This is the "Books" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy  

A collection of links and resources for student and faculty use.
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uah.edu/content.php?pid=63100 Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Google Books



 

Send Us Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Search the Catalog

iLink iLink at Pennsylvania College
Power Search
 

Books

Cover Art
The Blackwell Companion to the Enlightenment - John W. Yolton (Editor); Roy Porter (Editor); Pat Rogers (Editor); Barbara Marie Stafford (Editor)
Call Number: CB411 .B57 1992
ISBN: 0631154035
Publication Date: 1991-01-16
Organized alphabetically, and focused primarily on the years 1720-1780, this fine guide contains terse, clear, and solid entries on the major and minor personalities, institutions, ideas, topics, etc., that constitute the Enlightenment. Most of the numerous topical articles, written by experts from many countries and disciplines, range from a few sentences to a few hundred words, but major essays run to four or five pages and include brief bibliographies.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy - Robert Audi (Editor)
Call Number: R B41 .C35 1999
ISBN: 052163136X
Publication Date: 1999-09-28
A survey of ideas and thinkers written by an international team of 436 contributors. Includes the most comprehensive entries on major philosophers, extensive coverage of rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, more entries on non-Western philosophy than any comparable volume, and strong coverage of Continental philosophy.

Cover Art
A Companion to Aesthetics - David E. Cooper (Editor)
Call Number: R BH56 .C65 1992
ISBN: 0631178015
Publication Date: 1993-01-19
This collection of three- to seven-page articles treats topics, persons and style and theories important to aesthetics.

Cover Art
A Companion to World Philosophies - Eliot Deutsch; Ronald Bontekoe
Call Number: B121 .C664 1997 EBOOK
ISBN: 0631224890
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Written by an international assembly of leading philosophers, this volume offers students, teachers and general readers a rich and sophisticated introduction to the major non-Western philosophical traditions - particularly Chinese, Indian, Buddhist and Islamic philosophies.

Cover Art
Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Wiener
Call Number: R CB5 .D52
ISBN: 0684132931
Publication Date: 1977-02-01
244 listed studies include cross-cultural comparison within a period, historical tracing of ideas, and explications of the meaning of the selected pivotal ideas. Includes a 479-page index.

Cover Art
Dictionary of World Philosophy - A. Pablo Iannone
Call Number: B41 .I26 2001 EBOOK
ISBN: 020318596X
Publication Date: 2001-03-29
Covers all of the major subfields of the discipline, with entries drawn from West African, Arabic, Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Latin American, Maori, and Native American philosophy.

Cover Art
The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy - Simon Glendinning
Call Number: XX(323001.1)EBOOK
ISBN: 0585123098
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Covers the most important authors and movements of this tradition. Fifty-eight extensive chapters and an internationally recognized team handle a broad range of topics and personalities. Organized into chronological and thematic areas for ease of reference.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy - Donald J. Zeyl (Editor)
Call Number: R B163 .E53 1997
ISBN: 0313287759
Publication Date: 1997-06-30
The only encyclopedia in English specific to the field of Classical Philosophy, this work presents 270 articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity. The articles, written by leading scholars, present not only succinct historical accounts, but they inform readers about issues of interpretation and debate in the contemporary scholarly study of the Classical period.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Ethics - Lawrence C. Becker (Editor); Charlotte Becker (Editor)
Call Number: R BJ63 .E45 1992
ISBN: 081530403X
Publication Date: 1992-03-01
Some 435 signed, cross-referenced articles ranging from 500 to 9000 words in length. Topics include meta-ethics, ethical theory, perennial moral problems, and political, social, and legal theory. There are survey articles on trends and eras; summaries of leading concepts, principles, and theoretical problems; and biographical entries for philosophers whose place in the history of ethics is secure, as well as a few contemporaries whose seniority and eminence make their inclusion appropriate.

Cover Art
Great Thinkers of the Western World - Ian P. McGreal
Call Number: R B72 .G74 1992
ISBN: 006270026X
Publication Date: 1992-09-23
Articles on 116 thinkers are arranged chronologically, making it essay for readers to follow and appreciate the development of ideas from the early Greeks through the first half of the twentieth century. Each article provides basic biographical information, a list of the thinker's major works, a summary of his or her principal ideas, an essay explaining the thinker's most significant theories and indicating his or her place in the history of thought and a brief bibliography of further readings.

Cover Art
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences (MITECS) - Robert A. Wilson (Editor); Frank C. Keil (Editor)
Call Number: HK311 .M556 1999
ISBN: 026273124X
Publication Date: 1999-08-13
A fully-searchable, complete text of the MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences (MITECS) on a dual-platform CD-ROM. At the core of the encyclopedia are 471 concise entries, from Acquisition and Adaptationism to Wundt and X-bar Theory. Each article, written by a leading researcher in the field, provides an accessible introduction to an important concept in the cognitive sciences, as well as references or further readings.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy - Ted Honderich (Editor)
Call Number: On-line material
ISBN: 0199264791
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
over 2,200 entries explaining everything from akrasia to externalism, modality and pragmatism, with longer articles on such puzzlers as the problems of the philosophy of science. Articles are signed and include references, as well as a comprehensive index, portraits of the great minds and a guide to logical symbols.

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy - Simon Blackburn
Call Number: On-line material
ISBN: 0198610130
Publication Date: 2007-03-05
Some 3000 entries - many extensively cross-referenced - cover Eastern and Western philosophy (with emphasis on the latter), all the main subdivisions of philosophy, terminology from other disciplines that is significant in philosophical discussion, and major historical figures.

Library Faculty

Profile Image
Anne Coleman
Contact Info
Archives and Special Collections
Library Lower Level
256 824 6523
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Philosophy
 

© 2012 UAHuntsville. All Rights Reserved. Huntsville, Alabama 35899 | 256-824-6530

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip