LibGuides: World History to 1500 (HY 103): Journals

Scholarly Journal Articles

The UAH Library holds extensive scholarly journal articles, available either in print in the library or through online databases. Scholarly journal articles are sometimes called peer-reviewed or refereed articles. This is because scholarly articles have been subject to the review of experts in the author’s field of study prior to publication.

Here are some excellent databases that you can use to locate scholarly journal articles.

Note: Be careful as some of these databases also contain short magazine articles that are not peer-reviewed. You will want to avoid those magazine articles.

Cambridge Core: Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
UAH subscribes to full-text for approximately 33 of these journals. Select the checkbox next to "Restrict search to journals you have full-text access to" in order to limit your search to available articles.
Cambridge Journals Online is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Clase Periodica This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

HighWire
Stanford University's HighWire Press hosts and maintains the web versions of a variety of journals in the subject fields of science, technology and medicine. HighWire Press makes available free online access to the full texts of more than 137,000 articles -- largely though back issues. Availability of back issues/ free trials vary by journal.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,100 scholarly interdisciplinary publications of interest to students and scholars of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Covering history, languages, and literature, this database indexes journal articles, reviews, and books.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. Subjects covered include: African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist studies, film studies, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, science, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
Oxford University Press Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
By unearthing the foundations of current research, the Oxford Journal Archive enables readers to explore the changes in opinion over the past 140 years and puts present knowledge into context.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 400 electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Back issue archives are available, with some titles beginning with volumes as early as 1993.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains Social Sciences and Humanities.
Provides access to the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier electronic journals in chemistry and chemical engineering; clinical medicine; computer science; earth and planetary sciences; economics, business, and management science; engineering, energy, and technology; environmental science and technology; life sciences; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy; and social science; as well as indexing and abstracting for electronic journals from other publishers.

Find Full Text Journals By Title

JournalFinder helps you find a library database with the full text of the journal article you are looking for. Use the Interlibrary Loan to request books and/or articles not available in the library.

Print Indexes & Abstracts for Journal Articles

These are older, print indexes that may be useful.

Historical Abstracts by Eric H. Boehm
Call Number: Journal Storage - Ask at User Services Desk
ISBN: 00182435
Library has volumes 1 to 16; 1955 to 1970.
Historical Abstracts, Part A: Modern History Abstracts 1450-1914 by American Bibliographical Center
Call Number: N-1
ISBN: 0363-2717
Library has volumes 17 to 42; 1971 to 1999.


Find:	To find variants of a word, truncate using an *
Within:	Title Name Publisher Name ISSN All of the above
Search Type:	Contains Begins With Exact Match
Options:	Whole Words Only

World History to 1500 (HY 103)

Scholarly Journal Articles

Find Full Text Journals By Title

Print Indexes & Abstracts for Journal Articles

Search Google Scholar