LibGuides: World History since 1500 (HY 104): Books

Library Faculty

Email Me

Contact:

M. Louis Salmon Library
Room 343A
301 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

256-824-5781

Subjects: Ancient & Medieval Studies, Archives, Special Collections, and Digital Initiatives , Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, History

Books

Books, both printed and online, are found by searching the library's online catalog, iLink. For a general overview of the library's collection on a specific topic, use the Word or Phrase or Subject Search boxes. If you know the author or title of the book, use those fields. If your search gives you too few results, please contact the Reference Librarian for help in refining your search strategy.

Phone: (256)-824-6529

Email: Ask a Librarian

Text: Text us from your cell/mobile device at (256) 286-2368

Tweet us at @uahEref

Contact your subject specialist.

WorldCat

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest library catalog, helping you find library materials online. WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many new kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages,

Historiography

The American Historical Association’s Guide to Historical Literature by Mary Beth Norton, general editor
Call Number: D20 .A64 1995

ISBN: 0195057279

Hundreds of historians from around the world have selected and provided commentary on the best and most useful works in their fields--almost 27,000 annotated citations--to provide unprecedented bibliographic guidance of extraordinary breadth, from prehistory to the twentieth century.
The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia by David Crystal, editor
Call Number: CT103 .C26 1998

ISBN: 0521630991

Covers more than 25,000 significant individuals, past and present, from around the world. Presented both alphabetically and in table form.
Great Historians from Antiquity to 1800 by Lucian Boia, editor-in-chief
Call Number: D14 .G74 1989

ISBN: 0313245177

Brief articles on the life and work of 600 historians from all over the world. Entries are arranged alphabetically by country or geographic area, and include brief bibliographies.
Great Historians of the Modern Age by Lucian Boia, editor-in-chief
Call Number: D14 .G75 1991

ISBN: 0313273286

Contains over 600 biographical listings of historians from more than 35 countries. Includes cross referencing and indexes.
A Student’s Guide to History by Jules R. Benjamin
Call Number: D16 .A1 B4 1998

ISBN: 0312149778

Includes valuable tips about finding, evaluating, and citing Internet resources, as well as useful guides to electronic reference sources and specialized history sites.

Political History

Presidential Elections, 1789-2000 by Congressional Quarterly, Inc.
Call Number: JK524 .C65 2002

ISBN: 1568027907

Covers elections for each president as well as the overall process from start to finish. Provides national maps, voting records, and biographies of presidents and vice presidents.
Speeches of the American Presidents by Janet Podell, Steven Anzovin, editors
Call Number: J81.4 .S64 2001

ISBN: 0824210069

Includes more than 200 major speeches by the 43 U.S. presidents, from Washington through George W. Bush. Each chapter covers the president's career and speaking style. Context is provided for each speech.
United States Presidential Elections, 1788-1860: The Official Results by County and State by Michael J. Dubin
Call Number: JK524 .D778 2002

ISBN: 0786410175

Listed by state and county, entries provide each candidate's name, party, the number of votes received, and the percentage of total votes. An introductory note describes the history of voting for presidential electors and the influence of political parties. Maps showing presidential election districts are also included.

Modern History

A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century World History by Jan Palmowski
Call Number: D419 .P32 1997

ISBN: 0192800167

2,500 entries on significant people, events, and movements. Several useful tables are provided, including lists of office-holders and winners of the Nobel peace prize.
Europe 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World by Jonathan Dewald, editor in chief
Call Number: D209 .E97 2004 (Reference)

ISBN: 068431200X

Contains 1,125 articles arranged alphabetically. Entries include biographies, in-depth essays on major topics, and profiles of city-states, empires, and geographical regions.
The Oxford Companion to World War II by I.C.B. Dear, general editor
Call Number: R D 740 .O94 1995

ISBN: 0198662254

1,700 entries that range from brief identification to in-depth articles. Coverage is comprehensive and maps, charts, graphs, and photographs are found throughout.
Term Paper Resource Guide to Twentieth-Century World History by Michael D. Richards and Philip F. Riley
Call Number: D421 .R47 2000 (Ready-Ref)

ISBN: 0313305595

provides students and their teachers with 600 term paper ideas and cites more than a thousand print and nonprint sources on the 100 most important events that have shaped 20th-century world history. Each entry consists of a capsule description of the event, suggestions for research papers about the event and a wide-ranging annotated bibliography.

