LibGuides: History: Books

Library Faculty

Email Me

Contact:

M. Louis Salmon Library
Room 343A
301 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

256-824-5781

Subjects: Ancient & Medieval Studies, Archives, Special Collections, and Digital Initiatives , Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, History

Books

Books, both print and online, are found through the library’s online catalog. For a general overview of the library’s collection on a specific topic, use keywords or phrases such as a subject or topic. If the book is known, use either the Title or Author search. If few results are found on a topic, contact the Reference Librarian for help in refining the search.

Atlases

Atlases are shelved both in the N-2 (North building, second floor) under G and in N-2 in the map cases located by the Faculty Resource Center (FRC).

American History

Alabama Bibliography: Books, Articles, Theses, Dissertations by Ralph N. Brannen
Call Number: F 326 .A05 B72 1996

Publication Date: 1996

This bibliography offers assistance to helping Alabamians gain find information about Alabama's past. The author writes that this "bibliography should be classified as select with emphasis on secondary sources. Published primary sources have been included. The time span extends from the period of European exploration in the 16th century through the year 1994".
American Popular Culture: A Guide to the Reference Literature by Frank W. Hoffmann
Call Number: E 169.1 .H72 1995

ISBN: 1563081423

Organized by types of information sources, the book selectively covers guides to the literature of popular culture. Each section is arranged by subject.
The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America by John Mack Faragher, editor
Call Number: E188 .E63 1996

ISBN: 0306806878

1500 entries covering the entire colonial period, from the earliest settlements in 1600 through the American Revolution to nationhood under the Articles of Confederation in 1781.
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by David S. Heidler and Jeanne T. Heidler, editors
Call Number: E468 .E53 2000 (Reference)

ISBN: 1576070662

An award winning and highly recommended comprehensive reference set on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War. Over 1,600 entries.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations by Bruce W. Jentleson and Thomas G. Paterson, editors
Call Number: E183.7 .E53 1997

ISBN: 0195110552

Examines the ways in which Americans and their government have interacted with the world. 1,024 articles by American and foreign scholars. Extensive cross-referencing and a comprehensive index.
The Guide to United States Popular Culture by Ray B. Browne and Pat Browne, editors
Call Number: E169.1 .D399 2001 (Reference)

ISBN: 0879728213

1,600 entries, arranged alphabetically, ranging in length from 140 to 1,500 words. Covers popular music, literature, movies, television, magazines, comic strips, sports, material culture, activities, events, and individuals important to these areas.
Historic Events for Students: The Great Depression by Richard C. Hanes, editor
Call Number: E806 .G827 2002 (Reference)

ISBN: 0787657018

Designed for high-school students, this set presents the Great Depression in terms of 45 key topics arranged alphabetically from American Indians to Tennessee Valley Authority.
Term Paper Resource Guide to Twentieth-Century United States History by Robert Muccigrosso, Ron Blazek, and Teri Maggio
Call Number: E741 .M83 1999

ISBN: 0313300968

Entries on 100 of the most important events and developments in twentieth-century U.S. history, in chronological order. Each entry consists of a short description of the event, followed by five specific suggestions for term papers about the event, and a wide-ranging annotated bibliography of 15-35 books, articles, videos, and a web site appropriate for student research.
They Too Call Alabama Home: African-American Profiles, 1800-1999 by Richard Bailey
Call Number: E185.96 .B25 1999 (Reference)

ISBN: 096718830X

An examination of the contributions to American life made by more than 300 individuals, all of whom have ties to Alabama.

