LibGuides: ACC-642: Advanced Internal and Operational Auditing: Finding Journal Articles

Essential Journals

Below are direct links to journals specifically related to this course.

Accounting Review
Published by the American Accounting Association since 1926, this journal reports results of accounting research and explains and illustrates related research methodology.
Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory
Publishes articles reporting results of original research which contribute to improvements in auditing theory or methodology. This journal is published by the Auditing Section of the American Accounting Association.
Behavioral Research in Accounting
Published by the Accounting, Behavior & Organizations Section of the AAA, this journal publishes theoretical papers & papers based upon empirical research related to behavior and accounting.
CPA Journal
Publishes refereed articles which contribute to the profession and benefit practitioners such as CPAs in public practice, industry, education and government.
Internal Auditor: Journal of the Institute of Internal Auditors
A professional magazine of The Institute of Internal Auditors and a leading publication covering the internal auditing profession.
International Journal of Accounting
Advances the academic and professional understanding of accounting theory and practice from an international business perspective and viewpoint.
Journal of Accountancy
The Journal of Accountancy is published by The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) for the accounting profession covering diverse subjects focusing on practical situations and applications.
Journal of Accounting & Economics
The Journal of Accounting and Economics provides a forum for the application of economic theory to accounting problems.
Journal of Accounting Research
Publishes original research in the fields of empirical, analytic and experimental accounting.
Journal of Accounting, Auditing & Finance
The Journal of Accounting, Auditing, and Finance (JAAF) now includes both quality academic refereed articles and less technical articles directed to the practitioner.
Journal of Business Ethics
Publishes original articles from a variety of methodological and disciplinary perspectives concerning ethical issues related to business.
Journal of Information Systems
The content of this journal (JIS) spans the organizational, behavioral, economic, and technical aspects of information systems in organizations. It is published by the Information Systems Section of the American Accounting Association.
Journal of Management Accounting Research
Published by the Management Accounting Section of the AAA, this journal includes both the theory and practice of management accounting in profit, not-for-profit, manufacturing and service organizations for domestic, foreign and multinational settings
Journal of the American Taxation Association
This journal is a research publication that employs quantitative, analytical, experimental, and descriptive methods to address tax topics. JATA is published by the American Taxation Association, an organization that promotes the study of taxation.

Key Databases

ABI Inform This link opens in a new window
Contains over 550,000 citations with abstracts to articles appearing in 1,000 international periodicals covering business and management as well as related functional areas including trends, corporate strategies and tactics, and competitive and product information.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a search engine specifically for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports. You can access the full text of articles from subscription journals if you or the UAH Library has a subscription to the content. UAH faculty, students, and staff accessing Google Scholar remotely may have to log in to the library in order to be authenticated as a UAH user.

Key Documents

ProQuest User Guide
This document shows details about using ProQuest.
ProQuest Search Tips
Search tips using ProQuest
ABI-Inform Quick Start Guide
This guide explains how to get started quickly using ABI-Inform.
My Research Summary
This guide explains how to use the ABI-Inform My Research Summary feature.
Peer Review vs. Scholarly
This ProQuest guide explains the difference between peer-reviewed and scholarly journals, as well as the difference among those journals and trade and popular publications.
ProQuest Database Tri-fold
This handy tri-fold covers many of ABI-Inform's features.

Below are links to user guides for library databases advertised elsewhere on this page.

Recent Internal Auditing Articles

Below are links to recent articles on internal auditing in the Library's Business Source Premier database.