History

AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics.

Digital Special Collections of the American Museum of Natural History’s Research Library provides access to our rich collections of digitized archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.

The Arab American National Museum in Dearborn, Michigan, is dedicated to increasing understanding of the Arab culture. It is a project of ACCESS, a nonprofit human services organization that was established to help Arab immigrants; it is the largest such organization in the US today.

The Asia Art Archive, a nonprofit organization that includes noted art scholars and critics on its board, includes in its mission a "commitment to create a collection belonging to the public." Covering contemporary art movements across Asia, the online iteration of the archive provides a searchable catalog of the full collection, located in Hong Kong, as well as a growing collection of digitized material.

The Atlas of Early Printing is an interactive site designed to be used as a tool for teaching the early history of printing in Europe during the second half of the fifteenth century.

This new atlas contains more than 700 historical maps of the United States. The maps within the atlas are arranged into eighteen sections.

Through the series of interactive animations students learn about how fires were started, bread was baked, and wool was spun during the Iron Age.

A History of the World in 100 Objects is a one hundred episode podcast series from the BBC. Each podcast in the series examines an object from The British Museum. The podcasts explain each object's significance in history. Each episode in the series is about fifteen minutes in length.

This website and database aims to introduce readers to the Jesuitana Collection at the Burns Library, Boston College, by highlighting books written about China by Jesuit missionaries. (The Jesuitana collection is broader than this, but for the purposes of this website, we have focused on east-west cultural exchange and interaction). Several years ago these books made their way to the shelves of the Burns Library, Boston College, and it is our pleasure to make them available now for readers from San Francisco to Shanghai, Chestnut Hill to Canberra.

This site, part of the broader film division of the council's site, treats the historical film aspect of its endeavors, a collection of 120 brief documentary films that the council made during the 1940s to counteract Nazi propaganda about Britain and to show the world what life in Britain was like.

The Library of Congress hosts an online collection of more than 500 political cartoons and caricatures from U.S. History. You can search the collection by keyword and image type. Along with the images you will find links to related resources from the Library of Congress.

EdTechTeacher presents The Center for Teaching History with Technology, a resource created to help K-12 history and social studies teachers incorporate technology effectively into their courses. Find resources for history and social studies lesson plans, activities, projects, games, and quizzes that use technology.

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

This site contains items of interest for LDS church members and is a unique portal to a variety of sites on Mormon history and genealogy.

The Civil War Trust offers many fantastic resources for teachers and students.

The Smithsonian Collections Search Center is an online catalog containing most of Smithsonian major collections from our museums, archives, libraries, and research units. There are 8.1 million catalog records relating to areas for Art & Design, History & Culture, and Science & Technology with 860,477 images, videos, audio files, podcasts, blog posts and electronic journals.

The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation contains legal analysis and interpretation of the US Constitution, based primarily on Supreme Court case law. Constitution Annotated, as it is known, is one part of Congress.gov , the official site for federal legislative information.

Here students select from a table of contents an event, piece of legislation, or theme to see it in the context of other events, pieces of legislation, and themes leading to the start of the Civil War.

PAT is a free, open source, collection of maps developed by Ian Macky.

John Green teaches you about the so-called Dark Ages, which it turns out weren't as uniformly dark as you may have been led to believe. While Europe was indeed having some issues, many other parts of the world were thriving and relatively enlightened.

Based on a permanent historical digital repository, the Dictionary aims to gather resources on every aspect of human habitation in the greater Sydney area from the first arrival of people to the present.

The Chicago History Museum’s outstanding and diverse collection of images, objects, books, manuscripts, and costumes tell the stories of the city’s and the nation’s history. The Museum is dedicated to making the collection accessible through exhibitions, programs, publications, and via the web. Here you will find information about our diverse objects and artifacts.

Digital Humanities Now showcases the scholarship and news of interest to the digital humanities community through a process of aggregation, discovery, curation, and review. Digital Humanities Now also is an experiment in ways to identify, evaluate, and distribute scholarship on the open web through a weekly publication and the quarterly Journal of Digital Humanities.

The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

It provides "citations to written works about the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and bordering communities from 1935 to the present" on an ongoing basis.

KnowLA is a comprehensive, dynamic online reference guide to the history and culture of Louisiana. The encyclopedia is accessible to anyone with a web-enabled device, free of charge.

The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

The EFG Portal gives you quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials. Targeted at scientific researchers and the interested public alike, the EFG offers a look at and behind the scenes of filmmaking in Europe from the early days until today.

Together with the introduction of rural mail delivery, the telephone, and the automobile, farm newspapers played a key role in the modernization of rural America.

Welcome to FedFlix, Joint Venture NTIS-1832 between the National Technical Information Service and Public.Resource.Org. Here we feature the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

The first interactive resource that lets you explore the complex relationship between history and film.

Starting points for locating primary sources at the Library of Congress.

