The Music Collection is located on N-3 (north building, third floor). The collection includes scores, general interest information, music theory, conducting instruction, CDs, DVDs, biographies, histories, analysis of music, and educational materials.
The Salmon Library uses the Library of Congress classification scheme for the arrangement of the books.
M - Music scores
ML - Literature on Music
MT - Study and teaching of Music
For more details you can look at the Library of Congress Classification outline for M.
When searching the library's catalog, Primo Pathfinder, you can use a variety of subject terms to find information about music history and composers. This will allow you to locate print books, E-Books, CDs, DVDs, streaming videos and music, and web resources on your topic.
1. You can search for the name of the composer in the keyword or author field (dropdown) or subject field (dropdown).
2. Some Subject terms to use (in the Subject Field dropdown)
Piano Music – History and criticism
Piano music (Pianos (2)) -- Bibliography
Piano ensembles -- Bibliography
Piano -- Instruction and study
Harpsichord Music - Bibliography
Harpsichord Music – History and criticism
Keyboard instrument music – History and criticism
Helpful hints for using the library's discovery search service, Primo Pathfinder.
The library uses Primo's Central Discovery Index which contains over five billion records. It is vendor neutral and indexes records from libraries all over the world. This includes books, articles, websites, patents, technical reports, webpages, chapters of books, photographs, etc.
Start your search with Primo Pathfinder.
To just search the library catalog select the Advanced Search button.
Then select the Library Catalog Radio Button.
In this example search for Preludes by Chopin.
First change Any Field to be Author and input Chopin in the search field.
In the next field change Any Field to be Title and input Preludes.
Example:
The results appear and contain Scores and Videos.
You can tweak your results by using the facets on the left.
