Civil and Environmental Engineering

Written by an experienced team of experts, this new reference work offers the most up-to-date coverage available of building, surveying, and civil engineering terms. It boasts more than 9,800 alphabetically arranged entries covering the key areas of construction technology and practice, civil and construction engineering, construction management techniques and processes, and legal aspects such as contracts and procurement. Illustrations complement entries where necessary. Other extra features include a bibliography, appendices providing a list of commonly used conventions, formula and symbols, and web links which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website.

This fully revised, updated, and expanded dictionary contains over 6,500 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology. It also includes many line drawings and useful appendices.

Environmental science and engineering is a truly interdisciplinary field. From its origins in public health practice, concern for the well-being of our environment has embraced areas as diverse as chemistry, the earth sciences, biology, engineering and law. The specialist language of any discipline can be a barrier to co-operation and understanding in solving environmental problems. The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering explains many important specialist environmental terms in a clear and concise way. It also provides an extensive guide to the many acronyms encountered in environmental science. The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering will be a valuable reference tool for anyone working, whether directly or indirectly, with the environment. The dictionary describes many of the acts, organisations and requirements related to the legislation of the environment, giving particular emphasis to those of the United States of America. Thus, it will be particularly useful to those seeking a greater understanding of the US perspective on the environmental question.

[temporary access from National Emergency Library] Consists of about 4000 entries providing basic definitions and data and summaries of key issues.

A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides over 10,000 entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment—its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories. Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, this is the ideal reference for students of environment and conservation, as well as for professionals in the field.

Take Advantage of the Latest Calculation Methods for Solving Problems in Every Major Area of Environmental Engineering The only hands-on reference of its kind, the Handbook of Environmental Engineering Calculations equips you with step-by-step calculation procedures covering virtually every aspect of environmental engineering. Designed to give you quick access to essential information, the updated Second Edition of this unique guide now presents the latest methods for solving a wide range of specific problems, together with worked-out examples that include numerical results for the calculations. Written by a team of environmental experts from both the private and public sectors, this easy-to-use reference provides you with complete calculations for water quality assessment and control...solid waste materials ... and air pollution control. Filled with 200 helpful illustrations, the Second Edition features: Hundreds of detailed examples and calculations with fully illustrated steps Calculations covering every aspect of environmental engineering Both SI and U.S. customary units presented throughout New to this edition: new sections on fuel cells and air toxic risk assessment Inside This State-of-the-Art Environmental Engineering Toolkit * Calculations of Water Quality Assessment and Control * Solid Waste Calculations * Air Pollution Control Calculations * Air Toxic Risk Assessment * Fuel Cell Technologies

Health and Safety at Work: Key Terms provides instant information to readers on a range of key terms used in health and safety at work. The book, produced in A-Z format, incorporates the principal legal, technical and practical terms derived from statutes, regulations, approved codes, case law and other appropriate publications. As such, it will be of particular use to health and safety practitioners, those studying for degrees in occupational health and safety and courses run by NEBOSH, and those engaged in enforcement activities, such as Health and Safety Executive inspectors, environmental health officers and fire protection officers. The key terms referenced and explained include: accident statistics; absolute duties; distance guard; noise-induced hearing loss; oxidising classifications; relevant statutory provisions.

This comprehensive handbook compiles the full scope of information necessary for effective and cost conscious contemporary highway design. The contributing engineers review environmental issues, location, design, traffic, pavement design and rehabilitation, bridge engineering, culvert design, signing, lighting and life cycle costs, as well as present special discussions on the selection and design of retaining walls to reduce traffic noise and screen unsightly areas. Includes illustrations, maps, graphs and tables.

Indoor Pollution educates concerned readers about the sources of indoor pollutants, the illnesses associated with them, and the measures used to control them. Readers will also find a comprehensive listing of relevant laws and regulations, a directory of organizations, a complete bibliography, and a listing of audio/visual aids. Appendixes listing organizations, chemical compounds, measurements, and testing information complete the volume. * Includes a comprehensive listing of relevant laws and regulations * Provides an extensive appendix which lists organizations, chemical compounds, measurements, and testing information

