Search Google Books
Send Us Feedback
Books
Books, both print and electronic, are found in the library by checking the online catalog, Ilink. Searches may be made by author, title, subject or Words or Phrase. If there are few results for the search, contact the Reference Librarian for help in finding the best subject term or more information.
Reference
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms - American Psychological Association
Call Number: HK1 .P651
ISBN/ISSN: 1557987750
New edition of a reference tool for use with the PsychINFO and ClinPSYC databases or Psychological Abstracts in order to advance scientific and professional knowledge in and about psychology and related disciplines. Sections include developments of this edition (new postable and nonpostable terms, status terms, changes to spelling or text, deletions, or terms receiving "mapping and stripping"); a user guide; and subject searching in PsycINFO. Also contains sections on relationship, rotated alphabetical terms, and term clusters.
The Corsini Eencyclopedia of Ppsychology and Behavioral Science - W. Edward Craighead and Charles B. Nemeroff, editors
Call Number: HK31 .E52 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0471239496
Over 1,200 entries in this edition, sixty percent of which are substantially revised or altogether new. Contributions from over seven hundred experts from around the world. Includes a bibliography of over 10,000 citations.
Stevens’ Handbook of Experimental Psychology - Stanley Stevens
Call Number: HK181 .H336
ISBN/ISSN: 0471443336
A fully updated, indispensable edition of the most reputable resource available in the field. Expanded to include in-depth material on methodology, behavioral genetics, and more. Volume 1: Sensation and Perception; Volume 2: Memory and Cognitive Processes; Volume 3: Learning, Motivation, and Emotion; and Volume 4: Methodology in Experimental Psychology.
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences - Robert A. Wilson and Frank C. Keil, editor
Call Number: HK311 .M556
ISBN/ISSN: 026273124X- Intelligence: Tests and Reviews - Oscar Krisen Buros, editor
Call Number: HK431 .A05 I5
ISBN/ISSN: 0910674175
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures - Bert A. Goldman, John L. Saunders, John C. Busch, editors
Call Number: HK431 .G625 1996
ISBN/ISSN: 1557983364
Identifies and describes noncommercial psychological measures from the fields of psychology, sociology, and education that have been devised by researchers and published in 36 top journals.
Personality: Tests and Reviews - Oscar Krisen Buros, editor
Call Number: HK698.5 .B87
ISBN/ISSN: 0910674108
A comprehensive bibliography on the construction, use, and validity of 513 personality tests, critical reviews of 386 personality tests by specialists in psychology and testing, and 136 excerpts from personality test reviews originally published in professional journals, and 268 excerpts from reviews of books dealing with specific personality tests.- Measures for Psychological Assessment: A Guide to 3,000 Original Sources and Their Applications - Ki-Taek Chun, Sidney Cobb, John R. P. French, Jr.
Call Number: HK698.5 .C45
ISBN/ISSN: 0879441682
A compilation of annotated references to social science measures and is designed to facilitate the search for and retrieval of appropriate measurement information in several fields of interest. This work is useful for finding older sources prior to 1975.
Handbook of Child Psychology - William Damon, editor
Call Number: HK721 .H242
ISBN/ISSN: 0471178934
This four-volume handbook is the definitive reference in the field of child development. It serves as a sourcebook, encyclopedia, and research review.
The Encyclopedia of Child Abuse - Robin E. Clark and Judith Freeman Clark
Call Number: HV6626.5 .C57
ISBN/ISSN: 0816040605
Over 400 entries. Appendices include lists of important organizations and clearinghouses, web sites, information on the role of drug and alcohol abuse, and state-by-state definitions of abuse and neglect and grounds for termination of parental rights.
Child Abuse: A Multidisciplinary Survey - Byrgen Finkelman, editor
Call Number: HV6626.52 .C54
ISBN/ISSN: 0815318197
This series of 10 volumes covers virtually the entire history of child abuse study. This is a set essentially of reprinted articles, arranged chronologically - a setup that fills in a timeline of research and early efforts toward prevention.
Copyright Law of the United States - Library of Congress Copyright Office.
Call Number: KF2994 .A1 C6
Issues for <1909-49> include "Rules adopted by the Supreme Court of the United States for practice and procedure."
Education and the Law - Bonnie B. Taylor
Call Number: KF4117 .T39
ISBN/ISSN: 0874368138
An encyclopedia of the issues and ideas affecting education law covering topics from relatively innocuous hair codes to strip searching. The reference provides an extensive introduction to the development of education law and the role of government in public education from the national to the local level The dictionary entries center on key issues, concepts, terms, Supreme Court decisions, and related agencies and organizations.
Higher Education in the United States: An Encyclopedia - James J.F. Forest and Kevin Kinser, editors
Call Number: LA225 .H54
ISBN/ISSN: 1576072487
Surveys the changing landscape of American higher education, from academic freedom to virtual universities, from campus crime to Pell Grants, from the Student Privacy Act to student diversity.
