The links below are provided to supplement your study of American environmental history. You are encouraged to rate the links and leave comments as you wish.
AirNow was developed by the US Environmental Protection Agency, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Park Service, and tribal, state, and local agencies to provide real-time access to national air quality information.
Not comprehensive, but a large number of entries, divided by: Native Americans and American Nature, European Antecedents, American Exploration and Natural History, the Romantic Age and the Cult of Nature, Environment and the Frontier, etc.
This site offers links pertaining to various environmental historical issues. Of particular interest is the Resources to Learning link that highlights a number of the Web pages and resources maintained by the museum.
ASEH is one of the most important environmental history organizations in North America. The Resources link provides connections not only to additional Web sites, but also to online essays concerned with various historiographical themes in environ. history
Very academic in its structure and content, this association’s Web site contains links to archaeological and related sites that are concerned with the environment.
The Canadian Museum of Nature, Canada’s national museum of natural history, has a free scientific database featuring open access to more than 710,000 records of plants, animals, fossils, and minerals that are part of the museum’s national collections.
Use this database to get information on chemical health and safety data received by EPA and EPA's assessments and regulatory actions for specific chemicals under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). ChemView contains no confidential business information (CBI).
It provides "citations to written works about the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and bordering communities from 1935 to the present" on an ongoing basis.
EJView, formerly known as the Environmental Justice Geographic Assessment Tool, is a mapping tool that allows users to create maps and generate detailed reports based on the geographic areas and data sets they choose.
This might be "selected," but it is extensive. Arranged geographically, with a number of subcategories. For example, American West is divided by: Indigenous Peoples and Exploration; Flora and Fauna; Water, Irrigation, and Reclamation; etc.
Though there may be some broken links on this site, the variety of links provided (ranging from local to national to international environmental history) makes this a useful site for researchers and students. From Berkeley.
Presents topics as wide ranging as public health, conservation, preservation of nature, smoke abatement, air pollution and water pollution, and generally the historical interaction between culture and nature. The emphasis of the site is on Europe.
Bill Kovarik of Radford University, Virginia, maintains this site. The time line portion of the site is very detailed, providing a good overview of world environmental history. The site also includes a useful bibliography of print resources.
Maintained by Wisconsin State University, this site attempts to meld environmental history with other subfields of history: women’s history, ethnic studies, regional studies, etc.
This site documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, photographs, etc.
H-Environment is part of the larger H-Net (History Network) system. This particular discussion chain on environmental history contains links to bibliographies, scholarly reviews of recent monographs, syllabi in environmental history universities, etc.
Operated by the National Humanities Center, this site offers useful short essays Each essay offers a strong general overview of key issues in American environmental history in addition to a number of useful links to various Web sites.
] The Historical Sea Ice Atlas is a timely resource that tracks an important indicator for climate change. It is a joint project of the Alaska Ocean Observing System, the Alaska Center for Climate Assessment and Policy, and the Scenarios Network for Alaska and Arctic Planning (SNAP), funded ultimately by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
Listing of approximately eighteen articles and books that define environmental history. Also on the site bibliographies of specific interest to California and the United States environmental history divided by regions.