A Clear, Comprehensive Introduction to Standards in the Engineering Professions Standards supplement the design process by guiding the designer toward consistency, safety, and reliability. As daily life involves increasingly complex and sophisticated instruments, standards become indispensable engineering tools to ensure user safety and product quality. Primer on Engineering Standards: Expanded Textbook Edition delves into standards creation and compliance to provide students and engineers with a comprehensive reference. The different types of standards are dissected and discussed in terms of development, value, impact, interpretation, and compliance, and options are provided for situations where conformance is not possible. The process of standards creation is emphasized in terms of essential characteristics and common pitfalls to avoid, with detailed guidance on how, where, and with whom one may get involved in official development. Organized for both quick reference and textbook study, this new Expanded Textbook Edition provides a quick, clear understanding of critical concepts, ramifications, and implications as it: Introduces the concepts, history, and classification of standards, rules, and regulations Discusses the federal, state, and local government's role in standards development and enforcement Distinguishes voluntary consensus standards, limited consensus standards, and jurisdictional versus non-jurisdictional government standards Covers the need for and process of exemptions to existing standards Examines the characteristics of a good standard, and discusses opportunities for involvement in development Includes case studies to demonstrate standards applications, and extensive appendices to direct further inquiry The successful design, fabrication, and operation of any product relies on foundational understanding of pertinent standards; indeed, standards and guidelines form a central pillar of the engineering profession. This helpful resource goes beyond a list of rules to help students and practitioners gain a better understanding of the creation, import, and use of standards. 

[temporary access from National Emergency Library] This unique ready-reference source is the first to cover hundreds of achievements in civil engineering that literally altered the course of history. The book describes a wide variety of engineering feats such as the Alaska Highway, the English Chunnel, and the Grosbois Dam in France. Each entry describes the landmark's physical dimensions, who built what and why, as well as when it was built.

[temporary access from National Emergency Library] Contains much useful information and many equations, tables, and facts needed in many aspects of civil engineering. The Handbook is divided into several chapters, each discussing topics such as systems design, design management, construction materials and management, specifications, masonry, and composite materials.

[temporary access from National Emergency Library] Detailed discussions are devoted to a wide range of significant aspects, such as project management and economics, indoor air quality, particulate controls for air quality, the distribution of water, various types of water treatment, and the source and effect of wastewater pollutants.

Every technical investigation involving trial-and-error experimentation embodies a strategy for deciding what experiments to perform, when to quit, and how to interpret the data. This handbook presents several statistically derived strategies which are more efficient than any intuitive approach and will get the investigator to their goal with the fewest experiments, give the greatest degree of reliability to their conclusions, and keep the risk of overlooking something of practical importance to a minimum. Features: Provides a comprehensive desk reference on experimental design that will be useful to practitioners without extensive statistical knowledge Features a review of the necessary statistical prerequisites Presents a set of tables that allow readers to quickly access various experimental designs Includes a roadmap for where and when to use various experimental design strategies Shows compelling examples of each method discussed Illustrates how to reproduce results using several popular software packages on a companion web site Following the outlines and examples in this book should quickly allow a working professional or student to select the appropriate experimental design for a research problem at hand, follow the design to conduct the experiments, and analyze and interpret the resulting data. John Lawson and John Erjavec have a combined 25 years of industrial experience and over 40 years of academic experience.　 They have taught this material to numerous practicing engineers and scientists as well as undergraduate and graduate students.　

Michael R Lindeburg PE's FE Civil Practice offers comprehensive practice for the NCEES FE Civil exam. This book is part of an integrated review program designed to help you pass the FE exam the first time. This book features over 460 three-minute, multiple-choice, exam-like practice problems to illustrate the type of problems you will encounter during the exam. It also features clear, complete, and easy-to-follow solutions to deepen your understanding of all knowledge areas covered on the exam. Additionally, there are step-by-step calculations using equations and nomenclature from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook to familiarize you with the only reference you will have on exam day. For best results, purchase this book along with the FE Civil Review. Civil Engineering Topics Covered Mathematics Probability and Statistics Fluid Mechanics Hydraulics and Hydrologic Systems Environmental Engineering Geotechnical Engineering Statics Dynamics Mechanics of Materials Materials Structural Design Transportation and Surveying Construction Computational Tools Engineering Economics Ethics and Professional Practice   Key Features: Over 460 three-minute, multiple-choice, exam-like practice problems. Clear, complete, and easy-to-follow solutions. Step-by-step calculations using equations and nomenclature from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook. Binding: Paperback About the Publisher: PPI, A Kaplan Company has been trusted by engineering exam candidates since 1975.

