LibGuides: Asian/Pacific Islander American Sources and Research: Online Databases

Databases Overview

These are databases and online resources that show up in our Salmon Library Databases A-Z list. With each database there is a short description about why it is applicable to this guide and to searching for information/research on Asian Americans and Pacific Islander Americans. When available, those database that have specific tools are given special highlight.

For each of these, see the notes under Basic Search Strategies to get ideas of keywords (and subject searches) to try. Those search strategies are good for the majority of the databases, below.

Online Databases for Researching Asian/Pacific Americans

General Information Databases

These first four databases are more general information databases and could be quite useful early on in your search patterns.

Primo Pathfinder This link opens in a new window
Primo Pathfinder is our main discovery service that combines resources from many of the other databases on this list. This means you can do centralized searches in a single place and use a number of search limiters to narrow down your search. On the other hand, some of the other databases have a stronger focus and might be better depending on for what you are searching. Start with Primo, then consider the others as needed.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is Ebscohost's general information database and contains a lot of peer reviewed resources across a number of subjects/topics. Use the Basic Search Strategies, here. You can also browse by SUBJECT TERMS (look at the links in the top of the tab) and then you can search for terms like "Asian American" and "Pacific Islander American" to find relevant subjects to narrow down your search.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This contains reference books, magazines, and other reference materials (including photos, maps, and video). Like with Academic Search Complete, you can use the Subjects tab to narrow down your focus right off the bat.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a massive database focused on back coverage of journals. This means that you can see historical journal articles covering this topic by using advanced search and setting a custom date range. You can also, under "Advanced" or "Browse", narrow it down to journals covering Asian Studies and Middle Eastern Studies (they do not have a category for Pacific Islander Studies). Under advanced, you can choose "reviews" if you would like to look at reviews of books, especially those of historical significance.

Newspaper and Historical Perspective Databases

These databases are less aimed at peer-reviewed research and more at newspaper and other historical perspective chronicles.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection of historical American newspapers can give you insight into issues and stories impacting Asian/Pacific Americans. Keep in mind the caveat that older newspapers might be prone to use less polite language/representation on the topic, especially when it comes to graphical depictions such as political cartoons, even in an "official" article.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a number of newspapers published for ethnic communities in the United States, including 69 total aimed at Asian/Pacific Islander and Arab/Middle Eastern communities. You can find this by going through publication and narrowing it down under the Publication Subject (you may have to click "more" if you have not done a previous search that would narrow that down more naturally).

Literature, Arts, and Music Databases

These databases are often best approached with specific writers/artists in mind but can be used to find literary/music critique and so forth, as well as sometimes general reference materials about the person in question.

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this one and MLA International Bibliography to search for literary reviews and critiques. This is best used if you know specific Asian/Pacific American authors or works and wish to find more. You can search by "name of work" or "person-by or about" fields to narrow it down to them. For example, this is a "name of work" search for Jhumpa Lahiri's The Namesake.
formerly: Artemis
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This can be used to find many articles about Asian/Pacific Americans. Like other databases on this list (see Gale's Literary Sources), it works best if you have specific authors/works in mind. You can also browse by author or by works rather than search.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
This database includes references and clips from thousands of musicians and composers, including a number of prominent Asian/Pacific Americans.

Other Databases of Interest

These databases include other ways to research the topic, from general reference works to government resources that might provide vital statistics.

Census Data (American) This link opens in a new window
Under topics, you can research census data in terms of "Race and Ethnicity" and then choose "Native Hawaiian and (Other) Pacific Islander" or "Asian".
Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Choice Reviews contains thousands of reviews of academic books. You can use the search term strategies already outlined. Of special note, after you perform your search pay attention to the options to refine your results on the left. Several categories (such as "Asia & Oceania" and "Middle Eastern Studies") are applicable.
CIA World FactBook This link opens in a new window
This one is more relevant when it comes to finding information about Asian/Pacific countries more than American citizens, but it can help add in some details for certain research.
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
One of the most recognized reference works in the world. More useful if you have specific names/locations/events in mind, the search strategies outlined in this guide will not be so useful here, but can give a good overview of those topics once you've located some you want to know more about.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This aims at "controversial" and charged topics where there is much debate and sometimes conflicting evidence or where the topic tends to involve much social strife. There are some articles about the ways these topics impact Asian American and Pacific Islander Americans, and you can use the Search strategies previously outlined to find articles, primary sources, and references you need.