Electrical and Computer Engineering

This highly-anticipated second edition of an Artech House classic covers several key radar analysis areas: the radar range equation, detection theory, ambiguity functions, waveforms, antennas, active arrays, receivers and signal processors, CFAR and chaff analysis. Readers will be able to predict the detection performance of a radar system using the radar range equation, its various parameters, matched filter theory, and Swerling target models. The performance of various signal processors, single pulse, pulsed Doppler, LFM, NLFM, and BPSK, are discussed, taking into account factors including MTI processing, integration gain, weighting loss and straddling loss. The details of radar analysis are covered from a mathematical perspective, with in-depth breakdowns of radar performance in the presence of clutter. Readers will be able to determine the nose temperature of a multi-channel receiver as it is used in active arrays. With the addition of three new chapters on moving target detectors, inverse synthetic aperture radar (ISAR) and constant false alarm rate (CFAR) and new MATLAB codes, this expanded second edition will appeal to the novice as well as the experienced practitioner.

This popular dictionary, formerly published as the Penguin Dictionary of Electronics, has been extensively revised and updated, providing more than 5,000 clear, concise, and jargon-free A-Z entries on key terms, theories, and practices in the areas of electronics and electrical science. Topicscovered include circuits, power, systems, magnetic devices, control theory, communications, signal processing, and telecommunications, together with coverage of applications areas such as image processing, storage, and electronic materials. The dictionary is enhanced by dozens of equations andnearly 400 diagrams.It also includes 16 appendices listing mathematical tables and other useful data, including essential graphical and mathematical symbols, fundamental constants, technical reference tables, mathematical support tools, and major innovations in electricity and electronics. More than 50 useful web linksare also included with appropriate entries, accessible via a dedicated companion website.A Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering is the most up-to-date quick reference dictionary available in its field, and is a practical and wide-ranging resource for all students of electronics and of electrical engineering.

For ease of use, this edition has been divided into the following subject sections: general principles; materials and processes; control, power electronics and drives; environment; power generation; transmission and distribution; power systems; sectors of electricity use. New chapters and major revisions include: industrial instrumentation; digital control systems; programmable controllers; electronic power conversion; environmental control; hazardous area technology; electromagnetic compatibility; alternative energy sources; alternating current generators; electromagnetic transients; power system planning; reactive power plant and FACTS controllers; electricity economics and trading; power quality. *Includes a major new section on control systems, PLCs and microprocessors

24/7 electronics quick answers at your fingertips Imagine an easy-access electronics database that weighs a mere 19 oz.-- yet delivers "pounds" of must-know standards, formulas, techniques, and more Electronics Portable Handbook, by Stan Gibilisco, packs literally hundreds of answers-at-a-glance tables, checklists, schematics and drawings that help you solve "showstopping" problems and get back to work. Turn to this guide to get the answers you need to: *Design circuits, oscillators, amplifiers and antenna systems *Set up a satellite television receiving system *Interface computers with electronic devices *Choose a communications frequency and mode *Install a home entertainment system *Work with transistors, microwaves, satellites, or HDTV *Reference the principles behind television, cell phones, pagers, and beepers *Optimize shortwave, CB and ham radio rigs *Implement privacy and security devices -- from data encryption to tone squelching and scrambling *Understand robotics, motion detectors, and other sensor-based technologies *And much, much more

IEEE standards establish an authoritative common language that defines quality and sets technical criteria.

Continuing in the tradition of its best-selling predecessors, this updated dictionary of electronics terms covers a broader range of subjects in an easier-to-use format than any other source of its kind. No comparable reference offers such a vast range of definitions, abbreviations, acronyms, illustrations, schematics, diagrams, and conversion tables. More than 28,000 definitions--plus over 1,000 clear and functional illustrations--make the Eighth Edition the ultimate reference for technicians, hobbyists, and students. Many new terms and illustrations from robotics, artificial intelligence, and personal computing as they relate to electronics are included. Definitions spelled out in plain English with minimal technical jargon make the Dictionary accessible to beginning, intermediate, and advanced electronics professionals. You'll find coverage of the latest terminology in: Wireless technology; Lasers; Digital Television; Radio; IC Technology; Digital and Analog Electronics; Audio and Video Power Supplies; Fiber Optic Communications. Existing definitions have been updated, obsolete material has been deleted, and all entries have been reviewed by an editorial review board to assure their accuracy. You can look for a better source of definitions in electronics...but you won't find one

