History

Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information.

The Internet Ancient History Sourcebook is a companion to the Internet Medieval Sourcebook and the Internet Modern History Sourcebook. It includes links to visual and aural material, since art and archeology. It also focuses on online texts, which, for the most part, means public domain texts translated more than 75 years ago.

This sourebook contains information concerning Global History including: Ancient Cultures: The world until c100 CE; Medieval World systems: Trade and faith 100 to 1500 CE; The creation of a united world system, 1500 to 1800 CE; The Western Hegemony, 1800 to 1918 CE; The Twentieth century; and Globalizaion - modern worlds.

The Indian History Source book contains information about: Indus Valley Cultures; The Vedic Age; The formation of religious traditions; Medieval India; Greek and Chinese sources on India; Muslim Era India; The Western Intusion; Indian Nationalism; India since Independence; Pakistan since Independence; Bangladesh; Burm, Sri Lanka; Indian genders and sexulaities.

Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information.

This website originated at Kansas University but is now part of the WWW-VL History Central Catalogue at the European University Institute.

Fire destroyed the War Department office in 1800. For decades historians believed that its files, and the window they provide into the early federal government, had been lost forever.

This site contains Conventions and Treaties, Official Papers, Diaries, Memorials, Personal Reminiscences, biographies and images.

Fire destroyed the War Department office in 1800. For decades historians believed that its files, and the window they provide into the early federal government, had been lost forever.

There are over 300 primary sources which includes government documents, image, videos, and artifacts

Together, these materials provide insight into the material culture of colonial life, the legal and social concerns of citizens, the costs of goods and services, the books that influenced thought and education, and myriad other aspects of the material and intellectual life in New England.

This website originated at Kansas University but is now part of the WWW-VL History Central Catalogue at the European University Institute.

The languages used in Ireland in the historic past were many. Languages known to us through extant texts include Irish of all periods, English, Hiberno-Norman French, some Old Norse (including some runic inscriptions) and Latin. Other languages were used by clerics, political leaders, scholars, merchants, diplomats, or emigrants (Spanish, Italian, modern French, Provençal, Dutch, Danish).

This website provides searching, browsing and exploring and contains 12 topical essays, 250 images, 350 text documents, 13 songs, 13 maps, a timeline and a glossary.

CHNM uses digital media and technology to preserve and present history online, transform scholarship across the humanities, and advance historical education and understanding.

You can also consult some 300 digitized journals Catalan ancient through the site archive Old Catalan Magazines (ARCA) from the Library of Catalonia. The main purpose of the MDC is to increase the visibility and consultation of the special collections and heritage library of Catalonia.

This database covers the Early Modern World including the Reformation, everyday life, Absolutisim, Constitutional States, Colonial North America, Colonial Latin America; The Transformation of the West including Scientific Revolution, Enlightenment, Enlightened Despots, American Independence, French Revolution, Industrial Revolution, Romanticism; The 19th Century and Western Hegemony including Conservative order, nationalism, Liberalism, 1848 (Europe in Revolt), 19th century Britain, 19th century France, 19th century Italy, 19th century Austria and Germany, 19th century West Europe, 19th century East Europe, Early United States, U.S. Civil War, U.S. Immigration, U.S. Culture, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, 19th century Latin America, Socialism, Imperialism, Industiral Revolution II, Darwin, Freud, Einstein, 19th century Religion; World Wars and the End of Western Domination including World War I, Russian Revolution, Age of Anxiety, The Depression, Fascisim in Europe, Nazism, Holocaust, World War II; The World since 1945 including the Bipolar World, U.S. Power, Post-War Western Europe, Post-War Eastern Europe, Decolonization, Asia since 1900, Africa since 1945, Middle East since 1914, 20th century Latin America, Modern Social Movements, Post-War Thought, Post-War Religion, Modern Science, Pop Culture; The twenty First Century.

Click on the Historical Texts links to find primary sources that deal with the Silk Road. The documents range from Chinese accounts of Rome, Byzantium and the Middle East to Eurasian trade to merchants travels.

Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information.

This site contains Conventions and Treaties, Official Papers, Diaries, Memorials, Personal Reminiscences, biographies and images.

This site provides free access to primary sources, builds high-quality online teaching modules, and offers instruction on critical thinking skills. It is from the Center for History an New Meida (CHNM) at George Mason University.

Fire destroyed the War Department office in 1800. For decades historians believed that its files, and the window they provide into the early federal government, had been lost forever.

