LibGuides: Clarinet Studies: Selected Reference Materials

Compact Discs, Recordings, etc.

Recordings for music students are available in the library. They are cataloged and given a call number. CDs are kept behind the Reference Desk. They cannot leave the building, but may be played on the equipment in the mezzanine area behind the Reference Desk.

Additional recordings may be located by searching the online catalog, iLink. Search for the series "Classical Music Library". There are over 350 recordings available online.

The Music Department also has a collection of CDs. This list is available here.

Also check the "Online Music/Podcasts" tab for websites that offer online listening and downloads for free or by subscription.

Selected Reference Sources

Baker’s Student Encyclopedia of Music by Laura Kuhn
Call Number: ML 100 .B26 1999 (Reference)

ISBN: 0028653157

About 5,500 entries arranged alphabetically and covering people, organizations, musical instruments and styles, compositions, and terminology covering genres, performance terms, styles and periods. Contains time lines for key composers as well as about 250 illustrations, mostly B&W.
The Harvard dictionary of music by Randel, Don Michael
Call Number: ML100 .A64 2003

ISBN: 0674011635

The book--approximately 1,000 pages in length--is solidly accurate and refreshingly concise. Best of all, it provides a complete listing of all relevant terms, literally from A (Abendmusik, or evening music) to Z (Zigeunermusik, or gypsy music)...In short, the Harvard Dictionary of Music is amazing, wonderful, and highly useful.
--John A. Murray (Bloomsbury Review )
Irvine’s Writing about Music by Demar Irvine, Reinhard G. Pauly, general Editor
Call Number: ML3797 .I79 1999

ISBN: 1574670492
Music Since 1900 by Nicolas Slonimsky
Call Number: ML 197 .S634 2001

ISBN: 0028647874

This 6th edition brings music of the 20th century to a close with coverage of years not included in the 5th edition--1992-2000. Entries on roughly 1,000 more composers, performers, musicologists, critics, and opera directors offer critical commentary, notable premieres and debuts, deaths of significant figures, as well as important festivals and concerts around the world.
Reader’s Guide to Music History, Theory, Criticism by Murray Steib, editor
Call Number: ML 160 .R42 1999

ISBN: 1579581439

Some 500 alphabetized entries on a wide variety of topics in Western art music. Includes a thematic list of topics, a booklist index of authors of all books and articles discussed in the entries, a general index that lists individuals, topics, and particular works mentioned in the entries, and cross- references.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Africa by Ruth M. Stone, editor
Call Number: ML 100 .G16 (Reference)

ISBN: 0824060350

39 original essays by 34 scholars from four continents. Explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years - a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage; emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean by Dale A. Olsen and Daniel E. Sheehy, editors
Call Number: ML 100 .G16 (Reference)

ISBN: 0824060407

5 articles written by 27 expert contributors. Presents an overview of the region's music; focuses on prominent themes; discusses fundamental questions facing researchers, including the impact of armed conflict, mass media and technology; examines the current state of musical scholarship in the region; and documents the music traditions of each country and ethnic group, including the first-ever comprehensive treatment of minority mountain tribes and the eastern Indonesian islands.
The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin, editor
Call Number: ML 102 .P66 G84 1995 (Reference)

ISBN: 0195313739

More than 15,000 entries, mostly biographical, covering performers from many genres and countries (though predominately from the U.S. and U.K.), industry personalities, instruments, musicals and movies, and events. Discographies and bibliographies close each entry. Essays range from several pages to a couple of paragraphs.
The Music Index
Call Number: MUSIC INDEX (Bound Periodicals - Lower Level)

ISBN: 00274348

The primary indexing source for over 500 music journals and magazines. Arranged by author and subject. Issued monthly with annual or two-year cumulations.
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music by H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie, editor
Call Number: ML 101 .U6 N48 1986

ISBN: 0943818362

Bringing together information on the most musically diverse nation in the world, The New Grove Dictionary of American Music is a landmark in the documentation of musical and cultural history.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie, editor
Call Number: ML 100 .G8863 2001 (Reference)

ISBN: 1561592390

Nearly 2000 more articles on 20th-century composers, and more than 29,000 entries by over 6000 contributors. Fully illustrated.
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by Stanley Sadie, editor
Call Number: ML 102 .I5 N485

ISBN: 0333378784

A comprehensive guide covering over 12,000 musical instruments from around the world. It encompasses western, non-western, and developing-world cultures, and includes classical, folk, and popular music. It also covers instruments of all ages--from the ancient water organ to the synthesizer.
The Oxford Companion to Popular Music by Peter Gammond
Call Number: ML 102 .P66 G35 1991

ISBN: 0193113236

A concise work with short entries covering artists, genres, groups, and even musical comedies, operettas, and film music. Many entries over short biographies. I ncludes three indexes.
The Professional Musician's Legal Companion by Michael A. Aczon
Call Number: ML3790 .A29 2005 EBOOK

ISBN: 1932929010

With more than 20 years in this business, interacting with many musicians both personally and professionally, Michael A. Aczon shares the many lessons he's learned and takes you on a journey to a better legal understanding of the entertainment industry and your music career.
World Chronology of Music History by Paul E. Eisler
Call Number: ML 161 .E4

ISBN: 0379160803

Detailed chronology of music history worldwide, including forms, styles, development of different theories, individual composers, and highlights of what was happening at the same time in other arts. Time periods are covered in sequence; from about the middle of the 16th century on, so much information is available that coverage year-by-year is required. Currently covers 4,000 B.C.E. - 1796.