LibGuides: HY 300 Craft of History: Library Books

Library Faculty

Email Me

Contact:

M. Louis Salmon Library
Room 343A
301 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899

256-824-5781

Subjects: Ancient & Medieval Studies, Archives, Special Collections, and Digital Initiatives , Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, History

Books

Books, both print and online, are found through the library’s online catalog. For a general overview of the library’s collection on a specific topic, use the Words or Phrase or Subject search boxes. If the book is known, use either the Title or Author search. If few results are found on a topic, contact the Reference Librarian for help in refining the search.

Hint: To locate Primary Sources, put the word sources in the Subject field and your topic in the Words or Phrase field.

Example:

Atlases

Atlases are shelved both in the N-2 (North building, second floor) under G and in N-2 in the map cases located by the Faculty Resource Center (FRC).

Historical Atlases

Atlas of Westward Expansion by Alan Wexler
Call Number: G1201 .S1 W44 1995

ISBN: 0816026602

Traces the history of US territorial expansion, from the 1750 founding of Fort Cumberland to the early 20th century. Includes black-and-white illustrations and photographs.
The Complete Atlas of World History by John Haywood
Call Number: G1030 .C66 1997

ISBN: 1563248549

Publication Date: 1997-10-23

Gives comprehensive coverage from 4,000,000 B.C. to the present. there are 56 maps in each volume.
Historical Atlas of Alabama by W. Craig Remington and Thomas J. Kallsen, editor
Call Number: G1340 .H57 1997

This atlas contains place names of current cities and towns and historic points of communication and commerce. Maps of each of Alabama's 67 counties are included and the larger counties contain more maps.
Mapping America’s Past by Mark C. Carnes and John A. Garraty
Call Number: G1201 .S1 C3 1996

ISBN: 0805049274

Begins with pre-Columbian America and proceeds through colonial America, the Civil War, the Gilded Age, the early 20th century, post-war America, and current issues through the election of 1994. Arrangement is in nine sections which are subdivided into 120 topics.
The Routledge Historical Atlas of the American South by Andrew K. Frank
Call Number: G1281 .S5 F7 1999

ISBN: 041592135X

Coverage spans from the first European settlers and resultant Native American migrations up through modern times. Includes 50 color maps.

Historiography

The American Historical Association’s Guide to Historical Literature by Mary Beth Norton, general editor
Call Number: D20 .A64 1995

ISBN: 0195057279

Hundreds of historians from around the world have selected and provided commentary on the best and most useful works in their fields--almost 27,000 annotated citations--to provide unprecedented bibliographic guidance of extraordinary breadth, from prehistory to the twentieth century.
The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia by David Crystal, editor
Call Number: CT103 .C26 1998

ISBN: 0521630991

Covers more than 25,000 significant individuals, past and present, from around the world. Presented both alphabetically and in table form.
Great Historians from Antiquity to 1800 by Lucian Boia, editor-in-chief
Call Number: D14 .G74 1989

ISBN: 0313245177

Brief articles on the life and work of 600 historians from all over the world. Entries are arranged alphabetically by country or geographic area, and include brief bibliographies.
Great Historians of the Modern Age by Lucian Boia, editor-in-chief
Call Number: D14 .G75 1991

ISBN: 0313273286

Contains over 600 biographical listings of historians from more than 35 countries. Includes cross referencing and indexes.
A Student’s Guide to History by Jules R. Benjamin
Call Number: D16 .A1 B4 1998

ISBN: 0312149778

Includes valuable tips about finding, evaluating, and citing Internet resources, as well as useful guides to electronic reference sources and specialized history sites.