This sourebook contains information concerning Global History including: Ancient Cultures: The world until c100 CE; Medieval World systems: Trade and faith 100 to 1500 CE; The creation of a united world system, 1500 to 1800 CE; The Western Hegemony, 1800 to 1918 CE; The Twentieth century; and Globalizaion - modern worlds.

This database covers the Early Modern World including the Reformation, everyday life, Absolutisim, Constitutional States, Colonial North America, Colonial Latin America; The Transformation of the West including Scientific Revolution, Enlightenment, Enlightened Despots, American Independence, French Revolution, Industrial Revolution, Romanticism; The 19th Century and Western Hegemony including Conservative order, nationalism, Liberalism, 1848 (Europe in Revolt), 19th century Britain, 19th century France, 19th century Italy, 19th century Austria and Germany, 19th century West Europe, 19th century East Europe, Early United States, U.S. Civil War, U.S. Immigration, U.S. Culture, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, 19th century Latin America, Socialism, Imperialism, Industiral Revolution II, Darwin, Freud, Einstein, 19th century Religion; World Wars and the End of Western Domination including World War I, Russian Revolution, Age of Anxiety, The Depression, Fascisim in Europe, Nazism, Holocaust, World War II; The World since 1945 including the Bipolar World, U.S. Power, Post-War Western Europe, Post-War Eastern Europe, Decolonization, Asia since 1900, Africa since 1945, Middle East since 1914, 20th century Latin America, Modern Social Movements, Post-War Thought, Post-War Religion, Modern Science, Pop Culture; The twenty First Century.

CHNM uses digital media and technology to preserve and present history online, transform scholarship across the humanities, and advance historical education and understanding

CHNM uses digital media and technology to preserve and present history online, transform scholarship across the humanities, and advance historical education and understanding

Over 12,000 images from various collections of rare books, manuscripts, papyri, photographs and sheet music are available for your viewing. Each collection has its own web site that is unrestricted in the interests of knowledge and learning.

The goal of the Torture Archive is to become the online institutional memory for essential evidence on torture in U.S. policy. Many of these documents are available in multiple locations on the Internet and in numerous private collections, thanks to landmark Freedom of Information Act and habeas litigation, leaks from whistleblowers, public relations releases from government, investigative reporting by journalists including the Torturing Democracy team, and Congressional investigations. But the disparate locations, enormous volume of documents, and lack of indexing or standard cataloging have presented real difficulties for users.

Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information.

This site also has guides by world history scholars to analyzing primary sources; music, images, objects, maps, newspapers, travel narratives; official documents and personal accounts; analyzing of documents and teaching sources (16 case studies written by high school and college teachers which discuss the planning and implementaion used in teaching a particular primary source.)

This site contains Conventions and Treaties, Official Papers, Diaries, Memorials, Personal Reminiscences, biographies and images.

The Internet Islamic History Sourcebook contains information on: The Pre-Islamic Arab world; Muhammad and Foundataions to 632 CE; Islamic faith and theology; Islamic expansion and empire; The Caliphate; The Persians; The Turks; The Ottomans; The Expansion Eastwards; Interaction with the West; The Western Intrusion; Islamic Nationalism; The Islamic World since 1945; Islamic History Maps. There are also further resources on Islamic history with web guides, academic pages and Muslim sites.

The Internet Jewish History Sourcebook contains information on: The People of Israel (Pre-Israelite Canaan/Palestine/Syria; The Bible as a source; Ethnogenesis; Moses and Monotheism; Conquest of the land (1250 to 1000 BCE?); The National Monarchy (c.1020 to 856 BCE); Mythological Foundations); The emergence of Judaism (Jews and Judaism in the Land of Israel; First Century CE Context; The Qumran Sect; Jews in the Diaspora; Diaspora Religious Developments; The Conflict with Rome; Triumph of Rabbinic Judaism; Modern Perspectives on Ancient Israel); The Jewish Middle Ages (Jewish communities and individuals in Islam; Jewish Communiities and Individuals in Christendom; Jews and the States in Christendom; Jews and Economic Activity; Jewish Communities outside Islam and Christendom; Jewish Cultures; Jewish Intellectual and Religious Life; Christian Anti-Semitism; Early Moden Jewish life); Jewish life since the Englightenment (The Englightenment and the Jews; The Jewish Enlightenment [The Haskalah]; Alternate Jewish reactions to Modernity; The History of the Ashkenazi in Eastern Europe; Jewish Life in Western Europe; The History of the Sephardic Communities; The New Wold Diaspora; Jews and the Political Left; Modern Jewish Religious Thought; The Impact of Secular Jews on Modern Thought; Modern Antisemitism; Zionism; The State of Israel; Post-World War II Jewish Thought; Gender and Judaism); additional websites with information. The website also contains audio clips.

