LibGuides: Drama: Resources

Online Resources

Online resources include online journals, websites, periodical indexes and databases (which may contain full-text articles) and electronic books (listed in the library catalog). The online resources may be accessed through the UAH Library Homepage. Click on the
Online Databases link to search the contents of journals or click on the Journals link to find specific journal titles.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,100 scholarly interdisciplinary publications of interest to students and scholars of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Covering history, languages, and literature, this database indexes journal articles, reviews, and books.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. Subjects covered include: African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist studies, film studies, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, science, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Oxford University Press Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 100 Oxford University Press Journals in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. Salmon Library subscription includes content through 2023. For other content, request through Article Galaxy Scholar.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 400 electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Back issue archives are available, with some titles beginning with volumes as early as 1993.

Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection
The Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection furthers the understanding of human beings within their material and social environments through the study of textiles of artistic, cultural, and historic significance. Our mission is to provide educational resources both within the University and beyond.
Shakespeare Animated
Shakespeare Animated is a YouTube channel containing twelve playlists ten of which are animated adaptations of Shakespeare's most famous plays. Some of the animated plays that appear in the Shakespeare Animated playlist are Romeo and Juliet, Hamlet, MacBeth, and The Taming of the Shrew.
Museum of the Moving Image
Museum of the Moving Image advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media. It does so by collecting, preserving, and providing access to moving-image related artifacts, screening significant films and other moving-image works, presenting exhibitions of artifacts, artworks, and interactive experiences, and offering educational and interpretive programs to students, teachers, and the general public.

Finding a Play

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes PoemFinder, EssayFinder, PlayFinder, SpeechFinder, and ShortStoryFinder. Indexes poetry, essays, stories, etc., from 1,800 anthologies, 2,600 single-author works, and over 4,000 periodicals. Searching for word or word combinations in titles, first and last lines in poems, book title, author, and thousands of designated subjects. International in scope and includes poetry from antiquity to the present.
formerly: Artemis

• Library Catalog
To find a particular play in the catalog, do an author search to see whether the library has a collection of plays by that author.

Sources of Criticism

An individual play may not be the subject of an entire book or article. In these cases, it would be better to search for a criticism of the playwright’s work in general.

Go to the Library Catalog.