdom, or visit the ruins of a Roman amphitheater, a new UAH class offers just such an opportunity. The new public history class, HY 498/5948 Libraries, Archives and Museums in the UK: History and Practice, will visit Oxford and London in May of 2019.

 

Reading Room, British Library, London.

 

The course allows students to explore some of England's most notable archives, libraries, and museums. In Oxford, site visits include Oxford University's Bodleian Library and the Ashmolean Museum, as well as the Pitt Rivers Museum and the Oxfordshire History Centre. In London, the class will visit sites including the British Library, British Museum, Museum of London, UK National Archives, and the Natural History Museum. In addition, students will get to visit an archives, library, or museum of their choice to conduct hands-on research on a topic of their choice. Local tours of Oxford and London are also included. A special tour in Oxford will focus on famous authors, including the Inklings.

 

“This class examines the history of libraries, archives, and museums as well as professional practice in the field,” notes Reagan Grimsley, who will teach the course. “Whether your interest is country house libraries, medieval manuscripts, rare books, curating botanical gardens, the personal papers of a famous author, or exhibit design in museums, there will be a wide variety of learning opportunities as part of this class.” The course is open to UAH sophomores, juniors, and seniors with a 2.5 or above GPA.

 

Radcliffe Camera, Bodleian Library, Oxford.

 

Although students will travel abroad from May 5 to May 18, 2019, students will register for the course as part of the Spring 2019 semester. This will allow full-time students to take advantage of block tuition. Students must also apply for the Study Abroad course here and pay a $350 deposit. Fees for the course are $3,590 and are due by March 15. Students are also responsible for airfare to Heathrow Airport in London. The Honors College offers SAGA Grants to cover airfare for honors students. Students can contact Reagan Grimsley for more information.

 

Interior of the Pitt Rivers Museum, Oxford.

 

“For many students, study abroad is a once in a lifetime opportunity, so the course is designed to allow not only time for group tours and individual research, but also some free time to explore Oxford and London,” states Grimsley, who is Head of Special Collections in UAH’s Salmon Library. Nearby places that students may find of interest include Bath, Stratford-upon-Avon, Blenheim Palace, Highclere Castle, and the Cotswolds. “Studying abroad was one of the most meaningful experiences of my academic career, and I am delighted that we can offer this course to our students.”

 

The UAH History Department offers a major in History with a Public History Track, as well as a Public History Minor. Public History at UAH offers students opportunities to take a range of classes in historical interpretation, cultural resource management, historical archaeology, architectural history, archival management, and research methodology. This curriculum complements students’ training in more-traditional history classes and helps prepare for a broad range of careers in fields beyond teaching.

 

Explore the links below for some of the sites this class will visit while on this trip.