Artemis Literary Sources
This database contains biographical entries on more than 135,000 authors, from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism and other Gale sources, providing detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors' lives and works. There are more than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from over 390 scholarly journals and literary magazines. It also has more than 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews from Contemporary Literary Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, as well as Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Children's Literature Review.
In addition there are more than 11,000 overviews of frequently studied works, from sources including Gale's For Students series, Literature and Its Times and Characters in 20th-Century Fiction. There are also more than 30,000 full-text poems, short stories and plays, more than 8,500 interviews and nearly 5,000 links to selected Web sites and more than 2800 author portraits. This database gives you the ability to identify authors and works that share characteristics such as genre, time period, themes, nationality, ethnicity and gender. It also has Merriam-Webster's® Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring 10,000 definitions of literary terms. This database supports coursework and research in English, World Literatures, Film, Theater and across the Humanities.