LibGuides: Biotechnology Science and Engineering: Databases

Important Note regarding SciFinder database (CAS)

NOTE: If you plan to use the new and updated SciFinderⁿ database (AKA "Scifinder-n" on web pages that don't support the superscript " ⁿ"), please note that this is available ONLY for current UAH students/faculty/staff.

If you are a UAH student, you can set up an account through this link.

Visit our SciFinder Library Guide for more information about using this resource.

****************************************************************************************

NOTE: Because SciFinderⁿ is the new interface from CAS, they have recently provided a series of free webinars to introduce how to use the new SciFinderⁿ interface.

If you are interested in viewing any of the recorded webinars, you can find that menu here.

You can also sign up to view future CAS webinars on SciFinderⁿ.

Search Google Scholar

Subject-Specific Databases

Abstracts in New Technologies
Provides abstracting and indexing of 350 academic and trade publications from the U.K. and the U.S. Coverage includes information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, and engineering.
American Chemical Society Journals
ACS Publications provides abstracts and full text for journals and magazines from the American Chemical Society. This site is the source for 1879-1995 ACS journal articles, known as the ACS Legacy Archives.
arXiv.org e-Print Archive
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Submissions to arXiv should conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is funded by Cornell University Library, the Simons Foundation and by the member institutions.
ASTM Compass
ASTM International is one of the largest voluntary standards development organizations in the world-a trusted source for technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
NCBI Bookshelf
The NCBI Bookshelf is a collection of biomedical books that can be searched directly. Access to the full text of over 30 books are available. Books are also linked to terms in PubMed abstracts. Hosted by the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Neurosciences Abstracts
This succinct, readable journal enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other specialties of biomedicine. The journal covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's. The new special topics section will feature, on a regular basis, bibliographic updates on a variety of hot topics.
Oxford Reference Library, Science & Technology
Primo Pathfinder
Primo Pathfinder is M. Louis Salmon Library's discovery service, provided by Proquest/Primo. It searches across many of our other databases and provides a number of tools to simplify your search process.
ProQuest SciTech Collection
This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.

Includes the Illustrata upgrade, which allows for deep indexing of charts and figures, helping to pinpoint vital research.
ScienceDirect
Provides access to the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier electronic journals in chemistry and chemical engineering; clinical medicine; computer science; earth and planetary sciences; economics, business, and management science; engineering, energy, and technology; environmental science and technology; life sciences; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy; and social science; as well as indexing and abstracting for electronic journals from other publishers.
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
The Chemical Abstracts® database includes over 17 million citations to the worldwide literature of chemistry and its applications from 1967 forward.
Scopus
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.

* Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts
* Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
* 70% of content is pulled from international sources
* Includes over 3 million conference papers
* Provides 100% Medline coverage
* Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research

Additional Journal Articles and Documents

In addition to the above box containing discipline-specific databases, the UAH library has an overall list of 300+ databases (link). Within that overall list, it is possible to view a shorter subset of databases (link) that may be useful across many areas of engineering.

Also, some of the following may be of use in your coursework:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
View Niche Tutorial! Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

UAH Digital Dissertations & Theses (Library Subject Guide)
Library page explaining how to search for UAH dissertations & theses (including a link to the ProQuest UAH Dissertations & Theses database).

NTIS (National Technical Information Service) This link opens in a new window
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) contains descriptions of U.S. government-sponsored, science and technology research from agencies such as DOD, DOE, DOT, EPA, and NASA. It covers work in the fields of astronomy, atmospheric science, biotechnology, computers, energy, engineering, environment, etc. You'll find reports on contracts and grants, technical memoranda, technical reports, dissertations, etc. Includes abstracts.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly is a world leading publishers in books about software, hardware, programming, design, certification, system administration, and many other topics. This online library includes the complete text of thousands of their highly rated books. It also includes access to O'Reilly answers to help you find answers to your questions by finding relevant sections of their most applicable materials.
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
PapersFirst is an index of papers presented at conferences. It cites the papers from every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library Document Supply Centre. PapersFirst covers a wide range of subjects.
ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window
ProceedingsFirst is an index of conference proceedings. It cites the printed proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received at The British Library Document Centre. ProceedingsFirst covers a wide range of subjects.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic combines all four of ProQuest’s multidisciplinary products on the ProQuest platform (ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete, and Academic Video Online).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Our coverage is from 2003-2011. This database from Thomson Scientific is the online version of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It is an invaluable tool for citation searching (following research through the years) and determining who is citing your work. Provides seamless access to current and retrospective multi disciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research, peer-reviewed journals in the world. Current access goes back to 2003.
Wiley Online Journals (Select Titles Only) This link opens in a new window
UAH provides access to only select Wiley journals via this platform. If you know a specific Wiley published journal you'd like to search within, please use our "Browse Journals" feature on the library homepage, under the "Books and Articles" tab on the left side of the page.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.