LibGuides: ACC-642: Advanced Internal and Operational Auditing: Finding Books

Search the Catalog

iLink iLink at Pennsylvania College

Below are 3 of dozens of (take home) library books on topics discussed in this class.

Audit Planning by K. H. Spencer Pickett
Call Number: HF5668.25 .P5286 2006
ISBN: 047169052X
Publication Date: 2006-02-03
The second book in the new Practical Auditor Series, which helps auditors get down to business, Audit Planning: A Risk-Based Approach gives new auditors principles and methodologies they can apply effectively and helps experienced auditors enhance their skills for success in the rapidly changing business world.
Sarbanes-Oxley for Small Businesses by Peggy M. Jackson
Call Number: HG4027.7 .J33 2006
ISBN: 0471998257
Publication Date: 2006-09-11
Contains history and legislative background of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, as well as best practices information.
Brink's Modern Internal Auditing by Robert R. Moeller
Call Number: HF5668.25 .B74 2005
ISBN: 0471677884
Publication Date: 2005-01-12
Brink's Modern Internal Auditing, Sixth Edition is a comprehensive resource and reference book on the changing world of internal auditing, including Sarbanes-Oxley compliance issues. * Sixth edition of a very well respectede auditing resource. * Provides an overview of the role and responsibilities of the internal auditor.

Below is a summary of databases highlighted on this page.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in print, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

Google Books
more...less...
Find freely available books on the web. Access is dependent upon book.
Library Catalog
more...less...
Locates books in he library for checkout.

NetLibrary (Ebsco eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window
The Ebsco eBook Collection offers a number of in-browser readable (or downloadable, via Adobe Digital Editions) ebooks with additional features such as a dictionary, index, and easy keyword searchability. Currently nearly 60,000 e-books are available covering most major subjects.

Selected Books in the Library
This document highlights selected books on the shelves in the library pertinent to subjects covered in this class. You will need your ChargerCard to borrow these books.
Selected netLibrary E-Books
This document highlights selected e-books in the library's netLibrary resource. These books are accessible only online, on or off campus.
netLibrary Quick Start Guide
This guide shows how to get the most from netLibrary.
Recent Books
This is a list of recently purchased books pertinent to this class.

Below are links to user guides for library databases advertised elsewhere on this page.

Auditor's Dictionary: Terms, Concepts, Processes, and Regulations by O'Regan, David.
ISBN: 9780471531180
One-stop resource for key auditing terminology, concepts, and processes essential to auditors and of increasing interest to those that work with them.
Dictionary of Accounting Terms by by Siegel, Joel G.; Shim, Jae K.
ISBN: 9780764112591
This quick-reference short-entry dictionary defines more than 2,500 accounting, bookkeeping, and tax-related terms. General areas covered include financial accounting, managerial and cost accounting, auditing and financial statement analysis, and information technology (IT) terms.
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting by Abdel-khalik, A. Rashad.
ISBN: 9780631211877
Provides clear, concise and highly informative definitions and explanations of the key concepts in accounting.
Dictionary of Business Terms by Friedman, Jack P.
ISBN: 9780764112003
Expanded with new entries and updated to reflect recent economic developments and the current business climate, this quick-reference dictionary defines more than 7,500 terms relating to accounting, taxation, advertising, business law, communications, transportation, computers and the Internet, economics, finance, insurance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, and statistics.

The Internal Auditor at Work by K. H. Spencer Pickett
ISBN: 0471458392
Publication Date: 2003-11-27
A user-friendly and up-to-date guidebook for the internal auditing professional to refine and rethink both day-to-day methods and the underlying significance of the job.

Below are 2 of several online library books (via netLibrary) on topics discussed in this class.

Fraud exposed: what you don't know could cost your company millions by Koletar, Joseph W.
ISBN: 0471466190
As an estimated $600 billion a year "industry," occupational fraud dwarfs most legitimate industries many times over. Yet the vast majority of organizations -- private, public, governmental, or nonprofit -- have woefully inadequate internal controls, and what energy is devoted to combating workplace fraud is generally spent on post-infraction detection.