LibGuides: ED-115 : Effective Reading and Study Skills: Reference Books

Books in the Library

CIA World FactBook by Central Intelligence Agency
Call Number: G122 .U56 2012-13
ISBN: 02771527
This is also available online. Please scroll down to see that link.
Familiar quotations : a collection of passages, phrases, and proverbs traced to their sources in ancient and modern literature by Bartlett, John, 1820-1905.
Call Number: PN6081 .B27 1992
ISBN: 0316082775
Reference S-1.
Famous first facts: a record of first happenings, discoveries, and inventions in American history by Kane,Joseph Nathan; Anzovin, Steven & Podell, Janet
Call Number: E176.1 .K3 2001 EBOOK
ISBN: 0824210301
Famous First Facts, Seventh Edition by H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: AG5 .A69 2015
ISBN: 9781619254688
Publication Date: 2015-03-13
Reference S-1.
Official congressional directory by Michael, W. H.
Call Number: JK1011 2009-10 111TH
ISBN: 1598045075
Latest edition in Ready-Ref (behind the reference desk.) Older editions starting with 1936 74TH 2D are on N-3
The reader's encyclopedia by Benét, William Rose, 1886-1950.
Call Number: PN41 .B4 1965
One copy is located in Reference in S-1 and another in N-3. Often this is called "Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia" even though Benet's is not part of the title.
Readers' guide to periodical literature.
Call Number: AI3 .R4 (Vol. 1 - 39; 1900 - 1980) Located in the lower level of the Central Tower.
Available in storage
Statesman's Yearbook by Paxton, John.
Call Number: JA51 .S7 2011
ISBN: 00814601
Latest edition in Reference in S-1. Older editions (starting with 1955) are located on the 3rd floor of the north building.
Proquest Statistical abstract of the United States
Call Number: HA202 .A3
ISBN: 0160838843
Located in Ready-Ref behind the Reference Desk.
World Almanac and Book of Facts 2014 by Sarah Janssen (Editor)
Call Number: AY67 .N5 W7 2013
ISBN: 1600571824
Publication Date: 2013-11-26
Latest edition located in Ready-Ref (behind the reference desk.) Older editions starting in 1952 are located in N-2.
United States government manual (Washington, D.C. : 1973) by United States. Office of the Federal Register.
Call Number: JK421 .A3 2011 (Ready-Ref)
ISBN: 1598045164
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.

Books available online

CIA World FactBook This link opens in a new window

Official Congressional Directory
The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). Published since 1888, the Congressional Directory presents short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and additional data, such as committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers.
more...less...
It also lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.
United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.

Encyclopedias

We have encyclopedias on just about every subject but we don't have a lot of large volume sets.

Search the catalog for:

Your Topic and Encyclopedia

Example:

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica : Academic Edition
This online encyclopedia includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam- Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Includes more than 72,000 articles, 10,000 illustrations and 75,000 definitions.