English and Literature

Provides historical coverage, including figures who were crucial to the development of literature as well as those who passed judgment on it from antiquity to the present day. Contains a glossary and an index.

An expert's indispensable guide to English letters and the writing arts.

Some 25 entries provide in-depth historical background information on each movement as well as modern critical interpretation of each movement's characteristic styles and themes.

Over 500 entries on 20th-century movements and the writers, terms, and groups associated with them. Includes several appendices and indexes.

A guide to references commonly used in speech and writing. Explains more than 900 allusions. Entries include examples from today's leading media. A must for serious readers, language lovers, and ESL students.

A reference providing fiction lovers with the words and explanations needed to effectively discuss the art of fiction, with hundreds of examples from contemporary and classical literature.

More than 1,000 entries. Updated to reflect emerging trends in culture and technology.

A definitive, quick-access reference source on many of the men and women who have had a notable influence on American literature. All articles are complete and unabridged.

286 essays covering significant British writers since the 14th century.

Presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.

Over 176 essays on on Latin American writers by scholars from the U.S., Latin America, and Europe.

Biographical-bibliographical entries on nearly 500 writers and approximately 550 entries focusing on significant works of world literature. Covering writers from the ancient Greeks to 20th-century authors, each author entry provides a detailed overview of the writer's life and works.

Contains entries for authors, titles, national literature, themes, and motifs in literature and folklore.

More than 70 essays on Native American writers and various subjects in Native American culture.

Critical biographies of nearly 700 authors. Also includes an author index, bibliography, political chronology, and more.

An authoritative guide to over 100 of the most noteworthy literary works of China, Indian, Japan, Korea and the Middle East. Entries provide basic biographical information, critical analysis, and other relevant information.

Chronicles world literature from the Classical Age through the twentieth century, discussing literary developments and the relationship between literature and the political and social climate of each historical period.

A wide-ranging guide to 273 of the main writers of Russian literature and to 293 of their best known works, with a bias towards the 19th and 20th centuries. The alphabetical entries, about 1000 words long, consist of a biographical sketch plus a list of primary works in chronological order and a selected list of bibliographies and critical studies on the author.

Each entry includes an introductory essay; biographical information on the author; a plot summary; an examination of the epic's principal themes, style, construction, historical background and critical reception; and at least one original essay. Volume 2 includes "The Cantos", "The Queene", "War and Peace" and many others.

1,600 signed entries by 574 contributors focusing on nations formerly under British colonial rule. Entries cover authors, genres, cultural developments, etc.

Includes bibliographical references (p. ix) and index.

Profiles American women writers of the period, highlighting their contributions to important literary movements in 20th-century US history, especially modernism and the Harlem Renaissance. Each profile contains sections on the author's life, major works and themes, critical reception, and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources.

A well-edited and useful guide to the lives and works of 50 women, supplemented by two essays. Some names will be unfamiliar to many; this guide should serve to introduce a rich lode to scholarly miners of the Latin American literary tradition.

536 essays that examine the rich tradition of fiction and nonfiction literature by women from ancient Greece to the late twentieth century. Works by women writers from Africa, Europe, Asia, and the Americas are covered; twenty-six countries are represented.

Present information on the full spectrum of women's writing--including fiction, poetry, biography, political manifestos, essays, advice columns, and cookbooks, alongside a chronology of developments in social and cultural history that are especially pertinent to women's lives.

nearly four hundred biographical entries, touching on not only important poets, novelists, and playwrights but also women writers who have made important contributions in other fields. There is also extensive coverage of the many personal, cultural, and historical issues that have been explored by and have influenced the lives and productivity of women writers, as well as coverage of the publishing world, the art and practice of writing, and contemporary literary criticism.

More than 500 entries by 200 contributors spanning the genres, languages, ideologies, events, culture, literary history, works, and writers that comprise the literature of the South. Features alphabetical and topical tables of contents and a thorough index that allows users to find important names that may lack an entry.

