Skip to Main Content

SciFinder-n

SciFinder-n is an interface to the world's largest database of chemistry literature, Chemical Abstracts.

News and Updates

The new web version release of SciFinder-n provides researchers with many of the powerful analysis tools found in the client version of SciFinder, as well as new features to help improve productivity. This release of the web version of SciFinder-n makes access to SciFinder-n even more essential to the research process.  Details about all new features added can be found here.

Some of the new features include:

  • Direct links to data
  • Keep Me Posted enhancements
  • Improved search precision
  • Session history retention
  • Index term linking
  • New layouts

Some features that come from the client version:

  • Combine options with multiple answer sets
  • Categorize answer sets
  • Combine answer sets
  • Duplicate removal
  • Analyze / Refine options
  • CHEMLIST®
  • .rtf export
  • Sorting
  • Structure Drawing Editor options
  • Substructure moduling
  • Improved reaction displays
  • Search shortcuts
  • CHEMCATS® export

New content enhancements include:

  • 23.8 million predicted proton NMR spectra
  • A total of 1.9 billion predicted and experimental properties, spectra and data tags, making this the largest collection offered
  • More than 29 million preparations, including single- and multi-step reactions.     In addition, reactions from several Wiley evaluated reference works, such as the Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
  • Access to catalog information for more than 24 million commercially available chemicals

Note

Please note that our access to SciFinder Scholar is ending on July 1, 2022. In its place, we will offer access to SciFinder-n. Please update your bookmarks accordingly.

What is SciFinder-n?

SciFinder-n is the interface to the database of chemistry literature, Chemical Abstracts. Over 27 million citations to chemistry publications are searchable by topic, author, CAS Registry Number, patent number, and CAS abstract number. In some cases, links to the full-text of journal articles are available. Over 21 million citations to medical and biological references in MEDLINE, 40 million organic and inorganic substances, and 59 million sequences.

Who Can Use SciFinder-n?

Access to SciFinder-n is available to University of Alabama in Huntsville faculty, students, and staff only.

In accordance with the Salmon Library's licensing agreement with Chemical Abstracts Service, access to SciFinder-n is available to University of Alabama in Huntsville faculty, students, and staff only.

How Do I Access SciFinder-n?

To access SciFinder-n, you first must create an account by following the link below.

Other Helpful Resources

Subjects: Science