Remote Access to Databases & Library Catalog
In order to access the library's licensed databases and e-books from off-campus*, students at UAH will need to login. Use the same UAH user name and password that you use for Canvas and other online UAH resources. (The user name is the beginning of your UAH email up to the @ sign. Example: jc0040)
* This also applies to Online Learning / Distance Education students at UAH.
Provides abstracting and indexing of 350 academic and trade publications from the U.K. and the U.S. Coverage includes information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, and Engineering.
This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
Aluminium Industry Abstracts (AIA), formerly World Aluminum Abstracts (WAA), provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. The Aluminium Industry Abstracts database includes information abstracted from approximately 2,300 scientific and technical journals, government reports, conference proceedings,dissertations, books, and patents.
Chemoreception Abstracts an essential resource for researchers and key managers working in the food, chemical, and perfumery industries or related fields.
Civil Engineering Abstracts provides indexing and abstracting coverage of the world's technical literature in civil engineering. Also covered are the complementary fields of forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. Over 3,000 serial titles published worldwide are covered as well as conference proceedings, books and monographs, and dissertations.
Provides a source of bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering. International sources of literature are scanned and abstracted in the areas of general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance, and equipment for many industries. Corrosion Abstracts provides engineers and scientists with a resource for solving corrosion problems by reviewing the documented experience of others and providing summarized findings in the article abstracts.
This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
Includes the Illustrata upgrade, which allows for deep indexing of charts and figures, helping to pinpoint vital research.
Provides access to the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier electronic journals in chemistry and chemical engineering; clinical medicine; computer science; earth and planetary sciences; economics, business, and management science; engineering, energy, and technology; environmental science and technology; life sciences; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy; and social science; as well as indexing and abstracting for electronic journals from other publishers.
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.
* Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts
* Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
* 70% of content is pulled from international sources
* Includes over 3 million conference papers
* Provides 100% Medline coverage
* Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research
UAH provides access to only select Wiley journals via this platform. If you know a specific Wiley published journal you'd like to search within, please use our "Browse Journals" feature on the library homepage, under the "Books and Articles" tab on the left side of the page.
NOTE: If you plan to use the new and updated SciFindern database (AKA "Scifinder-n" on web pages that don't support the superscript " n "), please note that this is available ONLY for current UAH students/faculty/staff.
If you are a UAH student, you can set up an account through this link.
Visit our SciFinder Library Guide for more information about using this resource.
****************************************************************************************
NOTE: Because SciFindern is the new interface from CAS (released in 2022), they recently provided a series of free webinars to introduce how to use the SciFindern interface.
If you are interested in viewing any of the recorded webinars - or to access their other training materials - you can find that menu here.
In addition to the above box containing discipline-specific databases, the UAH library has an overall list of 300+ databases (link). Within that overall list, it is possible to view a shorter subset of databases (link) that may be useful across many areas of engineering.
Also, some of the following may be of use in your coursework:
This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
O'Reilly is a world leading publisher in books about software, hardware, programming, design, certification, system administration, and many other topics. This online library includes the complete text of thousands of their highly rated books. It also includes access to O'Reilly answers to help you find answers to your questions by finding relevant sections of their most applicable materials.
PapersFirst is an index of papers presented at conferences. It cites the papers from every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library Document Supply Centre. PapersFirst covers a wide range of subjects.
ProceedingsFirst is an index of conference proceedings. It cites the printed proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received at The British Library Document Centre. ProceedingsFirst covers a wide range of subjects.
ProQuest One Academic combines all four of ProQuest’s multidisciplinary products on the ProQuest platform (ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete, and Academic Video Online).
UAH provides access to only select Wiley journals via this platform. If you know a specific Wiley published journal you'd like to search within, please use our "Browse Journals" feature on the library homepage, under the "Books and Articles" tab on the left side of the page.
WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.