Skip to main content

High School Student Guide to M. Louis Salmon Library

Books & E-books

On the library website, click "Books & E-books" to search for both hard-copy and electronic books that are available in the library.  Our collection includes over 250,000 print books and over 70,000 electronic books, most of which are accessible via EBSCOhost, one of our primary e-book providers.

Books are arranged by the Library of Congress classification system.  Circulating books with call numbers A-HL are shelved on N-2 (north wing, 2nd floor), and call numbers HM-Z are shelved on N-3.  To learn more about call numbers and how they work, please click here

Below is an example of a book in our library catalog.  If you see the phrase "electronic resource" or EBOOK anywhere, you know it's an e-book.  To access it, click on the URL link (see circle) and it will take you to EBSCOhost's eBook collection. Otherwise, jot down the call number (see box) and, if this were not an e-book, you would go to the 3rd floor north building and look for the "Z" area and then 710.

Call number

To search only our e-books, from the library's website click on "Books & E-books" and then E-Books.

Where are the Journals?

On the Salmon Library website (, under Articles & Databases, click Find a Journal Title to search for full-text online & hard-copy journals by journal title.  UAH provides access to over 40,000 unique journal titles. If you are not sure about the different types of periodicals (scholarly vs. popular) or what peer review is, you can find more information here

High school students also have access to numerous online resources via the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL).

If you do not have a specific journal title you are wanting to search, click Online Databases to find articles online.  This page allows you to search databases by subject area or alphabetical order.  We also have provided a list of some quick start databases, which are great places to find academic research sources. Some popular databases include:

PDF or HTML Full-text?

PDF (Portable Document Format)


When used within a database, the PDF Full-Text option will allow users to see an article or resource as it originally appeared on the page.  This makes documenting a resource easier as one can easily identify page numbers and sections.


HTML (Hypertext Markup Language)


When used in databases as HTML-Full-Text, the user will receive the text of an article or resource as a block of text.  Paragraphs will usually be defined; however, many times pages will not be indicated and images will not be included.


The Verdict:


When you have a choice, choose the PDF format as it will make citing the resource easier.



Did you know?

Many databases offer free personalized accounts so that you can save searches and articles to help organize your research.  For example, with the EBSCO databases, your account allows you to:

  • Save preferences
  • Organize your research with folders
  • Share your folders with others
  • View others' folders
  • Save and retrieve your search history
  • Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds
  • Gain access to your saved research remotely