American History

This is not an all inclusive list but by noting the call numbers, you will be able to browse the shelves to find additional material on that subject area.

Alabama Bibliography: Books, Articles, Theses, Dissertations by Ralph N. Brannen
Call Number: F326 .A05 B72 1996

This bibliography offers assistance to helping Alabamians gain find information about Alabama's past. The author writes that this "bibliography should be classified as select with emphasis on secondary sources. Published primary sources have been included. The time span extends from the period of European exploration in the 16th century through the year 1994".
American Popular Culture: A Guide to the Reference Literature by Frank W. Hoffmann
Call Number: E169.1 .H72 1995

ISBN: 1563081423

Organized by types of information sources, the book selectively covers guides to the literature of popular culture. Each section is arranged by subject.
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by David S. Heidler and Jeanne T. Heidler, editors
Call Number: E468 .E53 2000 (Reference)

ISBN: 1576070662

An award winning and highly recommended comprehensive reference set on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War. Over 1,600 entries.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations by Bruce W. Jentleson and Thomas G. Paterson, editors
Call Number: E183.7 .E53 1997

ISBN: 0195110552

Examines the ways in which Americans and their government have interacted with the world. 1,024 articles by American and foreign scholars. Extensive cross-referencing and a comprehensive index.
The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America by John Mack Faragher, editor
Call Number: E188 .E63 1996

ISBN: 0306806878

1500 entries covering the entire colonial period, from the earliest settlements in 1600 through the American Revolution to nationhood under the Articles of Confederation in 1781.
The Guide to United States Popular Culture by Ray B. Browne and Pat Browne, editors
Call Number: E169.1 .D399 2001 (Reference)

ISBN: 0879728213

1,600 entries, arranged alphabetically, ranging in length from 140 to 1,500 words. Covers popular music, literature, movies, television, magazines, comic strips, sports, material culture, activities, events, and individuals important to these areas.
Historic Events for Students: The Great Depression by Richard C. Hanes, editor
Call Number: E806 .G827 2002 (Reference)

ISBN: 0787657018

Designed for high-school students, this set presents the Great Depression in terms of 45 key topics arranged alphabetically from American Indians to Tennessee Valley Authority.
Term Paper Resource Guide to Twentieth-Century United States History by Robert Muccigrosso, Ron Blazek, and Teri Maggio
Call Number: E741 .M83 1999

ISBN: 0313300968

Entries on 100 of the most important events and developments in twentieth-century U.S. history, in chronological order. Each entry consists of a short description of the event, followed by five specific suggestions for term papers about the event, and a wide-ranging annotated bibliography of 15-35 books, articles, videos, and a web site appropriate for student research.
They Too Call Alabama Home: African-American Profiles, 1800-1999 by Richard Bailey
Call Number: E185.96 .B25 1999 (Reference)

ISBN: 096718830X

An examination of the contributions to American life made by more than 300 individuals, all of whom have ties to Alabama.