Ancient and Medieval History

Arts and humanities through the eras
Call Number: NX440 .A787 2004 V.1, 2, 3, 4, 5 (Reference)

ISBN: 078765695X

Offering a multidisciplinary view of each era, this reference set's five volumes focus, respectively, on ancient Greece and Rome, ancient Egypt, Medieval Europe, Renaissance Europe, and the Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment.
The Cambridge Ancient History
Call Number: D57 .C262

ISBN: 0521070511

A definitive work of reference accompanied by maps, illustrations and bibliographies
Cultural Atlas of Ancient Egypt by John Baines and Jaromir Malek
Call Number: DT60 .B34 2000

ISBN: 0816040362

Written by two distinguished Egyptologists, the book covers art, architecture, monuments, society, daily life, hieroglyphics, and the pyramids.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by Andre Vauchez, editor
Call Number: D114 .E53 2000 (Reference)

ISBN: 1579582826

3,200 alphabetically arranged entries supported by 600 black-and-white illustrations and 30 color plates. Emphasis on French and Italian medieval theology.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Donald B. Redford
Call Number: DT 58 .O94 2001 (Reference)

ISBN: 0195102347

Comprehensive reference work Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars. Extensively illustrated with photographs, line drawings, and maps.

Asian History

Conflict in Korea: An Encyclopedia by James Hoare and Susan Pares
Call Number: DS916 .H62 1999

ISBN: 0874369789

Focus on a historical view of the divisions in the peninsula that have led to present-day tensions rather than on the 1950-53 conflict. The alphabetically arranged entries cover Korean history from early times to the present but emphasize 20th-century developments.
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Spencer C. Tucker, editor
Call Number: DS557.7 .E53 2000

ISBN: 0195135245

This comprehensive political, social, and military history of Vietnam has been condensed from a three-volume edition into this affordable, single volume, which includes more than 900 alphabetically arranged entries, 200 primary source documents, and more than 70 illustrations and maps.
Historical Dictionary of the Vietnam War by Edwin E. Moïse
Call Number: DS557.7 .M63 2001

ISBN: 0810841835

Deals comprehensively with both military and political aspects of the war, and with the events-especially those from 1954 onward - that led up to it. More than 600 detailed entries.
Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia by Norman Roth, editor
Call Number: DS124 .M386 2003 (Reference)

ISBN: 0415937124

More than 100 entries, each a few pages in length and some much longer. Each entry includes cross references and a current bibliography.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World by John L. Esposito, editor in chief
Call Number: DS35.53 .O95 1995 (Reference)

ISBN: 0195066138

750 articles by 450 scholars from around the world, focusing on the last 200 years.

European History

Arts and humanities through the eras.
Call Number: NX440 .A787 2004 V.1, 2, 3, 4, 5 (Reference)

ISBN: 078765695X

Offering a multidisciplinary view of each era, this reference set's five volumes focus, respectively, on ancient Greece and Rome, ancient Egypt, Medieval Europe, Renaissance Europe, and the Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment.
Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Culture: French Culture 1900-1975 by Catharine Savage Brosman, editor
Call Number: DC33.7 .F726 1995

ISBN: 0810384825

Focuses on high culture, with some attention given to historical and social context. Most entries are biographical; others treat institutions, newspapers or magazines, schools of thought, theaters, etc.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World by David Sacks
Call Number: DF16 .S23 1995 (Reference)

ISBN: 0816023239

More than 500 alphabetically arranged entries covering more than 2,000 years of ancient Greece, from the beginning of the Minoan civilization in the third millennium B.C.E. to the Roman annexation of mainland Greece in 146 B.C.E.
Historical Dictionary of Latvia by Andrejs Plakans
Call Number: DK504.37 .P58 1997

ISBN: 0810832925

Presents entries on political events and their players, agencies and organizations, regions and locations, movements, artists, writers, scientists, and other contributors to Latvian culture. Includes a simple map, a chronology, and an introductory survey of the country's history.
Historical Dictionary of Hungary by Steven Béla Várdy
Call Number: DS904 .V37 1997 (Reference)

ISBN: 0810832542

Alphabetically arranged entries cover Hungarian history from 2000 B.C. to the current, post-communist period, focusing primarily on historical and political aspects. Includes a few maps, a glossary, and a chronology.
Historical Dictionary of the United Kingdom by Kenneth J. Panton and Keith A. Cowland
Call Number: DA34 .P36 1997

