LibGuides: Early English Books Online (EEBO): Introduction

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

Room 125, behind the Reference Desk

256-824-6965

Subjects: Accounting, Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, Business, Business Administration, Company Research (Business), Economics & Computational Analysis, English, Finance, Government Documents, Industry Research, Information Literacy, Management, Marketing, Political Science, Supply Chain & Logistics Management

What is EEBO?

How to Access EEBO
Just select "Early English Books Online" from our Databases A-Z list. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to login in your Charger ID and password.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains scanned images of "virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700." The subjects in this collection range from English literature to music to science.

UAH Salmon Library provides access to all four EEBO collections, which are:

Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640)
Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)
Thomason Tracts (1640-1661)
Early English Books Tract Supplement

More information about each collection is found below.

How to Log Into EEBO Off-Campus
Here is some more information on how to log into our databases off-campus.

Getting Started in EEBO

Recommended Titles
David Richtmyer from the University of Michigan has put together a list of 200 titles provided to help undergraduates get started in EEBO.
EEBO Introduction Series
This series provides scholars with a forum on some of the less frequently discussed texts available in EEBO. Each contribution offers insight into the contextual issues associated with a work in EEBO that has received no scholarly edition.
EEBO Frequently Asked Questions

EEBO-related Handouts

More Information About Each Collection

Early English Books I (1473-1640)
Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue contains 26,500 titles contained in A.W Pollard and G.R. Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue and its revised edition. The collection mainly focuses on the English Renaissance and the rebirth of classical humanism. The writings in this collection can be useful to not only English scholars, but also to science historians, political scientists, classicists, linguists, musicologists, and art historians.
Early English Books II (1641-1700)
Wing's Short-Title Catalogue spans the English Civil War, the Interregnum, and the Restoration. Titles in this work would be useful to art, women's studies, and literature scholars, as well as physical scientists.
Thomason Tracts Collection (1640-1660)
This collection spans British history during a tumultuous period from 1640-1660. This collection includes 400 periodicals, as well as a high level of political material such as speeches made in Parliament.
Early English Books Tract Supplement
This collection spans British life in the 16th and 17th century. Documents in the collection include proclamations, correspondence, ballad collections, Quaker pamphlets, and mathematical and scientific treatises.