Books on Companies
Books on Careers
Best Practices TopicsDoing Business InternationallyLean ManufacturingSarbanes-OxleySix SigmaThe Best Graduate SchoolThe Feasibility Study
Books on Business Writing

Admin Sign In 

EH-300: Business Writing  Tags: business; company  

Library resources available for the Business Writing class.
Last update: Sep 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uah.edu/eh300  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Company Research             Print Page
  

How to Cite

The following resources will help with the citing process:

 

Search ABI-Inform

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:
 

Let Us Know!

What is your most favorite thing to do in the Library?

Study
Go to Jazzman's
Access the Internet
Visit the art gallery
Meet up with friends
Read books
Other/None of the Above

 

Company Research Databases

Use these library databases first to get started on your company research.

  • ABI-Inform  
    The premier business periodical database. Use it to find articles on your company from BusinessWeek, Forbes, Newsweek, Wall Street Journal, etc.
  • Business Source Premier  
    Provides full text for over 8,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including company/industry reports and books. Coverage includes all subject areas related to business.
  • Company Dossier (Lexis Nexis)  
    Provides most public company information for companies including: analysis and basic information, news stories, company profiles, list of competitors, corporate hierarchy, financial information, legal information, and intellectual property information.
  • Datamonitor Company Reports  
    Provides PDF formated files packed with lots of useful company analysis. Covers most public companies and some large private companies. See the video on finding your report elsewhere on this page. See also their Industry Surveys.
  • Faulkner Information Services  
    Includes in depth information on companies involved in computing, data networking, and telecommunications.
  • Huntsville Times (via Lexis Nexis)  
    If you have chosen a local company, check the Huntsville Times for references. Coverage is from January 01, 2005 through current. Updated within 3 weeks of publication.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic Universe  
    Lexis has millions of articles from newspaper and magazine as well as data on countries, businesses, etc.
  • NetLibrary E-Books  
    Access over 55,000+ e-books from anywhere! Great place to find company histories and corporate leader biographies.
  • ProQuest Newsstand  
    Access articles from newspapers across the country. Easy to find profiles of major companies written by the Associated Press published in many local newspapers.
  • ReferenceUSA  
    A company directory with information on over 14 million businesses, public and private. Can be searched for by name, business activity, size, annual sales, location and more.
  • Vault.com Career Database  
    Great resource for company insider information. Analyze employee surveys dealing with corporate culture, management styles, salaries and more. Note: See Business Librarian for premium access.

Industry Research Databases

To understand the big picture, learn about the environment in which companies operate.

  • ABI-Inform  
    The premier business periodical database. Use it to find articles on your company from BusinessWeek, Forbes, Newsweek, Wall Street Journal, etc.
  • BizMiner  
    Provides detailed industry analysis and market research reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets. Types of reports: * Industry Financial Profiles * Market Research Reports * Area Demographic Profiles * and more!
  • Datamonitor Industry Surveys  
    Provides PDF formatted files of most major industries in the US. Even if there is not a Datamonitor company profile on your company, You can usually find a representative industry report here.
  • Faulkner Information Services  
    Provides in depth information on critical issues, emerging trends, products, services, and vendors driving the IT industry. Topical coverage includes IT infrastructure, telecommunications, wireless technology, data networking, convergence, security, etc.
  • First Research  
    Locate trends, forecasts and more for over 700 industries. Great resource for preparing for job or internship interviews! Published by Dun & Bradstreet.
  • Manufacturing & Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics and Leading Companies  
    Presents statistics on numerous NAICS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. Covers input-output data by industrial sector as well as classifications of leading public and private corporations in each industry.
  • Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys  
    Comprehensive overviews of 52 major industries, including industry trends, forecasts, players, ratios and general industry operations.
  • Vault.com Career Database  
    From Accounting to Venture Capital, Vault's industry channels give you the insider research, community, and career tools you need to get in and stay ahead. Note: See Business Librarian for premium access.
 

My Profile

Profile ImageDavid P. Moore
Olark Livehelp


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Office: Library 336
Phone: 256-824-6285
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Library Science

Submit a Link to Me!

If you find a another resource that was useful to you and might be useful to other EH-300 students, let me know!


 

I'd Love Your Feedback!

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 

© 2009 UAHuntsville. All Rights Reserved. Huntsville, Alabama 35899 | 256-824-6530

Description

  Loading content... please wait