FE Environmental Practice will give you the focused practice and preparation you need to pass the FE environmental exam, including:  over 100 practice problems, with full solutions to help you check your answers and steps two 110-problem practice exams clear, complete, and easy-to-follow solutions to deepen your understanding of all knowledge areas covered in the exam step-by-step calculations using equations and nomenclature from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook to familiarize you with the reference you'll have on exam day FE Environmental Practice delivers exam-like practice problems with easy-to-follow solutions that deepen your knowledge of key concepts and build exam confidence. With calculations that reference the NCEES FE Reference Handbook, you're guaranteed to be ready for exam day. Consistent with the actual exam, the problems follow the NCEES exam problem format and require an average of two minutes to solve. Enhance your time-management skills by taking each exam within the same six-hour time limit as the actual exam.   Topics Covered Air Quality Engineering Economics Environmental Science and Chemistry Ethics and Professional Practice Fluid Mechanics Groundwater and Soils Materials Science Mathematics Probability and Statistics Risk Assessment Solid and Hazardous Waste Thermodynamics Water and Wastewater Water Resources

Introduction to Network Traffic Flow Theory: Principles, Concepts, Models, and Methods provides a comprehensive introduction to modern theories for modeling, mathematical analysis and traffic simulations in road networks. The book breaks ground, addressing traffic flow theory in a network setting and providing researchers and transportation professionals with a better understanding of how network traffic flows behave, how congestion builds and dissipates, and how to develop strategies to alleviate network traffic congestion. The book also shows how network traffic flow theory is key to understanding traffic estimation, control, management and planning. Users wills find this to be a great resource on both theory and applications across a wide swath of subjects, including road networks and reduced traffic congestion. Covers the most theoretically and practically relevant network traffic flow theories Provides a systematic introduction to traditional and recently developed models, including cell transmission, link transmission, link queue, point queue, macroscopic and microscopic models, junction models and network stationary states Applies modern network traffic flow theory to real-world applications in modeling, analysis, estimation, control, management and planning

This book seeks to summarize our recent progress in dynamic transportation network modeling. It concentrates on ideal dynamic network models based on actual travel times and their corresponding solution algorithms. In contrast, our first book DynamIc Urban Transportation Network Models - Theory and Implications for Intelligent Vehicle-Highway Systems (Springer-Verlag, 1994) focused on instantaneous dynamic network models. Comparing the two books, the major differences can be summarized as follows: 1. This book uses the variational inequality problem as the basic formulation approach and considers the optimal control problem as a subproblem for solution purposes. The former book used optimal control theory as the basic formulation approach, which caused critical problems in some circumstances. 2. This book focuses on ideal dynamic network models based on actual travel times. The former book focused on instantaneous dynamic network models based on currently prevailing travel times. 3. This book formulates a stochastic dynamic route choice model which can utilize any possible route choice distribution function instead of only the logit function. 4. This book reformulates the bilevel problem of combined departure time/ route choice as a one-level variational inequality. 5. Finally, a set of problems is provided for classroom use. In addition, this book offers comprehensive insights into the complexity and challenge of applying these dynamic network models to Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS). Nevertheless, the models in this text are not yet fully evaluated and are subject to revision based on future research.

The MATSim (Multi-Agent Transport Simulation) software project was started around 2006 with the goal of generating traffic and congestion patterns by following individual synthetic travelers through their daily or weekly activity programme. It has since then evolved from a collection of stand-alone C++ programs to an integrated Java-based framework which is publicly hosted, open-source available, automatically regression tested. It is currently used by about 40 groups throughout the world. This book takes stock of the current status. The first part of the book gives an introduction to the most important concepts, with the intention of enabling a potential user to set up and run basic simulations. The second part of the book describes how the basic functionality can be extended, for example by adding schedule-based public transit, electric or autonomous cars, paratransit, or within-day replanning. For each extension, the text provides pointers to the additional documentation and to the code base. It is also discussed how people with appropriate Java programming skills can write their own extensions, and plug them into the MATSim core. The project has started from the basic idea that traffic is a consequence of human behavior, and thus humans and their behavior should be the starting point of all modelling, and with the intuition that when simulations with 100 million particles are possible in computational physics, then behavior-oriented simulations with 10 million travelers should be possible in travel behavior research.
The initial implementations thus combined concepts from computational physics and complex adaptive systems with concepts from travel behavior research. The third part of the book looks at theoretical concepts that are able to describe important aspects of the simulation system; for example, under certain conditions the code becomes a Monte Carlo engine sampling from a discrete choice model. Another important aspect is the interpretation of the MATSim score as utility in the microeconomic sense, opening up a connection to benefit cost analysis. Finally, the book collects use cases as they have been undertaken with MATSim. All current users of MATSim were invited to submit their work, and many followed with sometimes crisp and short and sometimes longer contributions, always with pointers to additional references. We hope that the book will become an invitation to explore, to build and to extend agent-based modeling of travel behavior from the stable and well tested core of MATSim documented here.