ISBN: 0810850915

Concise dictionary entries as well as a handy overview of geography and history of the country, a chronology, lists of monarchs and prime ministers, several maps, and an appendix of entries that will appear in the forthcoming second volume.
Medieval England: An Encyclopedia by Paul E. Szarmach, M. Teresa Tavormina, Joel T. Rosenthal, editors
Call Number: DA129 .M43 1998 (Reference)

ISBN: 0824057864

More than 700 alphabetized entries by more than 300 international scholars. Includes maps, illustrations, and an index.
Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia by Christopher Kleinhenz, editor
Call Number: DG443 .M43 2004 (Reference)

ISBN: 0415939291

Over 1,000 entries consider a timespan from the late Roman period to the beginning of the 15th century. Entries include very specific topics, such as a work or biography--a high percentage of the entries are biographies--or much longer entries on broad themes, such as medicine, the papacy, the papal states, and the Byzantine Empire.
Medieval Scandinavia: An Encyclopedia by Phillip Pulsiano, editor
Call Number: DL 30 .M43 1993 (Reference)

ISBN: 0824047877

Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies and cross-referenced. Limited illustrations.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth, editor
Call Number: DE5 .O9 1996

ISBN: 019866172X

6,000 entries ranging from long articles to brief definitions, including anthropology and the classics, Marxism and classical antiquity, and literary theory and classical studies, while others examine issues of general interest such as race, class struggle, ethnicity, alcoholism, and suicide.

Historical Atlases

Atlas of Westward Expansion by Alan Wexler
Call Number: G1201 .S1 W44 1995

ISBN: 0816026602

Traces the history of US territorial expansion, from the 1750 founding of Fort Cumberland to the early 20th century. Includes black-and-white illustrations and photographs.
The Complete Atlas of World History by John Haywood
Call Number: G1030 .C66 1997

ISBN: 1563248549

Publication Date: 1997-10-23

Gives comprehensive coverage from 4,000,000 B.C. to the present. there are 56 maps in each volume.
Historical Atlas of Alabama by W. Craig Remington and Thomas J. Kallsen, editor
Call Number: G1340 .H57 1997

This atlas contains place names of current cities and towns and historic points of communication and commerce. Maps of each of Alabama's 67 counties are included and the larger counties contain more maps.
Mapping America’s Past by Mark C. Carnes and John A. Garraty
Call Number: G1201 .S1 C3 1996

ISBN: 0805049274

Begins with pre-Columbian America and proceeds through colonial America, the Civil War, the Gilded Age, the early 20th century, post-war America, and current issues through the election of 1994. Arrangement is in nine sections which are subdivided into 120 topics.
The Routledge Historical Atlas of the American South by Andrew K. Frank
Call Number: G1281 .S5 F7 1999

ISBN: 041592135X

Coverage spans from the first European settlers and resultant Native American migrations up through modern times. Includes 50 color maps.

Historiography

The American Historical Association’s Guide to Historical Literature by Mary Beth Norton, general editor
Call Number: D20 .A64 1995

ISBN: 0195057279

Hundreds of historians from around the world have selected and provided commentary on the best and most useful works in their fields--almost 27,000 annotated citations--to provide unprecedented bibliographic guidance of extraordinary breadth, from prehistory to the twentieth century.
The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia by David Crystal, editor
Call Number: CT103 .C26 1998

ISBN: 0521630991

Covers more than 25,000 significant individuals, past and present, from around the world. Presented both alphabetically and in table form.
Great Historians from Antiquity to 1800 by Lucian Boia, editor-in-chief
Call Number: D14 .G74 1989

ISBN: 0313245177

Brief articles on the life and work of 600 historians from all over the world. Entries are arranged alphabetically by country or geographic area, and include brief bibliographies.
Great Historians of the Modern Age by Lucian Boia, editor-in-chief
Call Number: D14 .G75 1991

ISBN: 0313273286

Contains over 600 biographical listings of historians from more than 35 countries. Includes cross referencing and indexes.
A Student’s Guide to History by Jules R. Benjamin
Call Number: D16 .A1 B4 1998

ISBN: 0312149778

Includes valuable tips about finding, evaluating, and citing Internet resources, as well as useful guides to electronic reference sources and specialized history sites.