Asian History

Conflict in Korea: An Encyclopedia by James Hoare and Susan Pares
Call Number: DS916 .H62 1999

ISBN: 0874369789

Focus on a historical view of the divisions in the peninsula that have led to present-day tensions rather than on the 1950-53 conflict. The alphabetically arranged entries cover Korean history from early times to the present but emphasize 20th-century developments.
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Spencer C. Tucker, editor
Call Number: DS557.7 .E53 2000

ISBN: 0195135245

This comprehensive political, social, and military history of Vietnam has been condensed from a three-volume edition into this affordable, single volume, which includes more than 900 alphabetically arranged entries, 200 primary source documents, and more than 70 illustrations and maps.
Historical Dictionary of the Vietnam War by Edwin E. Moïse
Call Number: DS557.7 .M63 2001

ISBN: 0810841835

Deals comprehensively with both military and political aspects of the war, and with the events-especially those from 1954 onward - that led up to it. More than 600 detailed entries.
Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia by Norman Roth, editor
Call Number: DC124 .M386 2003 (Reference)

ISBN: 0415937124

More than 100 entries, each a few pages in length and some much longer. Each entry includes cross references and a current bibliography.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World by John L. Esposito, editor in chief
Call Number: DS35.53 .O95 1995 (Reference)

ISBN: 0195066138

750 articles by 450 scholars from around the world, focusing on the last 200 years.

European History

Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Culture: French Culture 1900-1975 by Catharine Savage Brosman, editor
Call Number: DC33.7 .F726 1995

ISBN: 0810384825

Focuses on high culture, with some attention given to historical and social context. Most entries are biographical; others treat institutions, newspapers or magazines, schools of thought, theaters, etc.
Historical Dictionary of Latvia by Andrejs Plakans
Call Number: DK504.37 .P58 1997

ISBN: 0810832925

Presents entries on political events and their players, agencies and organizations, regions and locations, movements, artists, writers, scientists, and other contributors to Latvian culture. Includes a simple map, a chronology, and an introductory survey of the country's history.
Historical Dictionary of Hungary by Steven Béla Várdy
Call Number: DS904 .V37 1997 (Reference)

ISBN: 0810832542

Alphabetically arranged entries cover Hungarian history from 2000 B.C. to the current, post-communist period, focusing primarily on historical and political aspects. Includes a few maps, a glossary, and a chronology.
Historical Dictionary of the United Kingdom by Kenneth J. Panton and Keith A. Cowland
Call Number: DA34 .P36 1997

ISBN: 0810850915

Concise dictionary entries as well as a handy overview of geography and history of the country, a chronology, lists of monarchs and prime ministers, several maps, and an appendix of entries that will appear in the forthcoming second volume.

Historical Atlases

Atlas of early American history : the Revolutionary era, 1760-1790 by Long, John Hamilton; Petchenik, Barbara Bartz; Cappon, Lester Jesse
Call Number: G1201 .S3 A8 1976 (Map Case N-2)

Published for the Newberry Library and the Institute of Early American History and Culture by the Princeton University Press
Atlas of Westward Expansion by Alan Wexler
Call Number: G1201 .S1 W44 1995

ISBN: 0816026602

Traces the history of US territorial expansion, from the 1750 founding of Fort Cumberland to the early 20th century. Includes black-and-white illustrations and photographs.
The Complete Atlas of World History by John Haywood, editor
Call Number: G1030 .C66 1997

ISBN: 1563248549

Gives comprehensive coverage from 4,000,000 B.C. to the present. there are 56 maps in each volume.
Historical atlas of Africa by General editors, J.F. Ade Ajayi & Michael Crowder ; geographical editor, Paul Richards ; linguistic editor, Elizabeth Dunstan, cartographic designer, Alick Newman.
Call Number: G2446 .S1 H5 1985 (Map cases on N2)

ISBN: 0521253535

Contains photographs and multicolor maps.Its three main types of maps (showing "events,'' "historical processes,'' and "numerical data'') cover 71 subjects ranging from "Relief and rainfall,'' to "Distribution of Late Stone Age industries,'' the "African diaspora,'' and "Decolonization and independence.'' Additionally, the narrative accompanying each map is enough to qualify this work as a history text.
Historical Atlas of Alabama by W. Craig Remington and Thomas J. Kallsen, editor
Call Number: G1340 .H57 1997