The Freedom Forum, based in Washington, D.C., is a nonpartisan foundation that champions the First Amendment as a cornerstone of democracy.The Freedom Forum is the main funder of the operations of the Newseum in Washington, D.C., the First Amendment Center and the Diversity Institute. The First Amendment Center and the Diversity Institute are housed in the John Seigenthaler Center at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn. The First Amendment Center also has offices in Washington and the Diversity Institute has offices and programs at the University of South Dakota in Vermillion.The Freedom Forum was established in 1991 under the direction of Founder Al Neuharth as successor to a foundation started in 1935 by newspaper publisher Frank E. Gannett. The Freedom Forum is not affiliated with Gannett Co. Its work is supported by income from an endowment of diversified assets.

The Getty Research Portal is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts held at contributing institutions.

Historical county boundaries will draw, and an information pane about the county of interest will appear above the map. The information pane lists the historical county name at the red marker, provides details on the latest changes in jurisdiction as of that year, and lists the sources used.

The dictionary is a compendium of facts, figures, mini-biographies and definitions of historical terms. It covers people, places, key events and epochs. Each entry is concise and expertly written, and the dictionary is ideal as a study tool or to improve your knowledge of history.

1. Type a PRESENT-day Place and a HISTORICAL Year as early as 2000 BC, then hit the "Go!" button. The place you type must be a PRESENT-day city and country; or a present-day address or road name* with city and country. The year must be from 2000 BC through 2008 AD (use negative years for BC, such as -200 for 200 BC).

The History Guide is a subject gateway to scholarly relevant websites in history maintained in cooperation by a netzwerk internetressourcen geschichte (Network Subject Gateways History) (nig).

Ideal resources for teaching immigration, American history, multiculturalism, and much more!

The Native Peoples of Northern Great Plains Digital Images Database includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's. In 1998, the images were digitized and drawn from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses (Billings, Bozeman and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana.

The Invasion of America is an interactive map produced by eHistory.org for the purpose of showing how the land holdings of Native Americans drastically shrunk between 1784 and 1887.

The Khan Academy is an organization on a mission. We're a not-for-profit with the goal of changing education for the better by providing a free world-class education to anyone anywhere. All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years, or a friendly alien just trying to get a leg up in earthly biology. The Khan Academy's materials and resources are available to you com

LegiStorm launched in September 2006. Our web site is dedicated to providing a variety of important information about the US Congress. Based on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC, LegiStorm's first information product was a database of congressional staff salaries but we have now added other valuable information, such as the most comprehensive database of all privately financed trips taken by members of Congress and congressional staffers. The information is provided in a strictly factual, non-partisan fashion. We have no political affiliations and no political purpose except to make the workings of Congress as transparent as possible.

A powerful research tool featuring a rich variety of full text sources. It provides up-to-date information on current events, business, law, and medicine.

Llyfr Aneirin (‘The Book of Aneirin’) is one of the Four Ancient Books of Wales. It is a relatively small medieval manuscript of 38 pages containing an unique text of what may be the earliest surviving Welsh literature. Historically, it may testify to the former existence of Welsh-speaking peoples beyond the territory that we recognize today as Wales, during the post-Roman period.

The Louisiana Biography and Obituary Index references obituaries and death notices published in New Orleans newspapers from 1804-1972 and biographical information published in older Louisiana collective biographies. The original index, housed in the Louisiana Division of New Orleans Public Library, is an alphabetical card file of more than 650,000 names.

Mapping History is essentially a digital atlas of American, European, Latin American, and African history. Each section is divided into modules based on historical themes and eras.

We are a non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning. We have currently scanned over 700,000 pages, and that number is growing.

MIT World is a free and open site that provides on demand video of significant public events at MIT. MIT World's video index contains more than 800 videos.

NBR conducts advanced independent research on strategic, political, economic, globalization, health, and energy issues affecting U.S. relations with Asia.

NCAI was established in 1944 in response to the termination and assimilation policies the US government forced upon tribal governments in contradiction of their treaty rights and status as sovereign nations. To this day, protecting these inherent and legal rights remains the primary focus of NCAI.

The website provides information on a wide range of topics and events such as election coverage, current news about the government, polling, voting, town hall programs, daily museum programs, and issues relating to the US Constitution and US history.

The National Priorities Project (NPP) works to help citizens understand the federal budgetary process and participate in the political process.

This free online resource is part of the NYPL Digital Gallery. It is a collection of portraits culled from the New York Public Library's larger print collection and designed to help those who are researching the early 20th century. The collection includes 60,000-plus portraits of a wide range of public figures. Most of these images originated as clippings from periodicals and newspapers from the mid-19th through early-20th century.

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive resources that was built by harvesting from open archive collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster boasts more than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.

Odysseus' Journey is a fourteen point map created with ArcGIS Explorer

In the libraria designed and built in the mid-15th century by Malatesta Novello, Lord of Cesena, 343 manuscripts, which give witness to his tastes and cultural inclinations, are housed.

ORBIS: The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World reconstructs the time cost and financial expense associated with a wide range of different types of travel in antiquity. The model is based on a simplified version of the giant network of cities, roads, rivers and sea lanes that framed movement across the Roman Empire. It broadly reflects conditions around 200 CE but also covers a few sites and roads created in late antiquity.

