Shakespeare

More than 200 articles combine rich historical detail with informative descriptions on the form and function of obscure and everyday items from Shakespeare's world.

Offers new essays that deal with both traditional subjects and more recently developed topics revealing the influence of new historicism and cultural materialism. Well indexed, with illustrations and useful topical reading lists at the end of each essay.

A collection of critical and historical essays on the films adapted from, and inspired by, Shakespeare's plays. An international team of leading scholars consider specific issues such as the portrayal of Shakespeare's women and the supernatural. The emphasis is on feature films for cinema, rather than television, with strong coverage of Hamlet, Richard III, Macbeth, King Lear and Romeo and Juliet. A guide to further reading and a useful filmography are also included.

Presents a multidisciplinary range of approaches to a vast multimedia subject, Shakespeare on screen. Includes suggestions for further reading, a bibliography, a filmography, a chronology and a thorough index.

Index of hundreds of essays from various publications.

An alphabetical guide to Shakespeare's sexual language, with an introduction. Entries include quotes from specific plays and sonnets, and cross-references. Distributed by Humanities. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

To find books with criticism on a particular Shakespearean work, search the catalog using a Words or Phrase or Subject search. Terms to put into the search box include: Shakespeare or the title of the play and criticism or critical analysis. To find bibliographies, use the terms Shakespeare and Bibliography.

Spanning the historical and contemporary, and the literary and dramatic, this authoritative and illustrative 3,000-entry compendium is well constructed and solidly cross-referenced. This title is also available online.

This will give you a number of volumes in the series. You'll need to note the titles and the call numbers.

Here are attractive and accessible volumes of essential criticism of the playwright's most popularly studied plays in secondary schools and undergraduate curricula. Each play is treated with approximately 50 to 75 pages of text that includes an introduction, literary criticism and sources for further study.

Covering every character in all of Shakespeare's 38 plays, Characters includes act-by-act summaries, a "Modern Connections" discussion and character descriptions ranging from 25 to 1,500 words. Characters also features an introductory essay on Shakespeare's life, career and principal works.