Examines the fiction and nonfiction that centers on the people, spirit, creativity, and customs of the Southern states. Covers Southern figures, terms, movements, and traditions.

Fifty entries by fifty different scholar-critics on Southerners whose careers ended before roughly 1900. Each entry includes a biographical sketch, a discussion of major themes, an assessment of the scholarship, a chronological list of the author's works, and a bibliography of selected criticism.

A companion piece to "Fifty Southern Writers Before 1900" covering Southern writers publishing between 1919 or so and the mid-century.

Continues the series beginning with "Fifty Southern Writers before 1900." Covers 49 authors, almost all living. Well-written and uniformly up-to-date essays provide a composite picture of literary activity in the contemporary South.

The next entry in the series. Features 49 contemporary Southern poets, dramatists, essayists, and novelists who have published at least four books or plays and have received significant critical attention. Useful appendixes include updates on three authors discussed in a previous volume in the series.

A survey of the work of eighty-four writers for children and young people, written by sixty-four contributors, mostly well-known critics and writers of children's literature. Each essay includes both a biographical survey and a critical response.

Features 117 writers from the 19th-century to modern day. Two-page essays cover structure, themes, and detectives, as well as brief author biographies. Entries also include bibliographies of the writers' publications and critical sources. Seven appendixes cover award winners, mystery-related activities, the advocacy group Sisters in Crime, categories, an e-mail discussion group, and booksellers.

Researchers from scholars to the general public will find this reference source an excellent starting place to find definitions, summaries, authors, artists, and regional and historical overviews of fairy tales, past and present.

The classic manual for writing is now in its fourth edition. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk and White is as valuable today as when it was first offered. A new glossary of the grammatical terms used in the book provides a convenient reference for readers.

A distillation of the best-selling MLA Handbook, with all the information a student needs to format a typescript, list sources at the end of the paper, cite sources in the paper's text, and avoid unintentional plagiarism. It also includes a sample outline and research paper and, for writers in the social sciences, a brief discussion of the style preferred by the American Psychological Association. Up to date-with rules for citing such new media as CD-ROMS, videotapes, and online databases. Includes a complete sample outline and research paper, with an appendix on APA style.

The standard resource for citing electronic and electronically accessed sources as well as a critical style guide for creating documents electronically for submission for print or electronic publication. Includes bibliographical references and index.

This comprehensive reference work is considered the bible of style by business professionals and students alike. It spans the stylistic demands of business and academic writing, offering acceptable alternatives in grammar, style, usage, format, and technique. It provides the basic rules that apply in virtually every piece of writing, as well as the fine points that occur infrequently but cause much trouble when they do.

Presents basic rules of grammar and mechanics along with a series of appendices, making the manual an ideal guide for both business and general students. Worksheets provide additional practice in using the manual and review of basic grammar and usage skills.

The essential desk reference for authors, editors, and publishers of scientific research, the ACS Style Guide is a complete stylistic handbook. Topics include grammar, style, usage, illustrations, tables, lists, and units of measure, as well as the conventions used in chemistry. It also covers numerous related topics, from peer review and copyrights to oral presentations and the ACS ethical guidelines for publication.

A clear, useful reference for business writing, arranged alphabetically in sections on areas such as abbreviations, budgets and forecasts, desktop publishing, e-mail, jargon, punctuation, sexist writing, technical writing, and word processing. Includes a section of sample forms and letters, and a sample page from a procedures manual.

Includes bibliographical references and index.

The fifth edition of the "APA Manual" is a new and improved style manual for writers and students in psychology and other behavioral and social sciences. This valuable reference tool gives writers easy-to-use guidelines on how to prepare manuscripts according to APA style.

Long regarded as the essential reference for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in any field, the new fifteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been revised and updated with current style and writing in the electronic age, making it easier to use and more indispensable than ever.

Writing style, abbreviations, proper citations, and formatting are covered, along with new material on citing electronic information.

A mainstay in high-school and college libraries for nearly 60 years, Turabian has now been updated to incorporate references to the fourteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style as well as to reflect advances in technology. Includes bibliographical references and index.