This atlas contains place names of current cities and towns and historic points of communication and commerce. Maps of each of Alabama's 67 counties are included and the larger counties contain more maps.
The historical atlas of political parties in the United States Congress, 1789-1989 by Kenneth C. Martis, author and editor ; Ruth Anderson Rowles, cartographer ; Gyula Pauer, production cartographer.
Call Number: G1201 .F9 M26 1989 (Map cases on N2)

ISBN: 0029201705

Contains detailed multicolored maps which point out new possibilities for historical inquiry. The dynamics of local, regional, and national elections are made graphically evident. The party affiliation of each member of Congress is clarified, with sources cited. The introductory section helps place the vast amount of information (the bibliography lists 700 sources) conveyed by the atlas's maps and statistical pie charts into proper historical and political context.
Historical atlas of the United States by National Geographic Society (U.S.)
Call Number: G1201 .S1 N3 1988(Map cases on N2)

ISBN: 0870447483

Contains historical photos and art together with NGS's splendid cartography, charts, drawings, and photos. 380 maps, 450 photos, and 140,000 words. Topics are: the land, people, boundaries, economy, transport and communication, and communities.
The historical atlas of United States Congressional districts, 1789-1983 by Author and editor, Kenneth C. Martis ; cartographer and assistant editor, Ruth Anderson Rowles ; compilation draftsmen, David Durham, Brian Raber, Thomas Kokernak ; research assistants, Rowland Dent ... [et al.]
Call Number: G1201 .F9 M3 1982 (Map cases on N2)

ISBN: 0029201500

Based on: The Atlas of congressional roll calls / prepared by the Historical Records Survey in New York City, 1938-39 and New Jersey, 1940-42.
Mapping America’s Past by Mark C. Carnes and John A. Garraty
Call Number: G1201 .S1 C3 1996

ISBN: 0805049274

Begins with pre-Columbian America and proceeds through colonial America, the Civil War, the Gilded Age, the early 20th century, post-war America, and current issues through the election of 1994. Arrangement is in nine sections which are subdivided into 120 topics.
The official atlas of the Civil War by United States. War Dept.
Call Number: G1201 .S5 U6 1958 (Map cases N2)

Reproduction, slightly reduced, of the atlas originally issued in 3 vols. to accompany the War Dept.'s The War of the Rebellion. Original title page reads: Atlas to accompany the official records of the Union and Confederate Armies.
Philip's atlas of world history by Philip's Map Studio.
Call Number: G1030 .P57 1999B (Map cases on N2)

ISBN: 0195215672

The Atlas of World History traces 12,000 years of history with 450 full color maps and over 200,000 words of text. In addition, more than 200 illustrations and tables complement the fascinating chronological narrative written by dozens premiere scholars.
The Routledge Historical Atlas of the American South by Andrew K. Frank
Call Number: G1281 .S5 F7 1999

ISBN: 041592135X

Coverage spans from the first European settlers and resultant Native American migrations up through modern times. Includes 50 color maps.
The West Point atlas of American Wars. by Chief editor: Vincent J. Esposito. With an introductory letter by Dwight D. Eisenhower.
Call Number: G1201 .S1 U5 1959 V.1 and V.2 (Map case N2)

v. 1. 1689-1900.--v. 2. 1900-1953.
The West Point atlas of American wars by Compiled by the Department of Military Art and Engineering, the United States Military Academy ; chief editor Vincent J. Esposito
Call Number: G1201 .S1 U5 1995 V.1 (Map case on N2)

ISBN: 0805033912

Newly revised and updated, definitive altas of American wars covers the every major conflict in which the United States participated from 1869 to 1900, including the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812, and the Civil War.

