LibGuides: Finding Biographical Information: General Sources

Biographical Reference Books and Databases

This guide does not present a comprehensive list of titles in the Reference Collection. These titles were selected to provide broad, well balanced coverage within their categories. Consult a research librarian for assistance in locating other titles, particularly those with very specific coverage, if the ones listed do not meet your needs.

Biographical Master Indexes

New York Times Index, 1851-2000

Call Number: Located: Lower Level

Includes obituaries (listed under Deaths). Salmon Library has a complete run of the New York Times newspaper from 1918 - Feb. 2001 on microfilm. See also the New York Times Obituaries Index (CT213 .N47 and CT213 .N471)

The following is a selected list of titles that provide broad coverage. Other master indexes are available covering a variety of specific topics. Consult a research librarian for assistance in locating other titles, if the ones listed below do not meet your needs.

Books in the Library

Current Biography Yearbook 2010 by Clifford Thompson (Editor); Miriam Helbok (Editor); Mari Rich (Editor); Bertha Muteba (Editor); Christopher Cullen (Editor); William Dvorak (Editor); H. W. Wilson Company Staff
Call Number: Ref CT100 .C8 2010
ISBN: 9780824211134
Publication Date: 2010
International in scope. Prominent individuals in their fields. Articles approximately 2500 words, and include portraits and references. Recent obituaries included. Published monthly with annual cumulations in the Current Biography Yearbook. Monthly issues indexed alphabetically; yearbooks indexed by occupation and include alphabetic indexing for current and previous years. Located in Reference section.
International Who's Who by Europa Publications Limited.
Call Number: Ref CT120 .I5 NO.74 2011
Short entries with basic information on approximately 20,000 prominent living people. Coverage began in 1935. Also lists reigning royal families by country. Arranged alphabetically. Located in Reference section.
Merriam-Webster's Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: CT103 .M47 1995
ISBN: 0877797439
Publication Date: 1995
International in scope. Provides short entries with basic information on 30,000 important deceased people. Cross-references included. Arranged alphabetically.
Who's Who in America by Marquis, Albert Nelson
Call Number: Ref E663 .W56 2011 V.65
Containing approximately 93,000 biographies of the nation's most noteworthy people in a single, comprehensive resource. Located in Reference section.

Biography Databases

We have several excellent databases to use for biographical research. From the databases listed below you will be able to retrieve reports and articles. If you need help using the databases, please call the Research Help Desk (256-824-6529) or come by and see one of the Research Librarians.

Contemporary Authors Online This link opens in a new window
A database that provides biographical information on more than 100,000 current writers in a wide range of media, as well as writers who were active prior to 1960 and whose works continue to influence contemporary literature.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Literary Biography is the online version of the print reference series with the same name. The DLB provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of authors from all eras and genres.
Encyclopedia Britannica (Public Edition) This link opens in a new window
includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam- Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Includes more than 72,000 articles, 10,000 illustrations and 75,000 definitions.

Great Neck Biographies

NetLibrary (Ebsco eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window
Now EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online Premium brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.The Core Collection contains Access to the full text of over 130 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource.
Scribner's Writers Series This link opens in a new window
Scribner's includes some 1,600 full-text articles on writers and literary genres.
Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new window
Twayne includes literary criticism by scholars on 600 authors.