Skip to main content

Psychology Resources

Print and online tools related to the study of psychology

Key Online Resources / Databases for Psychology

PsycARTICLES
Offers full text articles from major American Psychological Association journals and 8 from allied organizations. Coverage begins in 1985 for most titles. The resource contains more than 44,000 articles in 56 journals in HTML and PDF formats, covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.

PsycINFO
Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations and provides links to a number of full-text articles. Journal coverage spans 1887 to the present and indexes material from 1,300 journals.

PubMed MEDLINE
Coverage of over 3,800 journals in medical literature from 1966 to the present including many aspects of psychology. The tutorial is from the National Library of Medicine and provides instruction in the use of the database which is open access.

SAGE Press Full-Text Journal Collections

Includes the full text of journals published by SAGE and participating societies, with some journals going back over several decades. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full-text in PDF format.

Additional Online Databases for Psychology

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary databases indexing over 5000 journals between them and including full-text articles from many of the titles.

ERIC
World's largest collection of education information with access to educational literature back to 1966. The database is updated monthly.

ScienceDirect
Provides indexing to all American Psychological Association journals but no full-text access to these materials. Full-text access to articles in many other journals available.

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, which indexes over 60 million articles & documents. Check this resource when you want to see how articles have been cited and are looking for authors that have done similar research.

Web of Science (includes Social Science Index)
This database from Thomson Scientific is the online version of Science Citation Index, Social Science Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It is an invaluable tool for citation searching (following research through the years) and determining who is citing your work. Provides seamless access to current and retrospective multi disciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research, peer-reviewed journals in the world. NOTE: UAH access covers the years 2003-2011.