ED-331 : Critical Issues in Special Education

This abridged edition of the Encyclopedia of special education provides a reference base for educators; professionals in psychology, neuropsychology, medicine, health care, social work, and law; and non- professionals interested in the subject.

This book provides an extensive introduction to the development of education law and the role of government in public education from the national to the local level.

An encyclopedia of the issues and ideas affecting education law covering topics from relatively innocuous hair codes to strip searching.

A dictionary of words and expressions used in the legal field, including Latin, words with different meanings in different areas of law, and words with different definitions in everyday English. Pronunciation is provided for lengthy words.

This volume contains 486 alphabetically arranged entries on a variety of influential people, underlying concepts, and important cases in American law. Aimed at scholars, legal professionals, and the general reader, the short essays discuss such topics as affirmative action, public defenders, professional ethics, criminal trial procedure, etc.

All educators must be aware of their legal and professional responsibilities to students with disabilities, and this book educates general education majors about disability, the history of disability laws, and the social implications of both the conditions and the laws.

Education Law provides a comprehensive survey of the legal problems and issues that confront school administrators and policymakers. The book is organized around the belief that students need to read cases to understand the subtlety and richness of the law, but for legal neophytes, cases without discussion and interpretation are often too difficult to comprehend.

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Presents an overview of special education law and its impact on students with disabilities and their caregivers.

Contents: Introduction : bridging the decades / Frederick J. Weintraub and Joseph Ballard -- The Education for All Handicapped Children Act of 1975, P.L. 94-142 : its history, origins, and concepts / Jeffrey J. Zettel and Joseph Ballard -- Implementing the right to a free appropriate public education / Jeffrey J. Zettel -- Section 504 : the larger umbrella / Martin H. Gerry and J. Martin Benton -- The education of gifted and talented children from a federal perspective / Jeffrey J. Zettel -- Interpreting the rights of exceptional citizens through judicial action / Barbara J. Smith and Josephine G. Barresi -- The federal program presence accompanying P.L. 94-142 / Josephine Barresi and Bruce A. Ramirez -- Federal laws for the handicapped -- Resources.