Latin America History

Americas : the changing face of Latin America and the Caribbean by Winn, Peter
Call Number: F1414 .W56 2006

ISBN: 0520245016

According to the reviewer Americas is the most authoritative history available of contemporary Latin America and the Caribbean.
The Cambridge history of Latin America by Bethell, Leslie
Call Number: F1410 .C1834 1984 V. 1 to V. 3

ISBN: 0521232236

v. 1-2. Colonial Latin America -- v. 3. From independence to c1870
The contemporary history of Latin America by Tulio Halperín Donghi ; edited and translated by John Charles Chasteen
Call Number: F1410 .H23413 1993

ISBN: 0822313561

Translated from the 13th edition of what has become the standard history of Latin American since it was first published in 1967. Includes a new epilogue and a bibliography for English readers. The coverage has been extended into the 1980s only in a concluding survey chapter.
A history of Latin America : c. 1450 to the present by Bakewell, P. J. (Peter John), 1943-
Call Number: F1410 .B175 2004

ISBN: 0631231617

Now in its second edition, this history of South and Central America provides new coverage of twentieth-century developments in politics, diplomacy, and economics, as well as social and cultural life.
Independence in Spanish America [electronic resource] : civil wars, revolutions, and underdevelopment by Kinsbruner, Jay
Call Number: JC311 K561 1994 EBOOK

ISBN: 0585351414

This new edition, revised and enlarged to take account of recently published studies as well as a rethinking of certain prevailing views, is a compelling reinterpretation of the independence era. The turbulent history of the independence movements is set forth with attention to key figures and their ideologies, regional differences, and the legacy of underdevelopment left by the wars of independence.
Latin America and its people by Martin, Cheryl English
Call Number: F1410 .M294 2008

ISBN: 0205520537

Written by two of the leading scholars in the field, Cheryl Martin and Mark Wasserman, Latin America and Its People presents a fresh interpretative survey of Latin American history from pre-Columbian times to the beginning of the twenty-first century. It examines the many institutions that Latin Americans have built and rebuilt - families, governments, churches, political parties, labor unions, schools, and armies - through the lives of the people who forged these institutions.
Modern Latin America by Skidmore, Thomas E.
Call Number: F1413 .S55 2005 and F1413 .S55 2005 EBOOK

ISBN: 019517013X

Prologue. Why Latin America -- The colonial foundations, 1492-1880s -- The transformation of modern Latin America, 1880s-2000s -- Argentina : prosperity, deadlock, and change -- Chile : socialism, repression, and democracy -- Brazil : development for whom? -- Peru : soldiers, oligarchs, and Indians -- Colombia : discord, civility, and violence -- Mexico : the taming of a revolution -- Cuba : late colony, first socialist state -- The Caribbean : colonies and mini-states -- Central America : colonialism, dictatorship, and revolution -- Latin America, the United States and the world -- What future for Latin America?
Weaving the past [electronic resource] : a history of Latin America's indigenous women from the prehispanic period to the present by Kellogg, Susan
Call Number: E59 .W8 K45 2005 EBOOK

ISBN: 0195183282

Weaving the Past offers a comprehensive and interdisciplinary history of Latin America's indigenous women.

Women’s History

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World by Joyce E. Salisbury
Call Number: HQ1127 .S25 2001 (Reference)

ISBN: 1576070921

An extensive collection featuring both famous and everyday women, giving a well-rounded view of the lives of women in the ancient world.
The Encyclopedia of Women’s History in America by Kathryn Cullen-DuPont
Call Number: HQ1410 .C85 1996

ISBN: 0816026254

Over 500 entries examine virtually every aspect of the experiences, struggles and achievements of women in the US.
Handbook of American Women’s History by Angela Howard Zophy, editor
Call Number: HQ1410 .H36 1990

ISBN: 0824087445

Covers a wide range of topics: people, events, organizations, movements, and ideas. The signed articles average about half a page, are thoroughly cross-referenced, and refer as well to book-length treatments of the subject.
What American Women Did, 1789-1920 by Linda Miles Coppens
Call Number: HQ1154 .C665 2001

ISBN: 0786408995

Covers women's lives and accomplishments year-by-year from the emergence of the republic in 1789 through the passage of the 19th Amendment in 1920. Chapters on each year look at women's everyday lives in various areas. Includes historical photos plus tables of statistics.