This link opens in a new windowAlt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers an immediate resource of full text articles, from more than 170 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
CINAHL provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text offers access to health care books, standards of practice, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, and more. Searchable cited references for many journals are also included.
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) is part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, and includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
Primary Subjects: Nursing & Medicine, Social Work
This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the three Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE).
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Health Source provides access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
A health information website for patients, their families and friends, and the general public. Contains carefully selected links to online resources with authoritative health information on a broad range of health topics.
A comprehensive source of both premier current journal content and powerful bibliographic and abstract data from the Ovid Nursing Database and Ovid Emcare. UAH Library has access to Ovid Nursing Full Text PLUS and the complete archives. Also, the library has made available 400 eBooks including the American Nurses Association eBook collection, the Gideon eBook collection, and the Joanna Briggs Institute eBook collection.
A collection of Proquest databases related to health and medicine.
MEDLINE (PubMed) provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the full-text of articles at participating publishers web sites. Links to the molecular biology databases maintained by NCBI. Interface developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). * Full text may require access through UAH.
R2 Digital Library is a web-based application that aggregates health sciences book content (Inter-disciplinary) from leading publishers on a single platform. Restriction: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Provides access to the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier electronic journals in chemistry and chemical engineering; clinical medicine; computer science; earth and planetary sciences; economics, business, and management science; engineering, energy, and technology; environmental science and technology; life sciences; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy; and social science; as well as indexing and abstracting for electronic journals from other publishers.
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.
* Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts
* Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
* 70% of content is pulled from international sources
* Includes over 3 million conference papers
* Provides 100% Medline coverage
* Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research