Search the full collection of newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, Atlanta Journal & Constitution, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. Over 500 newspapers are indexed.

This website is a publicly accessible repository for the Irish public service broadcast network. RTÉ Archives contains selected film and audio clips, photographs, and manuscripts in the realm of politics, entertainment, history, culture, and biography.

The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material related to slavery, including photographs, documents, and sound recordings. This guide compiles links to slavery resources throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on slavery and a bibliography containing selections for both general and younger readers.

Smithsonian's History Explorer was developed by the National Museum of American History in partnership with the Verizon Foundation to offer hundreds of free, innovative online resources for teaching and learning American history. The site is designed for use by K-12 teachers and students, afterschool program providers, families, and individuals interested in lifelong learning.

Southern Foodways Alliance (SFA) is based at the University of Mississippi. Its mission is to "document, study, and celebrate the diverse food cultures of the changing American South."

The Supreme Court consists of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress. The number of Associate Justices is currently fixed at eight (28 U.S.C. §1). Power to nominate the Justices is vested in the President of the United States and appointments are made with the advice and consent of the Senate. Article III, §1, of the Constitution further provides that "[t]he Judges, both of the supreme and inferior Courts, shall hold their Offices during good Behavior, and shall, at stated Times, receive for their Services, a Compensation, which shall not be diminished during their Continuance in Office."

The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.

About Teachinghistory.org Teachinghistory.org is designed to help K–12 history teachers access resources and materials to improve U.S. history education in the classroom. With funding from the U.S. Department of Education, the Center for History and New Media (CHNM) has created Teachinghistory.org with the goal of making history content, teaching strategies, resources, and research accessible.

Texas Beyond History (TBH) is a public education service of the Texas Archeological Research Laboratory at the University of Texas at Austin, and in partnership with the Department of Anthropology at Texas State University and 15 other organizations. Begun in 2001, its purpose is to interpret and share the results of archaeological and historical research on the cultural heritage of Texas with the citizens of Texas and the world.

This British Library interactive timeline allows you to explore collection items chronologically, from medieval times to the present day.

Find and get over 349,392,690 Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more

The US Board on Geographic Names is the federal entity tasked with managing the standardization of geographic names.

A product of the Early Modern Center at the University of California--Santa Barbara, the Archive is a free resource offering researchers legible facsimiles and expert transcriptions of broadside ballads.

Important and unique historical collections in the Chicago area are being made more widely accessible to researchers through UNCAP, the Uncovering Chicago Archives Project. UNCAP brings new visibility to archival collections held by a collaborative group of Chicago institutions: the Chicago Defender newspaper, the DuSable Museum of African-American History, the Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature of the Chicago Public Library, Northwestern University, the South Side Community Art Center, and the University of Chicago.

The University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center works to create and provide free access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and possess broad research value.

The Federal Reserve considers the record rate of mortgage delinquencies, foreclosures and their impacts on communities an urgent problem. The New York Fed uses its expertise and knowledge to provide detailed data on U.S. credit conditions to the public to establish a body of factual data for use in forming policy decisions and developing mortgage foreclosure mitigation efforts.

Government spending at your fingertips.

Primary sources are the raw materials of history — original documents and objects which were created at the time under study. They are different from secondary sources, accounts or interpretations of events created by someone without firsthand experience.

Getty Publications Virtual Library has free digital titles.

With its appr. 265,000 volumes the library of the South Asia Institute holds one of the major collections concerning the Subcontinent. It is open to the public. Since January 2005 the library, in co-operation with the Heidelberg University Library, is in charge of the DFG-funded special collection on South Asia. It maintains the South Asia Virtual Library “Savifa”, a gateway to quality controlled internet resources and other online information and services.

A vision of Britain between 1801 and 2001. Includes maps, statitical trends and historical descriptions. A national on-line library for local history, Maps, Statistics, Travel Writing and more.

This interlinked hypertext was created in Spring 1999 at Virginia Commonwealth University for Professor Ann Woodlief's graduate class in Studies in American Transcendentalism. It is a work in progress, and submissions of papers, texts and notes on them, and links are welcomed; full credit will be given to papers selected for the site.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010.

The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek.

This site is an international repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations. It contains documents, citations, datasets, documents, images.

WWII in Europe: Every Day is a seven minute video that depicts the changing front lines of the European Theater of World War II every day from the German invasion of Poland to the surrender of Germany.

Take a virtual tour of a World War One trench and experience the conditions under which World War One soldiers fought and lived.

An interactive history lesson - Medieval Period (1000-1450), Early Modern Period (1450-1750) and Modern Period (1750-1900).

The primary school section includes a series titled 100 Years Ago... in which students learn about what life was like at home, school, and around town during WWI. This is from a British perspective, but there is a carry over for other students particularly in the 100 Years Ago "country" section in which students learn about the causes and effects of WWI.

WWI resources for secondary schools from the BBC.

The information on this website is arranged in three main sections: reference, research and events.

This Map Division collection provides users with a central location to find and view historical cartographic resources for one the world's most important cities, as well as a number of maps from various parts of the world.

This free website allows users to compare the wording and provisions of the constitutions of the world's countries.