A Clear, Comprehensive Introduction to Standards in the Engineering Professions Standards supplement the design process by guiding the designer toward consistency, safety, and reliability. As daily life involves increasingly complex and sophisticated instruments, standards become indispensable engineering tools to ensure user safety and product quality. Primer on Engineering Standards: Expanded Textbook Edition delves into standards creation and compliance to provide students and engineers with a comprehensive reference. The different types of standards are dissected and discussed in terms of development, value, impact, interpretation, and compliance, and options are provided for situations where conformance is not possible. The process of standards creation is emphasized in terms of essential characteristics and common pitfalls to avoid, with detailed guidance on how, where, and with whom one may get involved in official development. Organized for both quick reference and textbook study, this new Expanded Textbook Edition provides a quick, clear understanding of critical concepts, ramifications, and implications as it: Introduces the concepts, history, and classification of standards, rules, and regulations Discusses the federal, state, and local government's role in standards development and enforcement Distinguishes voluntary consensus standards, limited consensus standards, and jurisdictional versus non-jurisdictional government standards Covers the need for and process of exemptions to existing standards Examines the characteristics of a good standard, and discusses opportunities for involvement in development Includes case studies to demonstrate standards applications, and extensive appendices to direct further inquiry The successful design, fabrication, and operation of any product relies on foundational understanding of pertinent standards; indeed, standards and guidelines form a central pillar of the engineering profession. This helpful resource goes beyond a list of rules to help students and practitioners gain a better understanding of the creation, import, and use of standards. 

This new edition of "Schaum's Outline of Electric Circuits "give readers a thorough foundation in the theory and operation of electric circuits. This bestselling outline combines brief descriptions of theory with illustrative examples, solved problems, and supplement problems to provide a direct and effective tool and methodology for learning.

This highly-anticipated second edition of an Artech House classic covers several key radar analysis areas: the radar range equation, detection theory, ambiguity functions, waveforms, antennas, active arrays, receivers and signal processors, CFAR and chaff analysis. Readers will be able to predict the detection performance of a radar system using the radar range equation, its various parameters, matched filter theory, and Swerling target models. The performance of various signal processors, single pulse, pulsed Doppler, LFM, NLFM, and BPSK, are discussed, taking into account factors including MTI processing, integration gain, weighting loss and straddling loss. The details of radar analysis are covered from a mathematical perspective, with in-depth breakdowns of radar performance in the presence of clutter. Readers will be able to determine the nose temperature of a multi-channel receiver as it is used in active arrays. With the addition of three new chapters on moving target detectors, inverse synthetic aperture radar (ISAR) and constant false alarm rate (CFAR) and new MATLAB codes, this expanded second edition will appeal to the novice as well as the experienced practitioner.

Electric Motors and Drives: Fundamentals, Types and Applications, Fifth Edition is intended primarily for non-specialist users or students of electric motors and drives, but many researchers and specialist industrialists have also acknowledged its value in providing a clear understanding of the fundamentals. It bridges the gap between specialist textbooks (too analytical for the average user) and handbooks (full of detail but with little insight) providing an understanding of how each motor and drive system works. The fifth edition has been completely revised, updated and expanded. All of the most important types of motor and drive are covered, including d.c., induction, synchronous (including synchronous reluctance and salient Permanent Magnet), switched reluctance, and stepping. There has been significant innovation in this area since the fourth edition, particularly in the automotive, aircraft and industrial sectors, with novel motor topologies emerging, including hybrid designs that combine permanent magnet and reluctance effects. We now include a physical basis for understanding and quantifying torque production in these machines, and this leads to simple pictures that illuminate the control conditions required to optimise torque. The key converter topologies have been brought together, and the treatment of inverter switching strategies expanded. A new chapter is devoted to the treatment of Field Oriented control, reflecting its increasing importance for all a.c. motor drives. A unique physically-based approach is adopted which builds naturally on the understanding of motor behaviour developed earlier in the book: the largely non-mathematical treatment dispels much of the mystique surrounding what is often regarded as a difficult topic. Helps users acquire knowledge and understanding of the capabilities and limitations of motors and drives without struggling through unnecessary math and theory Presents updated material on the latest and most widely-used motors and drives, including brushless servo motors Includes additional diagrams and worked examples throughout this updated edition Includes a physical basis for the understanding and quantifying torque production

