LibGuides: MGT-301: Managing Organizations: Home

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

Room 125, behind the Reference Desk

256-824-6965

Subjects: Accounting, Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, Business, Business Administration, Company Research (Business), Economics & Computational Analysis, English, Finance, Government Documents, Industry Research, Information Literacy, Management, Marketing, Political Science, Supply Chain & Logistics Management

Management

ABI Inform This link opens in a new window
Contains over 550,000 citations with abstracts to articles appearing in 1,000 international periodicals covering business and management as well as related functional areas including trends, corporate strategies and tactics, and competitive and product information.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database also includes Country Monitor, Industry Yearbook Reports, country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), Wall Street Words, and detailed company & industry profiles from Datamonitor. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Datamonitor Company Reports This link opens in a new window
Over 4400 company and Industry reports covering the U.S. and foreign countries.These reports provide a wealth of information, including a company overview, history, products & services analysis, SWOT analysis, current news, etc. These reports are available via EBSCO's Business Source Premier database.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Books, journals, and case studies (including some open-access materials) across a variety of topics.
NetLibrary (Ebsco eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window
The Ebsco eBook Collection offers a number of in-browser readable (or downloadable, via Adobe Digital Editions) ebooks with additional features such as a dictionary, index, and easy keyword searchability. Currently nearly 60,000 e-books are available covering most major subjects.
ProQuest Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
Full text of selected annual reports and 10Ks. 1986-present.
Proquest Business Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of Proquest databases related to Business.

Management Periodicals

Helpful Documents

Citing E-Books
This guide will show you how to cite e-books from NetLibrary
Annotated Bib.
This guide will show you how to create an annotated bibliography
Class Presentation
This is the PowerPoint presentation I used in class.
Class Handout
This is a handout that I used to use in class
SWOT Analysis
A guide to conducting the research that will help you to get the answers to the questions about a SWOT analysis. By Steven Bell.

Other Periodicals

Below are direct links to periodicals in the library databases. Once you are on the periodical page, you can browse the issues, or search within the publication.

Encyclopedia of Management

Encyclopedia of Management by Gale Publishers
ISBN: 978-1-4144-0691-6
Covers more than 300 topics in management theories and applications, written by academics and business professionals who have first hand knowledge of the particular topic or essay they are contributing.

Books From EBSCO

Below are links to chapters in books in EBSCO's Business Source database on personnel management.