LibGuides: ED-115 : Effective Reading and Study Skills: Newspapers

Online Newspapers

This is not a complete list of all the newspapers found in the databases.

Boston Globe
The Boston Globe is an American daily newspaper based in Boston, Massachusetts and it has been owned by The New York Times Company since 1993. The Boston Globe has won twenty Pulitzer Prizes. This is a ProQuest database.
Christian Science Monitor
The Christian Science Monitor (CSM) is an international newspaper published daily online, Monday to Friday, and weekly in print. It was started in 1908 by Mary Baker Eddy, the founder of the Church of Christ, Scientist. This is a ProQuest database.
Chronicling America - The Library of Congress
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Google News Newspaper Archive
In the archive you will find hundreds of newspapers that have been digitized for reading online. You can search for a specific newspaper by title or browse for articles by date and title.
New York Times
Coverage of the U.S. newspaper of record. Offers coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage: 1980-current. Articles in plain text. A ProQuest database.
more...less...
Lexis Nexis Academic News also has the New York Times from June 01, 1980 through current; the Final New York City Edition (full text); From January 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980
(abstracts); Also includes The New York Times on the Web online articles.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source from EBSCO contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Proquest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. WSJ through ProQuest offers full text of every article since 1984. Premimum access to WSJ thriugh its website also available. This is a ProQuest database.

Washington Post
Leading source for news, video and opinion on politics, business, world and national news, science, travel, entertainment and more. This is a ProQuest database.

Newspapers

Only the recent issue of USA Today is found in the Coffee Shop area. The other newspapers are available as Microfilm or in one of the Online Databases listed above.

Atlanta Constitution (Atlanta, Ga. : 1881)
Call Number: MICROFORMS (See Reference Desk for assistance )
Microfilm = Feb. 11, 1970-2000. Online version available.
Birmingham Post-Herald
Call Number: MICROFORMS (See Reference Desk for assistance)
ISBN: 10401571
Library has 1988-2000.
Huntsville Times
Call Number: MICROFILM (See Reference Desk for assistance)
Microfilm = Mar 23, 1928-Aug 1969; Oct 1969-Jul 15, 1970; Aug 1970-Mar 15, 1992; Apr 1972-Feb. 15, 2001.
Paper began published 3 times per week (Sunday, Wednesday and Friday) with additional news on al.com. This began October 2012.
The New York Times
Call Number: MICROFILM (See Reference Desk for assistance)
Microfilm = 1918-Feb 2001. Library has current month only in paper in Coffee Shop. Online version available.
Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition
Call Number: MICROFORMS (See Reference Desk for assistance)
ISBN: 00999660
Paper copies retained for current month only. Microfilm = 1961-2002. Online version available.