Where are the books, CDs, scores, and DVDs located?
The Music Collection is located on N-3 (north building, third floor). The collection includes scores, general interest information, music theory, conducting instruction, CDs, DVDs, biographies, histories, analysis of music, and educational materials.
The Salmon Library uses the Library of Congress classification scheme for the arrangement of the books.
M - Music scores
ML - Literature on Music
MT - Study and teaching of Music
For more details you can look at the Library of Congress Classification outline for M.
How should I search the library's collection?
When searching the library's catalog, Primo Pathfinder, you can use a variety of subject terms to find information about music history and composers. This will allow you to locate print books, E-Books, CDs, DVDs, streaming videos and music, and web resources on your topic.
1. You can search for the name of the composer in the keyword or author field (dropdown) or subject field (dropdown).
2. Some Subject terms to use (in the Subject Field dropdown)
Music -- To 500 -- History and criticism
Music -- 500-1400 -- History and criticism
Music -- 15th century -- History and criticism
Music -- 16th century -- History and criticism
Music -- 17th century -- History and criticism
Music -- 18th century -- History and criticism
Helpful hints for using the library's discovery search service, Primo Pathfinder.
The library uses Primo's Central Discovery Index which contains over five billion records. It is vendor neutral and indexes records from libraries all over the world. This includes books, articles, websites, patents, technical reports, webpages, chapters of books, photographs, etc. To narrow down your search results to what is available at the UAH Salmon Library, follow these steps.
Start your search on the library's homepage.
The following examples shows you how to search for the composer Thomas Tallis.
Click on the Advanced Search selection at the right side of the screen.
The Advance Search window opens that gives you options for refining your search.
Select the radio button Library Catalog. This ensures that you only search what is in the UAH Library's collection.
Refine your search further by defining a Search Filter. In this example select Author.
Type in Thomas Tallis in the author field and click the Search button.
There are 13 results which are scores, books, videos, and audio CDs.
