Skip to Main Content

Civil and Environmental Engineering

A collection of links and resources for student and faculty use.

Welcome!

Welcome to the library resources page for Civil and Environmental Engineering!

Please contact me if you need any assistance with library research. (My phone number and contact info can be found at the bottom of the left-hand column.)

Helpful Shortcuts

New Books and E-books for Civil Engineering and Environmental Engineerin

Basic Experimental Strategies and Data Analysis for Science and Engineering [electronic resource]

Every technical investigation involving trial-and-error experimentation embodies a strategy for deciding what experiments to perform, when to quit, and how to interpret the data. This handbook presents several statistically derived strategies which are more efficient than any intuitive approach and will get the investigator to their goal with the fewest experiments, give the greatest degree of reliability to their conclusions, and keep the risk of overlooking something of practical importance to a minimum. Features: Provides a comprehensive desk reference on experimental design that will be useful to practitioners without extensive statistical knowledge Features a review of the necessary statistical prerequisites Presents a set of tables that allow readers to quickly access various experimental designs Includes a roadmap for where and when to use various experimental design strategies Shows compelling examples of each method discussed Illustrates how to reproduce results using several popular software packages on a companion web site Following the outlines and examples in this book should quickly allow a working professional or student to select the appropriate experimental design for a research problem at hand, follow the design to conduct the experiments, and analyze and interpret the resulting data. John Lawson and John Erjavec have a combined 25 years of industrial experience and over 40 years of academic experience.  They have taught this material to numerous practicing engineers and scientists as well as undergraduate and graduate students. 

Construction 4.0 : an innovation platform for the built environment

Modelled on the concept of Industry 4.0, the idea of Construction 4.0 is based on a confluence of trends and technologies that promise to reshape the way built environment assets are designed, constructed, and operated. With the pervasive use of Building Information Modelling (BIM), lean principles, digital technologies, and offsite construction, the industry is at the cusp of this transformation. The critical challenge is the fragmented state of teaching, research, and professional practice in the built environment sector. This handbook aims to overcome this fragmentation by describing Construction 4.0 in the context of its current state, emerging trends and technologies, and the people and process issues that surround the coming transformation. Construction 4.0 is a framework that is a confluence and convergence of the following broad themes discussed in this book: Industrial production (prefabrication, 3D printing and assembly, offsite manufacture) Cyber-physical systems (actuators, sensors, IoT, robots, cobots, drones) Digital and computing technologies (BIM, video and laser scanning, AI and cloud computing, big data and data analytics, reality capture, Blockchain, simulation, augmented reality, data standards and interoperability, and vertical and horizontal integration) The aim of this handbook is to describe the Construction 4.0 framework and consequently highlight the resultant processes and practices that allow us to plan, design, deliver, and operate built environment assets more effectively and efficiently by focusing on the physical-to-digital transformation and then digital-to-physical transformation. This book is essential reading for all built environment and AEC stakeholders who need to get to grips with the technological transformations currently shaping their industry, research, and teaching.

Environmental Chemical Analysis

Undergraduate students in environmental science need a foundation in instrumental analysis as much as traditional chemistry majors, but their needs may be quite different. Environmental Chemical Analysis provides an explanation of analytical instrumentation methods for students without a background in analytical chemistry. This second edition features expanded material on sample preparation and quality assurance and control. It also includes new chapters on biological analysis and analysis of environmental particulates. It brings together sampling, sample preparation, and analytical techniques necessary for environmental applications, demonstrated through case studies of actual environmental measurement protocols. Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of environmental chemical analysis Explains analytical instrumentation methods for students approaching the subject from a different angle Includes two new chapters on biological analysis and analysis of environmental particulates Expands material on sample preparation and quality assurance/quality control Winner of Choice 2019 Outstanding Academic Title Award

Forms and Concepts for Lightweight Structures

Covering a wide range of structural concepts and presenting both relevant theories and their applications to actual structures, this book brings together for the first time lightweight structures concepts for many different applications and the relevant scientific literature, thus providing unique insights into a fascinating field of human endeavour. Evolved from a series of graduate courses taught by the authors at the University of Tokyo, the Institute of Space and Astronautical Science, the University of Cambridge and the California Institute of Technology, this textbook provides both theoretical and practical insights and presents a range of examples which also provide a history of key lightweight structures since the Apollo age. This essential guide will inspire the imagination of engineers and provide an analytical foundation for all readers.

The structure of design : an engineer's extraordinary life in architecture

A memoir by one of the greatest structural engineers in history, as told through his most innovative projects. Leslie Robertson is one of the preeminent structural engineers of the modern era. With hundreds of projects to his credit, his close collaborations with such greats as Minoru Yamasaki, Philip Johnson, Romaldo Giurgola, I. M. Pei, and Gunnar Birkerts has resulted in the production of some of the most structurally innovative and formally daring buildings of the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. Among Robertson's advances in engineering are the invention of mechanical damping units to reduce wind-induced swaying, the first use of prefabricated multiple-column and spandrel-wall panels to allow column-free interior space and resist hurricane-level winds, and the shaftwall system for fire-resistive walls now used almost universally in high-rise buildings. In this memoir, Robertson recounts a long and storied career that stretches back to the 1950s. A restless student with unremarkable performance, it was almost by accident that he first engaged with engineering, but in his earliest projects his eye toward innovation was apparent. Still in his early thirties, he was lead engineer on the landmark IBM buildings in Pittsburgh and Seattle, and immediately thereafter embarked on what would become his signature achievement-which met a tragic end witnessed across the globe-the World Trade Center towers. A personal and accessible recounting of his partnerships with architects to create classics of modern architecture-including Harrison & Abramovitz's US Steel headquarters, Philip Johnson's AT&T Building, and I.M. Pei's Bank of China building and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum-The Structure of Design provides a privileged look at how the almost invisible but crucial discipline of engineering influences design, as told by a genius and poet of structure.

Zero waste : management practices for environmental sustainability

Zero Waste: Management Practices for Environmental Sustainability presents approaches for resource management centered on reducing waste and reusing and recycling materials. It aims to save energy by reducing energy consumption associated with extracting, processing, and transporting raw materials and waste, and also to reduce and eventually eliminate the need for landfills and incinerators. This book presents the various principles, methods, and tools that can be used to address different issues in the areas of industrial waste reduction and sustainability. It examines how to eliminate waste at the source and at all points of a supply chain, and how to shift from the current one-way linear resource model to a sustainable "closed-loop" system. Proposes strategies for businesses to reduce and reuse waste with a goal of reaching a zero waste status. Focuses on how mitigating waste and promoting recycling can save vast amounts of energy. Explains how the zero waste approach would be a key measure to ensure environmental sustainability and help to offset global climate change.