LibGuides: Piano Pedagogy: Databases

Music and Education Databases

Databases can be used to locate articles on your piano pedagogy topics. This list includes both Music and Education databases.

Music Index Online This link opens in a new window Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window The Naxos Music Library is an on-line library of more than 75,000 tracks of music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels. Although Naxos is best known for its classical recordings (with more than 200 released each year), the Naxos Music Library also includes world music, jazz, and national anthems. All of the Naxos repertoire may be searched in standard/advanced modes or browsed in a large number of categories and genres. In addition, Naxos offers a number of text resources including overviews of music history, program notes for recordings, and the complete libretti of operas available in the Naxos Music Library.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window NOTE: Only one concurrent user is allowed. The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Based on a work first published in 1879 and updated frequently, Grove has been in continuous publication for over a century and now publishes hundreds of new articles and article revisions each year.
Oxford Reference Library, Performance Arts This link opens in a new window
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window An essential resource for scholars, teachers and researchers, publishing research and scholarship across many subject areas. Oxford Academic is Oxford University Press's new hub of content.
NOTE: Link to takes you to search results that shows our content. You can add search terms/etc to better narrow and refine that down.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. Subjects covered include: African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist studies, film studies, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, science, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window A collection of over 400 electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Back issue archives are available, with some titles beginning with volumes as early as 1993.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new window Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publicationsincluded in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window ERIC (EBSCOhost Interface) indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The EBSCOhost interface is similar to Academic Search Premier. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
- This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
PsycARTICLES (APA) This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The resource contains more than 44,000 articles in over 50 journals in HTML and PDF formats, covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. PsycARTICLES offers full text articles from major American Psychological Association journals and 8 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage begins in 1985 for most titles.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in more than 25 languages.