LibGuides: Shakespeare: Resources

Online Resources

How to Find Articles

You will want to to use the online databases to find articles on Shakespeare, his plays, sonnets, criticisms, etc. The following is a list of online databases that will assist you. Many of them offer the full text of the articles.

When looking for articles try putting William Shakespeare in one field and the title of the play or sonnet in another field. If you are looking for criticsm put that in another field.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
The library only has access to articles from 2003 to 2011. Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source. Gale's Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings. You can use Gale's Literary Index as a starting point to locate authors and titles.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,100 scholarly interdisciplinary publications of interest to students and scholars of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Covering history, languages, and literature, this database indexes journal articles, reviews, and books.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that enables discovery, access, and preservation of scholarly content. We collaborate with the academic community to achieve the following goals:

-Help scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of scholarly content on a dynamic platform that increases productivity and facilitates new forms of scholarship.
-Help libraries connect patrons to vital content while increasing shelf-space savings and lowering costs.
-Help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their scholarly content for future generations.

Literature Resources from Gale
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.

Global Shakespeares
The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.
Ghosts, Murder, and More Murder - Hamlet Part I: Crash Course Literature 203 - YouTube
Crash Course videos opens with a fast introduction to the whole work then uses a mix of analogies to modern terms to explain the story's key points.
Virtual Tour / Shakespeare's Globe
Shakespeare's Globe offers a four part virtual tour of the Globe Theater.
Insults by Shakespeare - April Gudenrath | TED-Ed
TED-Ed hosts a lesson titled Insults by Shakespeare.

Shakespeare Websites

This is not an all-inclusive list but these websites from other universities may provide additional help for your research.

Absolute Shakespeare - plays, quotes, summaries, essays...
This website is a resource for William Shakespeare's plays, sonnets, poems, quotes, biography and the legendary Globe Theatre.
Collected Works of Shakespeare
This site contains the plays and poetry in full-text; a glossary; and links to additional William Shakespeare web sites.
Internet Shakespeare Editions
The Internet Shakespeare Editions project began in 1991 when Dr. Michael Best, a Renaissance scholar at British Columbia's University of Victoria (UVic), developed a HyperCard multimedia resource, Shakespeare's Life and Times, with design by graphic design specialist Roberta Livingstone.
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
This website strives both to be an annotated guide to the scholarly Shakespeare resources available on the Internet, and to present unique Shakespeare material unavailable elsewhere online.
Shakespeare Festival - Clemson University
This website allows you to view Clemson's Virtual Reality Walkthrough of the Globe Theater.
Shakespeare Illustrated
Shakespeare Illustrated, a work in progress, explores nineteenth-century paintings, criticism and productions of Shakespeare's plays and their influences on one another.
Shakespeare Resource Center
You'll find here collected links from all over the World Wide Web to help you find information on William Shakespeare. There are millions of pages that reference Shakespeare on the Internet. This site aims to make it a little easier to find your sources. This sites Shakespeare's work, life, the time period in which he lived, the Globe Theatre, and more. Includes the full text of his plays and even his will.
VoS: William Shakespeare
The Voice of the Shuttle began in late 1994 as an introduction to the Web for humanists at the University of California, Santa Barbara. VoS became publicly accessible on March 21, 1995, when the Humanitas server on which it resided opened to global Web access. From its origin to October, 1999, VoS stayed at the same address on the Humanitas server. It grew in that period to over 70 pages of links to humanities and humanities-related resources on the Internet. Its mission has been to provide a structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources that at once respects the established humanities disciplines in their professional organization and points toward the transformation of those disciplines as they interact with the sciences and social sciences and with new digital media.
Global Shakespeares
The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.

Finding a Play or Poem

Library Catalog

To find a particular poem or play by Shakespeare in the library's book collection, do an author search. His sonnets will probably be found in an anthology of his work or in a collection of poetry. His plays may be searched by title.

If you want to find books about Shakespeare and his works, the following subject terms should be used.

Subject Headings for William Shakespeare include:

Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616

English literature—Early modern, 1500-1700

English drama—Early modern and Elizabethan, 1500-1600

If you want to locate criticisms of Shakespeare and his works, try adding these terms to your search phrase.

Criticism

Criticism and Interpretation

Poetry Index Books

To find a particular poem or play by Shakespeare in the library's book collection, put Shakespeare in the author field and name of the play in the title or words or phrase field. His sonnets will probably be found in an anthology of his work or in a collection of poetry. Try searching the words or phrase field for those. Or, use the following books to locate the sonnet.

The Columbia Granger's Guide to Poetry Anthologies by William Katz; Linda Sternberg Katz; Esther Crain
Call Number: PN1111 .K27 1994
ISBN: 023110104X
Publication Date: 1995-02-09
This greatly expanded second edition includes comprehensive evaluations of 800 anthologies--all those indexed in the seventh through tenth editions of The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry.
First-line index of English poetry; 1500-1800 in manuscripts of the Bodleian Library, Oxford by Crum, Margaret
Call Number: PR500 .A05 F5 1969 V.1 and V.2
ISBN: 0199513236
Publication Date: 1969
Index to Poetry in Music by Carol June Bradley
Call Number: ML128 .S3 B68 2003
ISBN: 0415943027
Publication Date: 2003
A 40-year project that resulted from a reference question that the author couldn't answer, it contains detailed information about Western art songs and their composers, publishers, and dates of composition, cross-referenced to other composers who set the same text even when the title is not identical.