Former secretary of defense Leon Panetta once described cyber warfare as "the most serious threat in the twenty-first century," capable of destroying our entire infrastructure and crippling the nation. Already, major cyber attacks have affected countries around the world: Estonia in 2007, Georgia in 2008, Iran in 2010, and most recently the United States. As with other methods of war, cyber technology can be used not only against military forces and facilities but also against civilian targets. Information technology has enabled a new method of warfare that is proving extremely difficult to combat, let alone defeat. And yet cyber warfare is still in its infancy, with innumerable possibilities and contingencies for how such conflicts may play out in the coming decades. Brian M. Mazanec examines the worldwide development of constraining norms for cyber war and predicts how those norms will unfold in the future. Employing case studies of other emerging-technology weapons--chemical and biological, strategic bombing, and nuclear weaponry--Mazanec expands previous understandings of norm-evolution theory, offering recommendations for U.S. policymakers and citizens alike as they grapple with the reality of cyber terrorism in our own backyard.

Michael R. Lindeburg PE's FE Electrical and Computer Review Manual offers complete coverage of the Electrical and Computer FE exam knowledge areas and the relevant elements--equations, figures, and tables--from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook. With 15 mini-exams to assess your grasp of the exam's knowledge areas, and concise explanations of thousands of equations and hundreds of figures and tables, the Review Manual contains everything you need to succeed on the Electrical and Computer FE exam. The Review Manual organizes the Handbook elements logically, grouping related concepts. All Handbook elements are featured in blue boxes for easy identification, familiarizing you with the only reference you will have on exam day. Equations and their associated variations and values are clearly presented. Descriptions are succinct and supported by exam-like example problems, with step-by-step solutions to reinforce the theory and application of fundamental concepts. Thousands of terms are indexed to facilitate cross-referencing.  Use the Review Manual in your FE Electrical and Computer exam preparation and get the power to pass the first time--guaranteed.  Electrical and Computer Engineering Topics Covered Circuit Analysis and Linear Systems Communications and Signal Processing Computer Networks and Systems Control Systems Digital Systems Electromagnetics Electronics Engineering Economics Engineering Sciences Ethics and Professional Practice Mathematics Power Probability and Statistics Properties of Electrical Materials Software Development Key Features: Complete coverage of all exam knowledge areas. Equations, figures, and tables from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook to familiarize you with the reference you'll have on exam day. Concise explanations supported by exam-like example problems, with step-by-step solutions to reinforce the theory and application of fundamental concepts. A robust index with thousands of terms to facilitate referencing. Binding: Paperback About the Publisher: PPI, A Kaplan Company has been trusted by engineering exam candidates since 1975. 

Fundamentals of Photonics A complete, thoroughly updated, full-color third edition Fundamentals of Photonics, Third Edition is a self-contained and up-to-date introductory-level textbook that thoroughly surveys this rapidly expanding area of engineering and applied physics. Featuring a blend of theory and applications, coverage includes detailed accounts of the primary theories of light, including ray optics, wave optics, electromagnetic optics, and photon optics, as well as the interaction of light and matter. Presented at increasing levels of complexity, preliminary sections build toward more advanced topics, such as Fourier optics and holography, photonic-crystal optics, guided-wave and fiber optics, LEDs and lasers, acousto-optic and electro-optic devices, nonlinear optical devices, ultrafast optics, optical interconnects and switches, and optical fiber communications. The third edition features an entirely new chapter on the optics of metals and plasmonic devices. Each chapter contains highlighted equations, exercises, problems, summaries, and selected reading lists. Examples of real systems are included to emphasize the concepts governing applications of current interest. Each of the twenty-four chapters of the second edition has been thoroughly updated.