Digest of Education Statistics - U.S. Bureau of Educational Research and Development
Call Number: L 111 .A6
A compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
The Condition of Education - National Center for Educational Statistics
Call Number: L112 .N377
Summarizes important developments and trends in education using the latest available data. The report presents 43 indicators on the status and condition of education, in five main areas: (1) participation in education; (2) learner outcomes; (3) student effort and educational progress; (4) the contexts of elementary and secondary education; and (5) the contexts of postsecondary education.- American Universities and Colleges - Aaron John Brumbaugh
Call Number: L901 .A5
Peterson’s Graduate Programs in Business, Education, Health, information Studies, Law and Social Work - Peterson's
Call Number: L901 .P447
Provides wide-ranging information on the graduate and professional programs offered by accredited colleges and universities in the United States and U.S. territories and those in Canada, Mexico, Europe, and Africa that are accredited by U.S. accrediting bodies.- The Encyclopedia of Higher Education - Burton R. Clark and Guy R. Neave, editors
Call Number: LB15 .E49
ISBN/ISSN: 0080372511
More than 300 articles and essays. Volume 1 is country reports; it includes more than 135 analyses of national systems of higher education. Volumes 2 and 3 present over 120 analytical papers. Volume 4 is analytical accounts of the changing nature of higher education. It also includes comprehensive subject and author indexes.
Encyclopedia of Educational Research - Marvin C. Alkin, editor
Call Number: LB15 .E48
ISBN/ISSN: 0029004314
The standard general reference in its field for critical synthesis and interpretation of reported educational research from pre-school. 257 signed articles organized under 16 broad topic headings, and can be accessed alphabetically by entry or alternatively by subject category.- Education Literature: 1907-1932 - Malcolm Hamilton
Call Number: LB7 .A05 E3
ISBN/ISSN: 0824037006
Reprint of "Bibliography of education for 1907-1911/12" and "United States. Office of Education. Record of current educational publications, Jan. 1912-Jan./Mar. 1932" published by the U.S. Govt. Print. Off., Washington, 1908- 15 and 1912-32 respectively, chiefly as Bulletins of the U.S. Office of Education; with a new cumulative index
400 Quotable Quotes From the World’s Leading Educators - Frank Sennett, editor
Call Number: LB41 .A11
ISBN/ISSN: 0761931503
From Roland Barth to Harry Wong, this book" "showcases the world's leading educators-including their groundbreaking thoughts, inspirational quotes, and penetrating insights.
Handbook of Research on Teacher Education - John Sikula, editor
Call Number: LB1715 .H274
ISBN/ISSN: 0028971949
Reference and resource guide featuring 48 essays written by education scholars who concentrate on current challenges facing educators. Includes discussions of teacher selection and preparation, education research and education, diversity and equity issues, and emerging directions in teacher education.
Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools - Elizabeth A. Kaye
Call Number: LB1771 .W6
This annual volume offers the most complete and current listings of the requirements for certification of a wide range of educational professionals at the elementary and secondary levels.
Academic Keywords - Cary Nelson and Stephen Watt
Call Number: LB2324 .N45 1999
ISBN/ISSN: 041592202X
More of an encyclopedia, with nearly 50 articles weighing in at several pages each. They combine scathing humor with serious criticism of the academic system, respect and praise for some elements of it, to begin thinking differently about the process, hope for reform, and practical measures to take. Among the entries are academic freedom, downsizing, mentoring, responsibility-centered management, and yuppies. Mildly cross- referenced.
Tests in Print - Linda L. Murphy, James C. Impara, Barbara S. Plake, editors
Call Number: LB3051 .T37
ISBN/ISSN: 0910674515
Contains information on over four thousand instruments. Along with a brief description, entries include population, scoring, pricing, publisher information, and a reference list of professional literature citing articles relevant to individual instruments. Indexes of titles, classified subjects, names, and scores, as well as a publishers directory and index are included, with notations for out-of-print instruments. Information is given for tests in a wide range of areas.
Literacy in America: An Encyclopedia of History, Theory and Practice - Barbara J. Guzzetti, editor
Call Number: LC151 .L487
ISBN/ISSN: 1576073580
Covers all concepts of literacy, including visual and media literacy and post-typographical text. Provides insight into how the science of literacy and its instruction have advanced in the recent past. Contains over 400 entries.
Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education - Cecil R. Reynolds, Elaine Fletcher-Janzen, editors
Call Number: LC4007 .E53
ISBN/ISSN: 0471392618
Includes alphabetized entries that cover the gamut of special education research and practice, featuring dozens of biographies, reviews of assessment instruments and teaching approaches, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities, and more.
Learning Disabilities Sourcebook - Linda M. Shin, editor
Call Number: LC4705 .L434
ISBN/ISSN: 0780802101
Provides a general overview of the range of conditions known as learning disabilities, such as autism, dyslexia, hyperactivity, and attention deficit disorder, along with reports on current research initiatives.
Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning - Anna DiStefano, Kjell Erik Rudestam, Robert J. Silverman, editors
Call Number: LC5211 .E52
ISBN/ISSN: 0761924515
174 entries on topics relevant to educators, librarians, information technology and training specialists, along with a reader's guide. Appendices include an annotated list of major college-level and other distributed learning programs, resources, and conferences.- Social Sciences Index
Call Number: H1 .S64
Indexes articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. - Education Index
Call Number: LB1028 .E386
Index of education-related articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere.
Subject Guide |
Lisa HullettContact Info:
Office: Library, 119
(256) 824-2185
Send Email
Subjects:
Communication Arts, Education, English, History, Political Science, Sociology
Office: Library, 119
(256) 824-2185
Send Email
Subjects:
Communication Arts, Education, English, History, Political Science, Sociology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait