Skip to main content

Music

Books

Books, both print and electronic, are found in the library by checking the online catalog, iLink. Searches by title, author, Words or Phrase and subject may be made. If there are few results for a search, contact the Reference Librarian for help in finding the best subject term or more information.

The library also has a microfiche collection called Library of American Civilization (LAC).  This collection includes information about music, composers, songbooks, and songs from American history.  Much of it can be considered to be a primary source.  Although the library has the entire book collection on Microfiche, ask at the Reference Desk to see if the book is available online.  Many libraries (including Google) have been digitizing this collection.

To search for this collection type in:

   Music in the "Subject" field and  LAC in the "Words or Phrase" field.

 

Sheet Music

The library houses a collection of sheet music as well as bound volumes of composers’ music. They are shelved with the books on N2 and are given call numbers. Search the iLink catalog by title of the work, composer, or type of work (e.g., sonata, chorale, etc).

Also check out the "Sheet Music/Scores"  tab for websites that offer free sheet music.  This tab also includes publisher and music dealer websites.

Compact Discs, Recordings, etc.

Recordings for music students are available in the library. They are cataloged and given a call number. CDs are kept behind the User Services Desk. 

Additional recordings may be located by searching the online catalog, iLink.  Search for the series "Classical Music Library".  There are over 350 recordings available online.

Also check the "Online Music/Podcasts" tab for websites that offer online listening and downloads for free or by subscription.

Selected Reference Sources

Online Resources

Online resources include online journals, websites, periodical indexes and databases (which may include full-text articles), and electronic books (listed in the library catalog).