This comprehensive resource provides a thorough introduction to the principles of electronic circuits operating in the radio, microwave, and millimeter-wave frequency ranges. The book highlights the fundamental physical laws of classical electromagnetics using a foundation of Maxwell's equations to give insight into the operating principles of circuit elements of all kinds, from lumped elements to transmission lines, waveguides, optical fibers, and quasi-optical structures. Standard passive system components like filters, splitters, couplers, hybrids, baluns, and antennas are explained to acclimate the reader to considering multiple technological solutions for common design problems. A basic overview of active circuit designs, such as amplifiers, mixers, and multipliers is also provided, along with discussion of the performance characteristics of electronic systems, including noise and linearity. Emphasis is placed on visualization and understanding of how and why electronic circuits of all frequencies are built and operate the way they do. Readers learn how to match an amplifier for optimum noise performance over the broadest bandwidth with the fewest number of elements and how to visualize the coupling of various modes in a mixed waveguide-type structure and avoid resonances due to trapped, higher-order modes. The book provides the tools needed to design and optimize a launcher from microstrip into waveguide, and whether the best characteristics can be achieved by incorporating matching elements in the microstrip section, the waveguide section, or both. Packed with references and examples, readers learn not only how to do the math but what the math means.

Get complete instructions for manipulating, processing, cleaning, and crunching datasets in Python. Updated for Python 3.6, the second edition of this hands-on guide is packed with practical case studies that show you how to solve a broad set of data analysis problems effectively. You'll learn the latest versions of pandas, NumPy, IPython, and Jupyter in the process. Written by Wes McKinney, the creator of the Python pandas project, this book is a practical, modern introduction to data science tools in Python. It's ideal for analysts new to Python and for Python programmers new to data science and scientific computing. Data files and related material are available on GitHub. Use the IPython shell and Jupyter notebook for exploratory computing Learn basic and advanced features in NumPy (Numerical Python) Get started with data analysis tools in the pandas library Use flexible tools to load, clean, transform, merge, and reshape data Create informative visualizations with matplotlib Apply the pandas groupby facility to slice, dice, and summarize datasets Analyze and manipulate regular and irregular time series data Learn how to solve real-world data analysis problems with thorough, detailed examples

"Love the fact that it jumped in with 10 top tips for security, a great opening to the book... Excellent section on phishing emails/vishing/smishing, with great practical examples ..." Christopher Wright, Wright-CandA Consulting Ltd Protect yourself from cyber threats and risks Cyberspace, the Internet, computer networks, the digital world - call it what you will - is always developing. And so are the threats and risks of being online. Security in the Digital World explains the common digital threats to home users, home offices, mobile users, consumers and parents alike, as well as providing tips, advice and guidance. It doesn't matter if you are working in the most mature enterprise environment, unemployed, retired or still at school, whether you often have a smartphone in your hand or only use an e-reader, you are at risk. Security in the Digital World is a straightforward guide for the home user, parent, consumer and home office, providing a fountain of knowledge for modern security needs. It gives an overview of who conducts cyber attacks any why, and where cyber threats come from. It also explains what you can do to protect yourself and others, and provides a personal cyber security risk assessment. Deeper insight into threats in the digital world This must-have guide gives up-to-date information on consumer risks and provides: Ten tips to keep your digital information secure; Understanding and awareness of information security and cyber threats; Explanations of what social engineering is and techniques used by cyber criminals; Advice on what to look out for online and your rights as a consumer; and Guidance on common threats in the digital age, including malware, social engineering and ransomware. There is little technical knowledge or skill needed to understand and apply the book's tips and advice, and there are lots of images to help guide you. From the top ten tips and the breakdown of consumer risks, to social networking and parental security, this book is an essential guide for anyone and everyone trying to stay safe and secure in the evolving digital world. About the author Graham Day spent 24 years in the military, including more than a decade as a counter-intelligence and security specialist on operational deployments around the world. Since retiring from the military, Graham has provided a range of services as a consultant, including, but not limited to, information security, cyber security, business continuity, cyber risk and cyber resilience. He is a CESG Certified Professional Security Information Risk Advisor, a Certified Information Systems Security Professional, and a member of the Author Group for British Standard 31111 Cyber Risk & Resilience.