With free access to nearly a century of reporting about global events affecting world Jewry, the Archive will not only serve as a rich resource for both the casually curious as well as students and scholars of modern Jewish history, it will also transform the way the next generation of Jewish leaders and activists learn about their heritage.

Over 12,000 images from various collections of rare books, manuscripts, papyri, photographs and sheet music are available for your viewing. Each collection has its own web site that is unrestricted in the interests of knowledge and learning.

The collection ranges from Ancient 4000 BCE to the 21st century.

Probing the Past provides a searchable version of information contained in the transcriptions of all 325 probate inventories. Users may browse by time period or city/county, or search the database to find records that meet specific criteria, and then view the original written text and a transcript of the inventories.

The goal of the Torture Archive is to become the online institutional memory for essential evidence on torture in U.S. policy. Many of these documents are available in multiple locations on the Internet and in numerous private collections, thanks to landmark Freedom of Information Act and habeas litigation, leaks from whistleblowers, public relations releases from government, investigative reporting by journalists including the Torturing Democracy team, and Congressional investigations. But the disparate locations, enormous volume of documents, and lack of indexing or standard cataloging have presented real difficulties for users.

The collection ranges from Ancient 4000 BCE to the 21st century.

This website originated at Kansas University but is now part of the WWW-VL History Central Catalogue at the European University Institute.

This sourebook contains information concerning Global History including: Ancient Cultures: The world until c100 CE; Medieval World systems: Trade and faith 100 to 1500 CE; The creation of a united world system, 1500 to 1800 CE; The Western Hegemony, 1800 to 1918 CE; The Twentieth century; and Globalizaion - modern worlds.

Topics include: End of the Classical World; Byzantium; Islam; The Formation of Latin Christendom including The Church, Early Germanic States, Celtic World, Carolingians and After; Western Collapse and Recovery including Crisis, Recovery, Feudalism, Economic Life, Crusades; Varieties of Medieval States including Empire and Papacy, France, England, Celtic States, Iberia, Italy; The Flowering of Western Medieval Civilization including Intellectual Life, High Medieval Church, Jewish Life, Social History, Sex and Gender; Transformations including States and Society, Renaissance, Reformation, and Exploration and Expansion.

This website originated at Kansas University but is now part of the WWW-VL History Central Catalogue at the European University Institute.

CHNM uses digital media and technology to preserve and present history online, transform scholarship across the humanities, and advance historical education and understanding

The Air Force Historical Research Agency is a national treasure whose dedicated staff preserves the important history of the United States Air Force and its predecessors. The U.S. military fully recognizes the strategic value of documenting and teaching lessons learned and operational analysis. AFHRA helps preserve the hard-won information contained in pages of historical records and in volumes of oral histories. Beyond that, support provided by AFHRA regularly helps today's Air Force accomplish its missions and operations. AFHRA also commemorates the individuals and military units that in some cases were called upon to achieve the impossible because it needed to be done.

This website originated at Kansas University but is now part of the WWW-VL History Central Catalogue at the European University Institute.

This website provides searching, browsing and exploring and contains 12 topical essays, 250 images, 350 text documents, 13 songs, 13 maps, a timeline and a glossary.

This series consists of reports that typically include a brief questionnaire concerning the use of escape and evasion (E&E) training and equipment; an interrogation form with unit designation, target information (if applicable), number of missions flown (if applicable), date considered missing in action, date returned to U.S. or allied control, country of escape or evasion, and a listing of crew members (or other service personnel) with official disposition; a verification of the identity and trustworthiness of escapee or evader; a certificate safeguarding prisoner of war and/or escape and evasion information; an outline of topics to be covered in the narrative; and a typed or handwritten narrative that documents the escape and evasion experience of the escapee or evader.

This site contains Conventions and Treaties, Official Papers, Diaries, Memorials, Personal Reminiscences, biographies and images.

This is a project of the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

This site contains over 1,000 primary documents in text, image, and audio that emphasize the experiences of “ordinary” Americans throughout U.S. history. All of the documents have been screened by historians and are accompanied by annotations that address their larger historical significance and context.

