LibGuides: EH 105_Noletto: Researching Knowledge, Education, & Survival: Recommended Databases & Journals: Focused collections by Discipline or Subject

Databases to kickstart you research

Below you will find a few recommended databases based on general areas of topical interest. Aside from using Pathfinder (Search the Library), it might prove useful to identify and explore specific databases (curated collections of journals or books devoted to a particular discipline or multidisciplinary scope) as well. In general, for many topics, we recommend exploring a few of our more multidisciplinary tools such as Sage Journals or Academic Search Complete to peruse a fairly robust subset of journals on a variety of topics. However, it is often useful to hone in on particular subject areas when you seek a particular academic voice or professional expertise.

Aside from the handful listed below, we strongly encourage that you follow up with a librarian for a more customized recommendation list, depending on your topic. If you find yourself struggling to locate enough relevant resources, or find your research process is too homogenous, reach out to one of the librarians for guidance!

Database Recommendations

General databases for researching topics in education:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ERIC (Dept. of Education) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces this database of journal and non-journal education literature. It provides more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Now, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, are available free.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. Subjects covered include: African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist studies, film studies, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, science, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.

Suggested databases for getting started researching survival in terms of mental and physical health:

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text offers access to health care books, standards of practice, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, and more. Searchable cited references for many journals are also included.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in more than 25 languages.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (PubMed) provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the full-text of articles at participating publishers web sites. Links to the molecular biology databases maintained by NCBI. Interface developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Links to full-text of selected articles are available using this URL to access PubMed.
See the tutorial from NLM.

Suggested databases for researching ecological/ earth system survival:

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) contains records drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Coverage: 1974 - current
Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.