LibGuides: MU 311: Home

Library Faculty

Charlotte Olson

Email Me

Contact:

Salmon Library, Room 343B

Subjects: Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, Music

Introduction

History of Music I (MU 311), is offered Fall semesters.

This course covers the development of music as art in western civilization up to 1750. Representative musical works and styles are presented and discussed. This course provides an understanding of musical concepts in view of their historical background and cultural context.

Where to begin

Suggested books and databases to help you get started with your research.

Sourcebook for Research in Music, Third Edition by Allen Scott
Call Number: Proquest eBook Central
ISBN: 0253014565
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Since it was first published in 1993, the Sourcebook for Research in Music has become an invaluable resource in musical scholarship. The balance between depth of content and brevity of format makes it ideal for use as a textbook for students, a reference work for faculty and professional musicians, and as an aid for librarians.
Music in Western Civilization by Paul Henry Lang
Call Number: ML160 .L25 M8
ISBN: 0393040747
Publication Date: New York, W.W. Norton & Company, inc.; c1941
The scope of the book is vast, beginning with the music of ancient Greece and ending with that of the first two decades of the twentieth century.
Historical Anthology of Music by Archibald T. Davison (Editor); Willi Apel (Editor)
Call Number: M2 .D25 H6 V. 1 & V. 2
ISBN: 0674393007
Publication Date: 1949-1960
This great anthology of music literature makes available to all music lovers a wonderful storehouse of hitherto inaccessible treasure. Volume 1 includes the development of Oriental, Medieval, and Renaissance music from the beginning to 1600. Volume 2 includes Baroque, rococo, and pre-classical music.
Historical Anthology of Music by Women by James R. Briscoe (Editor)
Call Number: M2 .H68 1987
ISBN: 0253212960
Publication Date: 1987
.."". will enlighten students of music history and serve as a source of programming ideas for performers."" -- Library Journal .."". a significant contribution to the literature about, and the music of, women composers."" -- American Music Teacher
This is also available as an eBook at https://uah.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UAH_INST/15cd092/alma991003517765503816
A General History of the Science and Practice of Music by John Hawkins
Call Number: ML159 .H39 1853R V.1 & V.2
ISBN: 1108029973
Publication Date: 2011
Sir John Hawkins (1719-1789), lawyer, friend of Samuel Johnson and member of the Academy of Ancient Music, published his pioneering five-volume history in 1776 just after the first volume of Burney's. Hawkins' accuracy and attention to detail, his appreciation of sixteenth- and seventeenth-century music and his account of London music society in the early eighteenth century, supported by his painstaking research, which makes the History of indispensable value to music scholars.
A General History of Music by Charles Burney
Call Number: ML159 .B96 1957
ISBN: 1108016391
Publication Date: 1957
Charles Burney (1726-1814), was the foremost music historian of his day. The General History, his most famous work, was published in four volumes between 1776 and 1789 and is still of great value today.
Short History of Music by Alfred Einstein
Call Number: ML160 .E462 1954A
ISBN: 9780394700045
Publication Date: 1954
Alfred Einstein was a German-American musicologist and music editor. He was born in Munich and fled Nazi Germany after Hitler's Machtergreifung, arriving in the United States by 1939. He is best known for being the editor of the first major revision of the Köchel catalogue, which was published in 1936.

Some music databases to help you get started with your research.

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Only one concurrent user is allowed. The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Based on a work first published in 1879 and updated frequently, Grove has been in continuous publication for over a century and now publishes hundreds of new articles and article revisions each year.
Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
The Naxos Music Library is an on-line library of more than 75,000 tracks of music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels. Although Naxos is best known for its classical recordings (with more than 200 released each year), the Naxos Music Library also includes world music, jazz, and national anthems. All of the Naxos repertoire may be searched in standard/advanced modes or browsed in a large number of categories and genres. In addition, Naxos offers a number of text resources including overviews of music history, program notes for recordings, and the complete libretti of operas available in the Naxos Music Library.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.