Modern History

A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century World History by Jan Palmowski
Call Number: D419 .P32 1997

ISBN: 0192800167

2,500 entries on significant people, events, and movements. Several useful tables are provided, including lists of office-holders and winners of the Nobel peace prize.
Europe 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World by Jonathan Dewald, editor in chief
Call Number: D209 .E97 2004 (Reference)

ISBN: 068431200X

Contains 1,125 articles arranged alphabetically. Entries include biographies, in-depth essays on major topics, and profiles of city-states, empires, and geographical regions.
The Oxford Companion to World War II by I.C.B. Dear, general editor
Call Number: D740 .O94 1995

ISBN: 0198662254

1,700 entries that range from brief identification to in-depth articles. Coverage is comprehensive and maps, charts, graphs, and photographs are found throughout.
Term Paper Resource Guide to Twentieth-Century World History by Michael D. Richards and Philip F. Riley
Call Number: D421 .R47 2000 (Ready-Ref behind the reference desk)

ISBN: 0313305595

provides students and their teachers with 600 term paper ideas and cites more than a thousand print and nonprint sources on the 100 most important events that have shaped 20th-century world history. Each entry consists of a capsule description of the event, suggestions for research papers about the event and a wide-ranging annotated bibliography.

Political History

Presidential Elections, 1789-2000 by Congressional Quarterly, Inc.
Call Number: JK524 .C65 2002

ISBN: 1568027907

Covers elections for each president as well as the overall process from start to finish. Provides national maps, voting records, and biographies of presidents and vice presidents.
Speeches of the American Presidents by Janet Podell, Steven Anzovin, editors
Call Number: J81.4 .S64 2001

ISBN: 0824210069

Includes more than 200 major speeches by the 43 U.S. presidents, from Washington through George W. Bush. Each chapter covers the president's career and speaking style. Context is provided for each speech.
United States Presidential Elections, 1788-1860: The Official Results by County and State by Michael J. Dubin
Call Number: JK524 .D778 2002

ISBN: 0786410175

Listed by state and county, entries provide each candidate's name, party, the number of votes received, and the percentage of total votes. An introductory note describes the history of voting for presidential electors and the influence of political parties. Maps showing presidential election districts are also included.

Women’s History

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World by Joyce E. Salisbury
Call Number: HQ1127 .S25 2001 (Reference)

ISBN: 1576070921

An extensive collection featuring both famous and everyday women, giving a well-rounded view of the lives of women in the ancient world.
The Encyclopedia of Women’s History in America by Kathryn Cullen-DuPont
Call Number: HQ1410 .C85 1996

ISBN: 0816026254

Over 500 entries examine virtually every aspect of the experiences, struggles and achievements of women in the US.
Handbook of American Women’s History by Angela Howard Zophy, editor
Call Number: HQ1410 .H36 1990

ISBN: 0824087445

Covers a wide range of topics: people, events, organizations, movements, and ideas. The signed articles average about half a page, are thoroughly cross-referenced, and refer as well to book-length treatments of the subject.
What American Women Did, 1789-1920 by Linda Miles Coppens
Call Number: HQ1154 .C665 2001 (Reference)

ISBN: 0786408995

Covers women's lives and accomplishments year-by-year from the emergence of the republic in 1789 through the passage of the 19th Amendment in 1920. Chapters on each year look at women's everyday lives in various areas. Includes historical photos plus tables of statistics.