One option for providing free learning materials to your students is to use library-licensed materials from the Salmon Library. If you find that OER or OA resources do not fit your course's needs, then using resources from the library may be your best alternative.
The Salmon Library has thousands of resources that you can select to create the most effective learning experience for your class. If you need assistance selecting and curating learning materials and linking them in Canvas, librarian April Urban (april.urban@uah.edu) would be happy to work with you.
The Salmon Library provides access to e-books that you can assign in your course. E-books are free for students and can be easily linked in Canvas.
You can find e-books by searching for an author or topic in Primo Pathfinder and filtering to "books." The results list will indicate if a book is available electronically. You can also find e-books by searching the databases Ebook Central (ProQuest) or eBook Collection (EBSCO).
Please note that some e-books have user limits, meaning that only one person (or a few people) can access the e-book at a time. This means that some e-books may not be suitable for large classes. If you would like to use an e-book for your class, we recommend that you contact your subject librarian or April so that they can check user limits for you.
You may also select articles from our databases to assign in your course. When you choose an article to assign, use the permalink or stable URL (this typically appears as a link icon) to share it with your students. Make sure that your students know they will need to be logged into their library account for off-campus access.
If you need any assistance with e-book access or permalinks, please contact the Library at library@uah.edu or 256-824-6530.
Images
[Note: After clicking the link, select "Human Anatomy Atlas" from the choices.]
This database contains: 3D models that can be studied from any angle and varying zoom levels; On-screen controls for zooming, panning, rotating, and dissecting 3D models of all major organs and systems of the male and female body; MRI & CT scans; Pronunciations and detailed definitions with Latin terms; Augmented Reality enhances learning experience; Dissection Tool provides real lab experience; Hundreds of quizzes; Apps for iPad and Android devices; and more... lab activities, lesson plans & lab manuals
Video
Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more.
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. It also has an extensive set of primary sources. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions. Link goes to the Salmon Library's video collection. Faculty and instructors who wish to request access to a particular film may 1) use the “search” feature to find if Kanopy has the film and 2) click “request access” and include information such as intended usage/class.
Audio
The Naxos Music Library is an on-line library of more than 75,000 tracks of music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels. Although Naxos is best known for its classical recordings (with more than 200 released each year), the Naxos Music Library also includes world music, jazz, and national anthems. All of the Naxos repertoire may be searched in standard/advanced modes or browsed in a large number of categories and genres. In addition, Naxos offers a number of text resources including overviews of music history, program notes for recordings, and the complete libretti of operas available in the Naxos Music Library.
NOTE: Only one concurrent user is allowed. The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Based on a work first published in 1879 and updated frequently, Grove has been in continuous publication for over a century and now publishes hundreds of new articles and article revisions each year.
The primary source materials held by UAH Archives, Special Collections, and Digital Initiatives (ASCDI) can be used for teaching across a range of disciplines. ASCDI preserves and makes accessible materials which document the history and culture of the University of Alabama in Huntsville and the Tennessee River Valley. Special Collections focus areas include:
ASCDI also provides access to digitized materials:
You can email ASCDI (archives@uah.edu) for more information about their collections or to discuss how they can assist you with instruction.
You can place library materials, or your own personal materials, on reserve at the Library for students to check out and use throughout the semester.
To place materials on reserve, please contact the User Services Desk (library@uah.edu or 256-824-6530) or complete and submit the online course reserves form.
