English Language Learners

A dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initials.

Includes audio pronunciation guide, thesaurus, word games, and a Learner's Dictionary for ESL students.

When you know what something looks like but not what it’s called, the Visual Dictionary will help you match the word to the image.

A search engine for words and phrases, offering both definitions and translations. Indexes more than 900 online dictionaries.

The English language is forever changing. New words appear; old ones fall out of use or change their meanings. World Wide Words tries to record at least some part of this shifting wordscape by featuring new words, word histories, the background to words in the news, and the curiosities of native English speech.

This site features lessons based on current news stories. Lessons include the text of the story, along with reading, writing, and listening exercises. Lessons and news stories in MP3 format can be downloaded.

Reading exercises, learning strategies and quizzes to improve English reading comprehension.

English reading help including reading comprehension quizzes and tests, reading lesson plans, reading types and strategies.

Includes poetry, short stories with vocabulary and comprehension quizzes, and author biographies.

Contains over 250 of the best Internet resources for ESL students. All Web sites are clearly annotated. Organization is by skill area and language level. Click on Reading link for reading comprehension practice.

Practice activities in listening, writing, speaking, and life skills necessary for success at work and in the community. Click on the Practice English and Reading link for intermediate-level stories and activities.

This site offers a wide variety of resources for both English language teachers and learners. Students will find tools to improve grammar and vocabulary, as well as reading, writing, and listening skills. Teachers will find lesson plans, teaching techniques, and career information.

Basic rules of grammar, punctuation, capitalization, and writing numbers.

Grammar lessons with accompanying quizzes to check your understanding. Includes a glossary of grammar terms.

Covers use of capital letters, spelling rules, punctuation, sentence variety, peer editing, and plagiarism.

ESL Writing Exercises- Worksheets for Writing

Contains over 250 of the best Internet resources for ESL students. All Web sites are clearly annotated. Organization is by skill area and language level. Click on Writing and Grammar links.

Resource pages and handouts for English language learners and teachers.

Grammar help organized by level and skill type. The Word and Sentence category is particularly useful for English language learners.

Practice activities in listening, writing, speaking, and life skills necessary for success at work and in the community.

Click on an idiom for a sample paragraph providing a definition of the idiom and an illustration of how it is used.

Definitions, sample sentences, etymology, and synonyms.

Contains over 250 of the best Internet resources for ESL students. All Web sites are clearly annotated. Organization is by skill area and language level. Select the Vocabulary link.

A picture dictionary for beginning English, French, German, Spanish and Italian language learners.

Sound-integrated resources for 13 different languages (with a choice of 21 native language interfaces). Particularly helpful for vocabulary building and word pronunciation.

Spelling games and quizzes from Interesting Things for ESL Students