Probing the Past provides a searchable version of information contained in the transcriptions of all 325 probate inventories. Users may browse by time period or city/county, or search the database to find records that meet specific criteria, and then view the original written text and a transcript of the inventories.

This website originated at Kansas University but is now part of the WWW-VL History Central Catalogue at the European University Institute.

This is a project of the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The time scale of this archive ranges from the years 800 to 2009. Some of the documents are on individual webpages, others are in Project Gutenberg.

Together, these materials provide insight into the material culture of colonial life, the legal and social concerns of citizens, the costs of goods and services, the books that influenced thought and education, and myriad other aspects of the material and intellectual life in New England.

This site contains over 1,000 primary documents in text, image, and audio that emphasize the experiences of “ordinary” Americans throughout U.S. history. All of the documents have been screened by historians and are accompanied by annotations that address their larger historical significance and context.

Contains Military Service Records, Nuremberg Laws, WW II photos, Declaration of Independence, Constitution of the U.S., government records, genealogy. (Print, photos, video, audio).

This series consists of reports that typically include a brief questionnaire concerning the use of escape and evasion (E&E) training and equipment; an interrogation form with unit designation, target information (if applicable), number of missions flown (if applicable), date considered missing in action, date returned to U.S. or allied control, country of escape or evasion, and a listing of crew members (or other service personnel) with official disposition; a verification of the identity and trustworthiness of escapee or evader; a certificate safeguarding prisoner of war and/or escape and evasion information; an outline of topics to be covered in the narrative; and a typed or handwritten narrative that documents the escape and evasion experience of the escapee or evader.

North Carolina Maps contains more than 3,000 maps, ranging in date from the late 1500s to 2000, and including detailed maps for each of North Carolina's one hundred counties.

Fire destroyed the War Department office in 1800. For decades historians believed that its files, and the window they provide into the early federal government, had been lost forever.

Probing the Past provides a searchable version of information contained in the transcriptions of all 325 probate inventories. Users may browse by time period or city/county, or search the database to find records that meet specific criteria, and then view the original written text and a transcript of the inventories.

Over 12,000 images from various collections of rare books, manuscripts, papyri, photographs and sheet music are available for your viewing. Each collection has its own web site that is unrestricted in the interests of knowledge and learning.

In September 2003, the Library of Congress accepted the Archive into its collections, an event that both ensured the Archive's long-term preservation and marked the library's first major digital acquisition.

The goal of the Torture Archive is to become the online institutional memory for essential evidence on torture in U.S. policy. Many of these documents are available in multiple locations on the Internet and in numerous private collections, thanks to landmark Freedom of Information Act and habeas litigation, leaks from whistleblowers, public relations releases from government, investigative reporting by journalists including the Torturing Democracy team, and Congressional investigations. But the disparate locations, enormous volume of documents, and lack of indexing or standard cataloging have presented real difficulties for users.

San Rafael De La Zanja Land Grant Collection, 1880-1887; Aguiar Collection; Sonora and Sinaloa Imprints; Early NW Mexico Printing; Early Northwest Mexico Printing Collection; Records of the Comisionado de Mineria, Sonora, Mexico, 1825-1826; Annual Report of the Tesoreria Nacional de Arispe, Sonora, Mexico, 1823; Records of the Secretaria de Fomento, Colonizacion e Industria, 1873-1903, 1920;etc.

The WWDL is a valuable resource for researchers, policy makers, scholars, Native American tribes, professionals working in various fields, and others interested in contemporary and historic water issues.

Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information.

This site contains Conventions and Treaties, Official Papers, Diaries, Memorials, Personal Reminiscences, biographies and images.

This is a project of the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The Archives Hub provides a gateway to thousands of the UK’s richest archives. Representing over 180 institutions across the country, the Archives Hub is an effective way to discover unique and often little-known sources to support your research. Use the Hub to instantly scan the archival landscape and bring together diverse sources held in repositories across the country. Historians will find the Hub an essential tool for their research.

This website also contains scholarly reviews of online primary source archives, curricular for high school and college with teaching strategies and teaching case studies.

This website also contains scholarly reviews of online primary source archives, curricular for high school and college with teaching strategies and teaching case studies.

This sourcebook on Women's History contains: The history study of women; Human origins; Women of: Ancient Egypt; Ancient Mesopotamia; Greece; Rome; Medieval Europe; Early Modern Europe; Modern Europe; North America; Latin America; China; Japan; India; South East Asia; Australasia; Africa; and The Islamic World.